It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:43 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:40 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 702 times in 681 posts
jalbert523,

I agree with JohnBick about taking it slow. Doing this will allow you to get better aquainted with your server and should you encounter an issue it will be easier to figure out how to correct the issue. Far to often some have moved large amount of data and install multiple add-ins all at the same time and when that happens its hard to determine the cause of any issue that might occur.

The one thing your doing right so far is reading the messages in the forums and asking questions and I encourage you to continue to do so.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:15 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Miami, Florida
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Hello my friends, hope everyone is doing well.

I plan to start configuring the EX490 this weekend. I have one more question to bug you guys with... :?

I have three active computers at home. The home desktop PC, which is used primarily for household related computing and my daughter's school work and some entertainment, my wife's notebook PC, and my notebook PC.

My wife's notebook is running Windows Vista Home Premium x64, my notebook is running Windows 7 Ultimate x64, and the home PC is running Windows Vista Ultimate x32.

Toward the end of the year, I attended a Microsoft event through my job, where I received a complimentary copy of Windows 7 Ultimate x32 and x64.

I had planned to upgrade the home PC from Vista Ultimate x32 to WIN 7 Ultimate x64, and then use that machine as the initial client for the MSS.

Should I do that, or should I start with my WIN 7 Ultimate x64 notebook as the original client to get the EX490 going, and upgrade the home PC later as well as connecting it as a client?

I ask this question because I don't know much about which OS has a better compatibility track record with the MSS, and also, I don't have valuable data on my notebook PC, whereas the home desktop PC contains all the family photos, music, etc.

Please advise; thank you!!!

Best regards,

José

_________________
Be well and God bless everyone!

HP MSS EX490 (Intel E5200/4GB RAM).
Master HDD: HP supplied Seagate 1.0TB Barracuda
Additional HDDs: 2 - Western Digital 1.0TB Caviar Green, 1 - Seagate 1.0TB Barracuda Green (Server Backup Drive)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:42 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 702 times in 681 posts
jalbert523,

It not going to matter which one you backup first on your Server. I have XP Home, XP Pro, Vista Home Premium and Win 7 Ultimate Clients on my server. Of all the clients the only one I have not had the pleasure to restore was the Win 7 Ultimate Client. Anyway they all work well with my server and so you should expect the same. Oh yea the only difference between my clients and your is mine are all 32bit but that should not make any real difference.

So if you just want to test one unit just to see how it works because I know your taking a slow approach then I would chose the most important computer you have. Then once your comfortable with that process go ahead and back the other computers up too. In my opinion the WHS provides the best in backup/restore functions out there. If you have ever spent the time restoring a computer thats been in use for a while you know that restoring a computer using the OEM Recovery Discs and then reinstalling software and data is a time consuming process but restoring a computer with WHS in my experience averages 45 minutes once the recovery process actually starts but it could be longer for people with system that have many hard drives configured in the backup.

Not sure if this helps answer your question or not and maybe others will post more useful information but its a start and good luck getting your server configured.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:28 am
Posts: 2
Location: Albany, NY
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have seen problem #4 (Remote Access Problems), but in my case I think it was a client side issue. Somehow, the Remote Desktop ActiveX control stopped working in IE. Re-enabling it resolved the problem. It was working, then I applied a whole mess of Windows Updates, and it stopped working. I saw a few sites that document how Windows Update can clobber this setting. This one was pretty good:

http://blog.mypostup.com/2008/08/11/rem ... workaround

It has a decent enough explanation and a list of the steps to get the control working again. To find other ones, just Google or Bing the following search terms:

"remote desktop" ie HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Settings

_________________
Chris Miller
Stock EX495 2.5TB running Server Essentials 2012


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:22 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
I don't know if I have found a fix for one of these bugs or if it was an isolated case.

The sleep function on my x510 DataVault was working fine.

I then moved my MSS into an enclosed cabinet and became a little worried about the ventalation. I added a USB powerd fan to the server to pull cooler air in from the bottom of the cabinet, and push the warmer air out through the top ventalation slots.

After adding the USB powered fan, the sleep function worked fine on the first night but, would not work again until I would restart the server. Then the sleep function would work for one day and not the next.

I wondered if the USB fan had anything to do with this issue so, I removed the USB fan from the MSS three days ago.

For the last three nights including tonight, the server has went to sleep right on time just like it is scheduled to do.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:00 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Dang.... That opens up a whole new set of possibilities for some of the folks having sleep problems...

Does it make a difference WHICH USB port you have the fan plugged into?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:00 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
JohnBick wrote:
Dang.... That opens up a whole new set of possibilities for some of the folks having sleep problems...

Does it make a difference WHICH USB port you have the fan plugged into?


John, I had the fan plugged into the top USB slot.

After disconnecting the fan from the MSS, plugged it into a USB power strip and have not tried to reconnect it to another one of the MSS ports.

I guess I should try that once I get back home this weekend and see if I can duplicate the issue again.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:34 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:09 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Franklin NC
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 31 times in 29 posts
CBick wrote:
John, I had the fan plugged into the top USB slot.

After disconnecting the fan from the MSS, plugged it into a USB power strip and have not tried to reconnect it to another one of the MSS ports.

I guess I should try that once I get back home this weekend and see if I can duplicate the issue again.



Wow! I have a Serial to USB Converter plugged into my MSS as well as a USB to UPB interface module. Neither is required to be plugged in 100% of the time so I'll check mine when I return home as well. It would be intersting to see any theories as to why this would affect the sleep cycle.

_________________
X510 w/7 TB (100% WD Green EARS)
Stock Processor, 4 GB Memory Upgrade


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 9:16 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Well I may have spoken too soon.

Last night my server didn't go to sleep like it should have.

I restarted server and will see what happens over the next day or two.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 2:05 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
In my instance :
From the console things such as ignore the network health alerts and things such as "stop sharing" twonky.
Don't keep when rebooting the server.
So the alerts come back and twonky restarts on it's own after re-booting.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 9:28 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:35 pm
Posts: 27
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
None of the links work on my 'Windows Home Server Console' . [PC runs on XP].

For example: Settings -> General -> There are three links:
1. Read Windows Update privacy statement
2. Read out privacy statement
3. Learn more about windows error reporting

And under MediaSmartServer: Online support link donot work.

Above all: MediaSmartServer ->HP Photo Publisher-> There are two buttons: Launch HP Photo Publisher and Launch HP Photo Viewer.

When I click on all the above: I get access denied message in a small window.

Any body?? :|


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 10:34 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
How up to date is this list?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:59 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
I think it's pretty accurate.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 3:59 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
just checking. Merry Christmas by the way.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 10:52 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Thanks! :)

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group