It is currently Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:02 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:05 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
I have a problem right now that i don't kow if is a bug or what but here it goes.
My itunes server will not connect after the server wakes up unless i restart my server. I called HP and they said i does not make sense and could not find a way to fix it. Has anybody notice this too?
:sanjuan:

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 11:52 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Do you use uPnP or have you assigned the MSS a fixed IP address? Your "lease" on the IP address may be expiring in the router...

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:01 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
If you are taking about the dhcp, yes i have reserved an ip for the mss. If you taking about rdc and manually assign an ip then no i have not.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:06 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
You might try manually assigning an IP address in the MSS. (Choose one OUTSIDE the range to which the router will manually assign one, changing that range in the router if necessary.) In the router, be sure to also manually forward the ports to that new address.

YMMV but it may be worth a try...

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:16 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
What are the ports that the mss uses?

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:19 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
I have the following ports forwarded to WHS: 80, 443, 4125 & 3389

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 10:42 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Let me try and manually forward the ports.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:55 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Well is being two days since my server has not gone to sleep and the itunes server shows up ass soon as i open itunes. This was the only thing that worked, leaving the server on all the time.
I guess is a flaw in the server software, hopefully more people call HP about it and they can do something to fix it.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group