It is currently Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:33 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 115 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HP EX495 RAM upgrade?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 5:45 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Anyone done a RAM upgrade from the factory 2GB to 4GB? Is there even a reason to do so?

I'm having a hard time determining what RAM specs need to be so i can buy the upgraded chips.

_________________
HP EX495

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 6:14 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10721
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 626
Thanked: 925 times in 880 posts
holty wrote:
Anyone done a RAM upgrade from the factory 2GB to 4GB? Is there even a reason to do so?

I'm having a hard time determining what RAM specs need to be so i can buy the upgraded chips.


The RAM is standard DDR2-800, and IMHO there is no need to upgrade unless you install a ton of apps and are consuming more than the included 2GB of physical memory.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 7:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
Agreed. The law of diminishing returns seems to apply here given the MSS can only make use of ~3.2gb of the 4gb.

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:56 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I upgraded my 490ex from 2--> 4 GB ram. This actually made quite a difference. The admin console is MUCH more responsive, as well as other functions such as video conversion. I now have approx. 20% memory committed vs. 50% before I did this.

It's expensive for a 4GB stick, so I can't really say if it's "worth" it, however.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 10:21 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 2:10 am
Posts: 266
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 34 times in 33 posts
onslowsmith wrote:
I upgraded my 490ex from 2--> 4 GB ram. This actually made quite a difference. The admin console is MUCH more responsive, as well as other functions such as video conversion. I now have approx. 20% memory committed vs. 50% before I did this.

It's expensive for a 4GB stick, so I can't really say if it's "worth" it, however.


Lets do the math here, you started out with 2 GB of ram that you acknowledge was only 50% being used. You then upgraded to 4 GB of ram which is now being 20% used, or approximately 800 MB of it is being used. That is a lot like adding a new 2 TB hard drive to your system as a pool drive, and NEVER loading anymore data unto your system as saying how much faster it now is.

Most users will simply get more bang for their memory buck by buying lower latency ram (faster ram) than simply more ram that is never actually accessed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 12:20 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Thank you for the replies everyone.

_________________
HP EX495

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:08 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I could care less about the % memory utilized. The bottom line is that things run faster. If you have the money, I would recommend upgrading the memory.
-


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:08 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
The point here is thst "upgrading the memory" consists of two very DIFFERENT upgrades:

(1) More memory, and
(2) Faster memory.

given the percentages in the example above I suspect that the performance increase is due to the larger memory being faster, not just because it is faster. If about a GB was used before and about a GB is used after that tells me that there was NO advantage to a large memory -- therefore it had to be because it was faster.

You can get faster 2GB memory for a better price than going to a 4GB module. AND you would get no gain if the 4GB module is equal (or slower) than the original!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:55 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:51 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Perhaps, but i'm runing SQL Server, a Mapping Server and a Web Server. They need the running room....

i've never seen faster memory make perceptible differences in normal destktop operations, but i have seen adding more memory make systems faster in over 20 machines I have built.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:01 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Will this memory work ok:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820146726

Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 996580 - Retail

_________________
HP EX495

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:09 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
holty wrote:
Will this memory work ok:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820146726

Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 996580 - Retail


no, that is (2) 2GB modules, it is the same 2GB module that is already in the EX490/EX495, you would need (1) 4GB module, or faster ram, such as the 1066 speed, but it willl have to run at 1.8Volts, that is the issue.

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:22 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
mitch672 wrote:
holty wrote:
Will this memory work ok:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820146726

Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 996580 - Retail


no, that is (2) 2GB modules, it is the same 2GB module that is already in the EX490/EX495, you would need (1) 4GB module, or faster ram, such as the 1066 speed, but it willl have to run at 1.8Volts, that is the issue.

Mitch


ahhh, i seee, i did not realize there is only one RAM slot in the system. you possibly have a link to a ram module that would work, and be faster, 4GB?

_________________
HP EX495

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:36 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
checkout bradyholt's post on page 6 of this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5512&start=75

He has a Kingston 4GB stick in his EX490, it's the same speed (800mhz), I found them in and posted links further down in that thread, the 4GB module runs about $140-$160, and most of us don't think it's worth the asking price, FYI.

Mitch

P.S. Top of page 9 on that same thread is my post, where I have links to the Kingston part #, and a google search link to the part #, here is the link to that page:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5512&start=120


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:47 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
mitch672 wrote:
checkout bradyholt's post on page 6 of this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5512&start=75

He has a Kingston 4GB stick in his EX490, it's the same speed (800mhz), I found them in and posted links further down in that thread, the 4GB module runs about $140-$160, and most of us don't think it's worth the asking price, FYI.

Mitch

P.S. Top of page 9 on that same thread is my post, where I have links to the Kingston part #, and a google search link to the part #, here is the link to that page:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5512&start=120


Especially, when I put 4 gig in my mediasmarts a year ago it was $80 a stick.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank erail for this post
georgeanoop
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:40 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 79
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Ok, how about this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231271

G.SKILL Trident 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1200 (PC2 9600) Desktop Memory Model F2-9600CL5D-4GBTD - Retail
Low Voltage 1.8V

_________________
HP EX495

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 115 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group