It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 6:09 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:47 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi all first time poster long time MSS owner.

I decided to take the plunge and give 2011 a shot. I installed it on my EX 470 with 2gb ram. Everything is up and running, but I can't seem to get past a persistent lagging problem. When I try to open any of the share folders on a client, it will sometimes either lag for a bit before opening the folder, or worse yet just not open at all and put me in perpetual wait.

The server is running a 750GB WD green drive. I also have 2x 2TB WD Green drives (one EADS one EARS), and a 1.5tb seagate drive. I have a docking station hooked up to the esata port with the original 500gb drive for server backups.

In order to troubleshoot the problem, I have disabled all settings on the NIC that offload etc. I have tried disabling the firewall. I have turned off the Media player network sharing services hoping it was a load issue. I installed a plugable usb to ethernet adapter thinking it may be a driver issue on the Sis NIC.

These all at times seemed to help the problem, but to no avail. When this issue occurs I am not even able to RDP into the server and have to do a hard reboot. I've looked at the event viewer for anything obvious.

This is causing a huge problem with using mymovies and tv library.

Anyone experiencing similar problems and any pointers?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:47 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Alright I turned off homegroup and just setup username accounts. I kept getting a windows server network service helper has stopped message. I disabled that. I am now getting a message at precisely 54 min after the hour that the server has restarted. It hasn't because I have an RDP window open and it hasn't closed. I've had this happen 4 times today.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:22 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Is this a new install? Is it busy trying to perform a backup? Is it trying to index the drives?
Can you see what processes are running and what percentage of CPU is being used for each process?
How much ram is free out of the 2 gigs?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:50 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:47 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yes it was a new install. This problem was not happening during a backup. To remove the chance of indexing I turned off the indexing service and it was still happening.

Unfortunately when it was happening I wasn't able to RDP to check what was going on.
I don't think memory is an issue... Right now it says:
Total 2015
Cached 865
Available 972
Free 139

FWIW, I have not had a problem for a while now. Most of the errors are gone.
Here's what I've done... unfortunately, I can't pinpoint the one thing that fixed it and I'm not quite ready to find the problem again.
- I turned off windows server network service helper service because the event viewer kept saying it stopped.
- I removed the homegroup
- I turned off all homegroup services
- I removed my movies and associated SQL server from the server
- I have individual user accounts now for access to the server

When I open the share folder now it is much more responsive. Sometime there is a small (less than a second) lag opening the folder.
I have been able to return my NIC settings back to factory. I am still using my USB to ethernet adapter though.

Once I feel the system is stable, I'll return some of the server function back to factory and see if the problem triggers. I am still getting server restart messages in the alert viewer, but it doesn't actually restart.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:40 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I had a EX487 that I installed the Vail beta on, it had 2 GB Ram in it. I had it working OK but I finally decided to restore it back to WHS v1 and I sold it on eBay. It bugged me that the lights didn't work. I think I could have upgraded the CPU but it isn't easy to do as I read about it. I took the proceeds and put it toward a home built WHS and the performance is spectacular in comparison. This one has 3 hard drives - 2 1TB EADS and 1 2TB Samsung HD204UI. 8 GB Ram. AMD Athlon 2 X2 250. I think my power consumption is 80 watts idling with the monitor turned off. Yours is probably closer to 50 watts.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:07 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
I think the lag is memory oriented. 139megs of memory free out of 2 gigs is not good. That's basically what I show on my EX485 and I'll look to upgrade memory to 4 gigs and see if it has a profound effect on lag.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:20 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:48 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I don't know if the EX470 will accept more than 2 gigs.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:33 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Sure it will, if you look at my signature, I have been running 4 gig for months in an EX470. Looks like they are getting more difficult to find though. Just a DDR2 PC6400 4 gig stick will do.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:47 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I thought free didn't matter with Win 7 because most of the memory is cached. I have a 4GB win 7 system that has only 24mb free. I thought the available was what is not being used.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:36 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Well, put the 4 gig memory into the EX485 and the lag is gone. It is much more responsive machine.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group