It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:42 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 10:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
This week I hope to add a Port Multiplier to my Vail Server and was wondering if anyone has tried to do this yet particularly on an MSS and if so how did it work out?

This weekend I added 3 drives to my storage pool and wanted to use one as a backup drive but when trying to set that I was prompted with a message about using external drives for this purpose. I figured since I would be adding more drives in future for testing that I would just let the drive become part of the storage pool and then tackle the backup drive later.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 6:04 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
I'm going to add a couple of drives to a Sans Digital TR4M and attach it to the MSS Vail server to test out the backup functions this week. I'll let you know how it goes.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 4:29 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
That would be great. I eagerly await for you report on how the port multiplier worked out. I am also curious if for some odd reason the EX47x would recognise the 5th drive under vail. I have a the CFI Backplane that use in the TR5M so I just need to connect it to a powersupply and then fudge 5 drives on it to see if it will see the 5th drive or not. I am going to try this out and I will let you know about that too.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:50 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:36 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
CFI-B53PM 5 Port Backplane (SiI3726) tested and working on a custom Vail box.
* 4port HighPoint Tech RocketRaid PCI-card.
* 15 Drives connected (3x5)
* Drives between 320GB to 2TB.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank sobi for this post
yakuza
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group