It is currently Wed Apr 14, 2021 4:20 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 115 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:21 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:04 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Teknmage wrote:
Until it starts to run out of memory,and gives me error messages that the virtual pool is to small, I believe an increase of RAM is pointless.

But faster RAM would stille make sense, right ?

So would this qualify as faster than stock RAM ?

(Crucial 2GB, 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-8500)
http://www.crucial.com/eu/store/partspe ... 5664AA1067


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:00 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Yes, faster ram would help, however, you will only be able to take advantage of that 1066 memory if you have a CPU that has a faster FSB, the stock E5200 only runs at 800Mhz FSB. moving up to an E6XXX, E7XXX, or E8XXX series Duo Core would get you a faster FSB. I still think it's a very minor speed increase, and probably not worth the $

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:36 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:13 am
Posts: 431
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 25 times in 25 posts
mitch672 wrote:
Yes, faster ram would help, however, you will only be able to take advantage of that 1066 memory if you have a CPU that has a faster FSB, the stock E5200 only runs at 800Mhz FSB. moving up to an E6XXX, E7XXX, or E8XXX series Duo Core would get you a faster FSB. I still think it's a very minor speed increase, and probably not worth the $

Mitch


It would probably test out at the same speed since it is running faster but has a slower CAS latency of 7

_________________
3TB MSS EX490(upgraded CPU-E6300(2.8Ghz dual core Pentium)),
4GB memory
57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:11 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 7:53 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
mitch672 wrote:
Yes, faster ram would help, however, you will only be able to take advantage of that 1066 memory if you have a CPU that has a faster FSB, the stock E5200 only runs at 800Mhz FSB. moving up to an E6XXX, E7XXX, or E8XXX series Duo Core would get you a faster FSB. I still think it's a very minor speed increase, and probably not worth the $

Mitch


Does anyone have a CPU-Z screenshot that shows that this actually works with a MSS?

533mhz (1066mhz effective) isn't an official speed. So most DDR2 RAM even those rated higher only comes with JEDEC specs up to 400MHZ (800mhz effective). Even with a C2D E8400 which has a 333mhz bus (1333mhz effective) the motherboard will default the memory speed to the JEDEC spec, in this case 400mhz. With a regular PC you can go into the bios and change your memory divider to take advantage of the full ram speed, but with the MSS accessing the bios isn't so easy.

I also agree that ram speed isn't that important. The performance difference between 400mhz and 533mhz is very minor.

Just for reference and not to confuse anyone:
Memory PC6400 - Actual frequency 400MHZ - 800MHZ Effective (Double Data Rate)
Memory PC8500 - Actual frequency 533MHZ - 1066MHZ Effective (DDR)

_________________
HP X510 :: E8400 :: 4GB RAM :: 5.5TB :: WHS 2011 + Drive Bender


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
If you checkout this link, I posted pictures of the BIOS screens, showing the memory adjustments available on the EX490/EX495, you can set a particular speed, or adjust the timings manualy.

I have not changed the memory in mine...

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5512&p=54244#p54244

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2010 11:36 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I went ahead and upgraded my WHS RAM from 2GB to 4GB using the Mushkin ram linked earlier in this thread. I have to admit i was skeptical about any noticeable increase in performance but to my surprise the system does seem to be much more responsive when running RDP. I don't know if anyone else has noticed that Avast software is a memory hog which is why i really wanted the ram upgrade to begin with. It does seemed to have helped with responsiveness. I will say i was not maxing out my memory utilization prior to the upgrade, but it was always up and down between 40 and 70%.

_________________
HP EX495

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:19 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:08 am
Posts: 65
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 4 times in 3 posts
zimmy6996 wrote:
holty wrote:

Great post! Thanks!

Got part numbers for the two ram chips you discussed so i can compare them myself on Newegg?



(SORRY I COULDN'T POST LINKS, BUT I'M A NOOB, SO THE SYSTEM WON'T LET ME.)


MUSHKIN ENHANCED SILVERLINE 4GB (This is the memory I used in this post)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product



KINGSTON VALUERAM 4GB DDR3 SDRAM ECC REGISITERED DDR2 1066 (PC2-8500)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product


the Kingston onw is DDR3 , the link you posted

_________________
8TB Qnap TS-459 Pro
11TB EX 495 (E8400, 3.0GHZ, 4GB Mushkin) with Server 2012 Essential
4TB EX 485


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 4:43 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:13 am
Posts: 431
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 25 times in 25 posts
zimmy6996 wrote:
aaronwt wrote:


This memory module is also listed as 1.8 to 1.9 volts on the G Skill website. Newegg lists the wrong info.

I guess I'll find out soon enough if it causes any problems. If it does I'll have to return it and get the Mushkin.
But all the G. Skill PC2 6400 memory is listed at 1.8 ~ 1.9 volts.

http://www.gskill.com/products.php?c1=1&c2=2&c3=4



Keep us posted .... I'll be interested to know ... Otherwise, the Mushkin memory would appear to be the fastest most compatible option in a 4GB stick.


still no issues with my 4GB G. skill with 5-5-5-15 timings. Everything has been running smoothly. My E6300 CPU has a idle temp of 35C and it seems to max out at 62C now when I have the EX490 doing video conversions and transferring files to a couple of devices all concurrently.

I've been pleased with the E6300 CPU and the 4GB G. Skill memory since the price for both was $195.
Which worked out great since my E490 was under $470 shipped(BeachCamera from ebay).

_________________
3TB MSS EX490(upgraded CPU-E6300(2.8Ghz dual core Pentium)),
4GB memory
57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:29 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:38 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ive been looking at the

Kingston ValueRAM 4GB (1x4GB) 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM Fully Buffered ECC
CL5 DIMM Dual Rank x4 INTEL Memory Module (KVR800D2D4F5/4GI)

Would this be compatable as i can source some at a competative rate?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:02 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10721
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 626
Thanked: 926 times in 881 posts
The MSS doesn't use ECC memory, I'm not sure if people have tried using it.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:27 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
My understanding is that ECC memory can be used on a motherboard that does not support error correction, such as the MSS. All that happens is that the extra chip in the ECC memory that handles the error checking goes unutilized. Most do not buy ECC memory when they cannot use it as it tends to more expensive but not always.

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:34 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 9:17 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
zimmy6996 wrote:
Hello all ... I just completed 2 upgrades this morning on my EX495. (wish I had found these forums BEFORE purchasing, because I certainly would have purchased a EX490).

I upgraded the CPU to a E8500, and the RAM to 4GB.

Now, before I start getting flamed for my comments, I am WELL AWARE that the CPU upgrade has LOTS to do with why I will be giving POSITIVE feedback!

But I wanted to comment on my experience ... Prior to the upgrade, my RAM was always running about 76% used, and my CPU would crunch at 56% a majority of the time. I am certain this has much to do with the fact that I do have Twonky running, and the HP Media Collector. I have a pretty extensive MP3 collection, and a large photo gallery.

What I can tell you is the system is NIGHT AND DAY different from the stock install. Prior to the upgrade, the system seemed to lag quite a bit. The service console was sluggish. After the upgrade, EVERYTHING is snappy! The response time when using the HP MediaSmart software on my iPhone is actually usable now! Prior to the upgrade, it was almost useless!

CPU utilization is almost 0 on both cores unless I start pounding something, and even then, it really doesn't bother it! The RAM on my system now shows 22% utilization with the 4GB stick in there.

The parts I installed are the following:

1 x Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
1 x Mushkin Enhanced Silverline 4GB 1.8v 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM 800 PC2-6400 (5-5-5-18)

I chose the Mushkin memory because while it was still PC2-6400 memory like the stock 2GB stick, this has timings of (5-5-5-18) where as the stock memory was a CL6. The only options I could find for PC2-8500 memory would have raised the CL to 7, which almost seems to me like robbing peter to pay paul.

Right now my idle temp is 33C, after burning about 2 hours on Prime95, it got up to 73C, which I know it getting to the limits of what you really want to see, but it is definitely workable ...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:50 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:16 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Los Angeles
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Im still debating if upgrading the ram is worth it or not. All I can say is that if you run it on a Mac, the Console is horrible slugish. I dont know about the PC but man, if you have some content on your server and you access the converted video section and want to just browse through, you will be breaking your computer by the time the night is over.

_________________
EX495: 3x1.5TB * MacBook Pro * 27" iMac i7 * Custom PC
64GB iPad 3G * 64GB iPhone 4S * AppleTV * 500GB PlayStation 3 * PlayStation Vita 3G * 1TB Tivo 3
Denon 2807 * 60" Sony SXRD * Onkyo 5.1
Blu-ray: 297


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 3:05 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 8 times in 6 posts
In my opinion, upgrading the RAM in a MSS is a waste of time and money. I'm still not convinced that the MSS will take advantage of faster (higher MHz) memory, but even if it could, you would only be going from 400MHz to 533MHz, and that's only if you have a 1066MHz FSB processor installed. So, even if you have all the right parts, and you somehow get them all to work at full speed, would it really be noticeably quicker?? Probably not.

Upgrading the processor, and using faster hdd's, will give you more noticeable performance gains than anything else you can do. Instead of spending X amount of money on a Core2Duo processor and RAM, you will be much happier just spending the same amount of money on a better Core2Quad processor instead, and leave the memory alone.

I have an EX490 and found the stock processor to be so slow that it was almost unusable in it's stock state. I then upgraded the cpu to an E8400, and it got a good bit quicker, but still extremely slow. After that I upgraded the cpu yet again to a Q9300, and it's finally quick enough to actually do anything I want, and I have no plans on changing the RAM. Do yourself a favor, and get a quad core cpu and be done.

_________________
EX490 w/ a Q9300 processor and stock RAM
Stock Seagate System Drive
(3) 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 7200rpm storage pool drives
Gen3 Debug Board (all connections)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:14 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:09 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Franklin NC
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 31 times in 29 posts
JDookie wrote:
In my opinion, upgrading the RAM in a MSS is a waste of time and money. I'm still not convinced that the MSS will take advantage of faster (higher MHz) memory, but even if it could, you would only be going from 400MHz to 533MHz, and that's only if you have a 1066MHz FSB processor installed. So, even if you have all the right parts, and you somehow get them all to work at full speed, would it really be noticeably quicker?? Probably not.

Upgrading the processor, and using faster hdd's, will give you more noticeable performance gains than anything else you can do. Instead of spending X amount of money on a Core2Duo processor and RAM, you will be much happier just spending the same amount of money on a better Core2Quad processor instead, and leave the memory alone.

I have an EX490 and found the stock processor to be so slow that it was almost unusable in it's stock state. I then upgraded the cpu to an E8400, and it got a good bit quicker, but still extremely slow. After that I upgraded the cpu yet again to a Q9300, and it's finally quick enough to actually do anything I want, and I have no plans on changing the RAM. Do yourself a favor, and get a quad core cpu and be done.



I respectfully disagree. I have a stock EX495, did the 4 GB memory upgrade and it made a tremendous difference. Everything is faster, console, programs I have running on the MSS, you name it. Interestingly with my 4 GB stick in, there are times when my memory usage is greater than 50% (right now is sits at 56% utilized.) that means it is using all of the original 2 GB and then some. For what, I can't say and frankly am not curious enough to dig further. What matters most to me is that my MSS is faster and seemingly happier. So, for those of us with EX495's I'd submit that the bigger bang for the buck might be to do the memory upgrade first, then consider a processor upgrade if you need more speed.

_________________
X510 w/7 TB (100% WD Green EARS)
Stock Processor, 4 GB Memory Upgrade


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 115 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group