It is currently Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:34 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:38 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:14 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 1 post
I have one or two questions though.

My old EX490 Server failed a while back. First it was the PSU and I used the guides here to order an inexpensive replacement and modify the power pinout to HP proprietary spec. Some months later it appeared to be that the system drive failed. After getting the data off of the individual drives I was finally ready to give the server recovery a go with a new HDD for the OS. So I followed the instructions for server recovery and it went to completion the first time with no noteworthy issues (that I could see).

Its my hope that all the data is there but I am a little unsure of how to proceed from here. The connector software install package was automatically left on the system I used to recover the EX490 server from. I installed the connector software and was prompted for a name for the server. Its there where I stopped.

I believe I recall all the settings I used to setup the server years ago even though the server has been out of use for many months. However, I'm a little concerned that I am just following prompts and would like to know that I won't make the data that I hope is still on the server unrecoverable when setting up the server.

I know that during the server recovery that system settings like user accounts and settings are lost, therefore I would have to set those up again but I have never recovered the server before.

Assuming the data is all there, how do I get the server back to the way it was?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Oct!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:03 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1446
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 183 times in 181 posts
Well what point you are at is to make the server name and provide a master password.
Then it will install the connector on that pc you are using as well as backups.
The items you will lose is the client backups unless you made a backup first.
And the user accounts.
So you will need to reinstall the connector on all the pc's and create a user account for each one and set access to what ever shares you wish.
Share folders should be preserved.
Hopefully you had file duplication on.

Also don't forget you will get several updates over a few days so the corrector software will need to be reinstalled each time.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
Octavean
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:15 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 7:14 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 1 post
Ruben Rocha wrote:
Well what point you are at is to make the server name and provide a master password.
Then it will install the connector on that pc you are using as well as backups.
The items you will lose is the client backups unless you made a backup first.
And the user accounts.
So you will need to reinstall the connector on all the pc's and create a user account for each one and set access to what ever shares you wish.
Share folders should be preserved.
Hopefully you had file duplication on.

Also don't forget you will get several updates over a few days so the corrector software will need to be reinstalled each time.



Thanks, I'm proceeding with caution,...

Things are going slowly, as the server CPU was pegged but all the data seems to be there and the recovery seems to have been a success. File duplication was on.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:09 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2222
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 253 times in 249 posts
With WHS v1 as long as you have duplication on and do a recovery and NOT a Factory Reset, your stuff will still be there for the most part.
Alex did make a addin that will backup your clients backups as well if you have to have those.

But that's one of the best parts of WHS v1 is if all goes wrong, you can just stop and pull a drive and read it, grab files from it..

Everyone should have a backup, you can't have just the data on the server, it's windows, things happen, we just had a huge snow storm and had a huge power bump, took out my telco and a charger for a maglite, I was lucky, I had turned off the power strips that had all the network/servers on them or I could have lost them all..
I like the non-pooled drive server backups, that way when I do a Factory Reset, I can do a quick copy back from that non pooled.
Got to love WHS v1 it is so easy and all the lights spoil ya..Goodluck for many more years...

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group