It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:30 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:47 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
First and foremost, I want to extend a big "thank you" to the pioneer customers who bought the Gen2 cable for their HP MediaSmart Server EX-49x computer but are having difficulties accessing the BIOS. It has come to my recent attention that the Gen2 PCB board is not 100% compatible with the HP EX-49x computer. The Gen2 adapter, to my knowledge, does indeed work, but you cannot access the BIOS. Customer's can still use the Gen2 adapter to troubleshoot boot-up problems (for example accidentally disabling the network card over Remote Desktop). More investigation is required on my part before I can fully support the EX-49x computer.

If anyone wants to get their hack on and help, simply join in this forum conversation.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:12 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
I have an EX490, with an upgraded CPU (E8400), I have your cable, and I am able to get into the BIOS, with the PS/2 keyboard... I was not able to get the PS/2 mouse to work via the adapter.

I ended up using a PS/2 Kyb/Mouse to USB adapter, and both the keyboard and mouse work with that (even at the BIOS level). I did put the 2-pin jumper on near the mini connector for the cable.

I have even posted some BIOS screenshots on this site. Not sure why some are having so many issues with the cable. I am not going to worry about the PS/2 Mouse not working, since a $9 adapter solved my issue.

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:01 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
mitch672 bought a cable from me and although his cable is working fine, I am troubled seeing a small number of customers expressing concerns about the PS2 lines not working. Specifically, about 70% of people claim it's working while %30 claim a problem with the PS2 lines.

I need your help.

Can those who got it working post pictures of their setup? I would like to see exactly how you installed your cable adapter (for example, is it inside the computer chassis or outside). Also, if possible, can you provide pictures of the POST screen showing the BIOS vendor and version number. I have one customer who claims his BIOS is newer than the BIOS pictures posted here by mitch672.

If you are one of those cutomers that could not get the PS2 keyboard to work, can you post (or email me) your bootup screen? Specifically, I would like to see BIOS vendor and version number.

Thank you to everyone helping (both on the forums and via email). I am working to resolve the issue and if anyone wants to jump in, please feel free to do so.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:55 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I didn't buy your connection kit but I followed the orginal thread and built VGA+PS2 keyboard connector.

VGA works but not PS2. One thing I notice, and very strange, that my EX490 BIOS is an EVALUATION COPY!!

I have capture the screenshot of the boot screen, hope it may give you some idea to fix the problem. -> see thread viewtopic.php?f=25&t=6973

USB Keyboard works (can press CTRL-ALT-DEL at network boot screen) but I don't seem to have option to get into EX490 BIOS even with JP2 shorted.

Update: I got PS2 Keyboard working. My original connection is to connect +5V to pin2 and GND to pin4. I observed that the keyboard doesn't seems to react. I then measure the voltage between pin2 and pin4. It was around 1.65V, I also measure pin1 and pin3 which gives me 5V. I move the keyboard 5v connection to pin1 and GND to pin3 and I got PS2 keyboard working. It seems like EX49x may have different CN2 connections.

I still don't have access to BIOS; (


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank bWare for this post
MrPlow
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 3:52 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:48 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 4 times in 1 post
Hey Charles,

Thanks for the cable, I got it about 3 weeks after you sent it! :D
Anyway works a treat and I have installed mine actually sticking out of the front of the server.
When I don't use it I simply disconnect the cable from the port block and carefully shove the cable under the motherboard. I can then screw the front panel back on and I have easy access if i need it again. Which after what I've done to it, is a rare occasion! :|

:sanjuan:

Here are some screen shots....


Attachments:
01022010296.jpg
01022010296.jpg [ 872.2 KiB | Viewed 23624 times ]
01022010291.jpg
01022010291.jpg [ 757.72 KiB | Viewed 23624 times ]
01022010299.jpg
01022010299.jpg [ 568.74 KiB | Viewed 23624 times ]

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX490
Anyone know where I can get a 4GB stick in the UK?
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:00 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Ah... interesting. My EX490 doesn't have "Press DEL to run Setup"....,
Also noted it showed that you have mouse connected but I don't see it connected to the breakout board. Is the mouse on USB?


Last edited by bWare on Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:03 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:48 am
Posts: 25
Location: UK
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 4 times in 1 post
Mine didn't either until I plugged in the PS/2 keyboard. (No mouse)

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX490
Anyone know where I can get a 4GB stick in the UK?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:05 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
opensvr wrote:
Mine didn't either until I plugged in the PS/2 keyboard. (No mouse)


Opensrv, could you post your keyboard (V) and (mA) rating at the back of your keyboard which worked?

Charles, may be you could share with us which PIN is PS/2 Keyboard is connected to on CN2 (EX490 it's labeled as CN9) block? Have a feeling that the motherboard could not detect the keyboard present even though it is working?

Both PS2 Keyboard, function but could not get access to BIOS (doesn't have "Press DEL to enter setup")
1. 84 keys Keyboard +3.3 to +5v 10mA
2. 102 keys Keyboard +5v 50mA

I am sure both keyboard are functioning as it react to CAPLOCK, NUM LOCK,CTRL-ALT-DEL after at PXE Boot. But still no BIOS access - JP2=ON

For PS/2 to work I have to connect to PIN1 for +5V and PIN3 for GND.
My original connection to PIN2 for +5V and PIN4 for GND does not work. Using multimeter the measured voltage across PIN2 and PIN4 is around +1.65V.

My connection on CN2 is as follows:

PS/2 Keyboard
---------------------------------------
01 --> 5V
03 --> GROUND
06 --> PS2 K/B DATA
08 --> PS2 KEYBOARD CLOCK

VGA Connection
----------------------------------------
09 --> VGA12 (DDC DATA)
11 --> VGA15 (DDC CLOCK)
14 --> VGA01 (RED)
16 --> VGA05 (GROUND)
17 --> VGA06 (GROUND)
18 --> VGA02 (GREEN)
19 --> VGA14 (VSYNC)
20 --> VGA07 (GROUND)
21 --> VGA08 (GROUND)
22 --> VGA03 (BLUE)
23 --> VGA13 (HSYNC)
24 --> VGA10 (GROUND)
25 --> VGA09 (5V)


Last edited by bWare on Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:25 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
Correct me if I'm wrong. You are right with both connection.

For PS/2 to work I have to connect to PIN1 for +5V and PIN3 for GND. This is correct for the MOUSE
My original connection to PIN2 for +5V and PIN4 for GND does not work. This is correct for the KEYBOARD.

From CN2 to Mouse/Keyboard
---------------------------------------
01 --> 5V MOUSE
02 -- >5V KEYBOARD
03 --> GROUND MOUSE
04 --> GROUND KEYBOARD
05 --> DATA MOUSE
06 --> DATA KEYBOARD
07 --> CLOCK MOUSE
08 --> CLOCK KEYBOARD

From Keyboard to CN2

// KB
Pin 1 PS/2 (DATA) is going to Pin #6
Pin 3 PS/2 (GROUND) is going to Pin #4
Pin 4 PS/2 (VCC) is going to Pin#2
Pin 5 PS/2 (Clock) is going to Pin #8

From Mouse to CN2
// Mouse
Pin 1 PS/2 (DATA) is going to Pin #5
Pin 3 PS/2 (GROUND) is going to Pin #3
Pin 4 PS/2 (VCC) is going to Pin#1
Pin 5 PS/2 (Clock) is going to Pin #7

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:15 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Diehard wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong. You are right with both connection.

For PS/2 to work I have to connect to PIN1 for +5V and PIN3 for GND. This is correct for the MOUSE
My original connection to PIN2 for +5V and PIN4 for GND does not work. This is correct for the KEYBOARD.



According to ymboc post in thread viewtopic.php?t=622 yes, PIN2 and PIN4 could be used, however it didn't work in my case. I measure the voltage between PIN2 and PIN4 it only shows +1.67V. However the voltage between PIN1 and PIN3 is +5V.

I redo the mesurement again this evening and check connectivity between PIN1/PIN2 and PIN3/PIN4 which supposed to be +5V & GND respectively so they should be connected.

I suppose users of EX49x could not get access to the BIOS is because the motherboard failed to detect the PS/2 keyboard is connected, although the keyboard itself is working correctly.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 1:37 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Update on connectivity check, these PINs are connected together:
PIN1,2 = +5V
PIN25,26= +5V
PIN3,10,16,17,20,21,24=GND

PIN4 is NOT GND. Now don't know what this is connected to.

So for PS/2 Keyboard, need to use PIN1 for +5V and PIN3 for GND.
Now next thing to figure out why keyboard is not pickup by the motherboard :roll:

Anyone have any idea?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:40 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
I don't find it likely that HP would lie on their schematic, nor would I find it likely that they changed their connector. So I do believe that Pin4 is GND.

The likely cause for keyboard error (though I am in the process of validating my claims) is that I am not doing any signal conditioning on any of my VGA/PS2 lines. This means that the keyboard signal is probably subject to enough noise that would cause it to fail. If you google PS2 and VGA schematics, you will see that most schematics do indeed do signal conditioning near the actual connectors. If you look at the picture that JRock uploaded in 2008 (which I have copy-pasted and modified for convenience sake), you will see that HP conditioned their signals near the connectors.

Edit: If you built a cable from scratch, then you probably are not doing signal conditioning either.


Attachments:
HP-Debug-Board-JRock.jpg
HP-Debug-Board-JRock.jpg [ 63.24 KiB | Viewed 23175 times ]


Last edited by cakalapati on Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 2:42 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
While I agree there could be too much engineering changes for the CN2/CN9 connector. However, there is no connectivity between PIN4 and the rest of the GND PIN3,10,16,17,20,21,24?

Update: recheck PIN4, confirmed not connected to GND.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 2:15 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Would your problems go away if you simply shorted Pin3 and Pin4?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:55 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Location: UK
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
cakalapati wrote:
Would your problems go away if you simply shorted Pin3 and Pin4?


Hmm... I measure the voltage between PIN3 and PIN4, it's 3.3V. Don't intent to just short it to GND.

I think next thing I would try to built a PS/2 Mouse connector and connect VGA+PS/2 KB+PS/2 Mouse+USB KB to see if I could access BIOS.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group