It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:14 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 2:03 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 1:59 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Help is a word

Yes my first post (Sorry)

I bought this RAM http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... K:MEWNX:IT for my X510

Installed, and powered up no problem

The server boots up and you can RDP to it you see the 4GB but as it boots it blue screens (I get told this on reboot)

I have ordered one of the Screen/Keyboard cables but not here yet

Now could the RAM be bad ??

Thanks again

Giz
:sanjuan:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 4:48 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 1:59 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I belive the RAM is DOA looks like there is a corrupt or fault chip as the system boots and when u login or it comes up proper it blue screens

So will return and keep you updated re this RAM as it is for sale int he UK

Giz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 4:36 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 1:59 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yep RAM DOA :(

But new stick comming so will update

Giz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 6:05 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 1:59 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yep new stick recived and all works groooey

Giz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:35 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi there,

Brand new to the forum. I just installed WHS 2012 R2 on a brand new Datavault X311 I bought many years ago but never set up until this date.

Now I would like to upgrade its ram to 4gb, and as I understand, it's the same compatibility requirement as for the X510. I'm not too expert, so I would need your advice on 2 different ram I found online:

-Samsung 4GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz ECC Registered CL5 240-Pin DIMM SERVER MEMORY
and:
-HP Proliant 4GB 2RX4 ECC PC2-6400P DDR2 800MHz Memory RAM Module 499277-061

I'm looking forward to hearing about your advice. Thanks.

Pierre

_________________
HP DataVault X311, WHS 2012 R2 Standard, planing to upgrade to Server 2016 Standard


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:41 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
up

_________________
HP DataVault X311, WHS 2012 R2 Standard, planing to upgrade to Server 2016 Standard


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:06 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I think part of your problem is (I may be wrong) I think you have a X310.
If you search for the X310 data vault you may fine more results as I don't believe therer was a X311.

Also, the motherboard is completely different between the X510 and the X310 so I'm guessing different ram, but just a guess.
FYI good luck....

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group