It is currently Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:36 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 ... 28  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Many thanks, mksE55. I'll take your advice and go with the E6600. I can see you speak from experience.

I'd like to move the server to a cooler place, but my broadband comes straight into the living room and I'd like to avoid ruining too many cables.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 10:41 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 228
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 16 times in 16 posts
you should be able to place your broadband anywhere you have a phone jack. then run the cable to your server. you could always use the Network over you house wiring device, that work well and will let you have network access for about 75.00-85.00. look up lan over home electrical wiring. this may be you next best bet. I dont think you will have any problems with the E6600, it was the best bang for the buck , if you have money to burn the E6700 or E7500 are fine as well, but if you have heat issues then the E6600 is by far cooler and all the performance you need.

_________________
EX490 3.0Ghz E6600 3X WD20EARS 1T ST7200.11 ----Esata attached TR5M 2X 2T Samsung F4 2X 2T Baracuda LP 1X 2T WD20EARS
DIY build HAF 912 case Asus M4A88-TD EVO MB 4 gig Ram Phenom II X4 3.2Ghz B55 VelociRaptor 600 3X WD20EARS


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank mksE55 for this post
JohanDK
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:37 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks again.

Money is not the object (sounds grand, right?) - I really just want the quickest system possible, while still remaining stable and fuss-free. As I understand it the difference between the E6xxx and E7xxx is the L2 cache. Does that impact the heat? If not, then it seems I should go with the E7500 over the E6600 as it has lower GHz which should generate less heat, no?

For me temperature is the main concern. Speed second. Then cost.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:10 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I've been researching more and it's doing my head in! I understand that different factors impact the speed of the processor, but it seems random what impacts the heat!

Logically I'd say that a 45nm architecture is cooler than 65nm and that lower GHz means lower heat. If that's the case a newer E6600 seems like the best bet.

Sorry to keep pounding on this, but I hope other people can benefit on a discussion about heat in the EX49x's.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:50 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 228
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 16 times in 16 posts
almost Right on all accounts but there are factors some CPU are cooler than others just the Microchip design. here is more on the E7500 vs 6500, the E7500 has a tiny less clock speed and May run cooler
http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/388/In ... E6600.html

and lastly this, http://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu_lookup. ... 40+2.93GHz

the differences are really close, Temps should be to. so you decide , sorry not to make this easy.LOL

_________________
EX490 3.0Ghz E6600 3X WD20EARS 1T ST7200.11 ----Esata attached TR5M 2X 2T Samsung F4 2X 2T Baracuda LP 1X 2T WD20EARS
DIY build HAF 912 case Asus M4A88-TD EVO MB 4 gig Ram Phenom II X4 3.2Ghz B55 VelociRaptor 600 3X WD20EARS


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank mksE55 for this post
JohanDK
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:08 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
mksE55, you're a star! It's certainly not easy, so I really appreciate your help and input! The links are great. What initially confused me was that I assumed that e.g. E6600 was the successor of E6500, but that is clearly not the case. In fact, it seems to be the other way around, if anything.

Given both the E7500 and the E6500 net out at the same speed there seem little reason to pay almost twice as much for the E7500. I'll give it a shot - probably next weekend - and feedback how it goes. Thanks again for your help!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:37 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 228
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 16 times in 16 posts
yes , there were two series of the E6000 chips. a larger 65n size and the newer 45n size. for heat the newer vesion is better but it has smaller cache and slightly less speed. I though that chart would be helpful. the new chip does let you overclock alot more but since you cant do this on the MMS just get the fastest dual core you can. some are running the Q8400 chips they are quad cores but again more heat but does allow for better overall heavy use of your MSS, I am very happy with mine and it doesnt have any issues streaming while doing many things.

_________________
EX490 3.0Ghz E6600 3X WD20EARS 1T ST7200.11 ----Esata attached TR5M 2X 2T Samsung F4 2X 2T Baracuda LP 1X 2T WD20EARS
DIY build HAF 912 case Asus M4A88-TD EVO MB 4 gig Ram Phenom II X4 3.2Ghz B55 VelociRaptor 600 3X WD20EARS


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank mksE55 for this post
JohanDK
PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:35 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram


I got a case of Napoleon Complex =P~ and had to do the upgrades!

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:01 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
WD Black 640GB OS Drive SATA 6GB with 64MB Cache

After letting the server settle down over night, I have to say that I'm feeling a little disappointed.

While I have not compared or put a stop watch to it:
#1. Server restarts don't seem to be any quicker
#2. Opening the console doesn't seem any quicker
#3. Scrolling through the tabs doesn't seem any quicker
#4. When starting a BDBB backup, the console still freezes for a couple of minutes before again becoming responsive

Bottom line, I'm not seeing any noticable improvement over the E5200 with 2GB Ram.
I'm starting to wonder if all of this talk of improved performance is not somehow actually a Placebo Effect in action.

Then again, perhaps I just set my expectations to high.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:18 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:28 pm
Posts: 228
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 16 times in 16 posts
I think you may have high expectations. alot of what a server does is background task and disk task of which the CPU will not greatly affect. the biggerst gain is from the stock unit to a good dual core processor. if you run a passmark or other cpu testing program you can see the real cpu gains. I bet if you transcode video or run some graphics type program you would see the difference .and if you backup and stream at the same time you log in and look around you could see and feel the difference most of us noticed if the system was working on something else while we trided to access it , it seemed slow like molasses, now its just slow but works. if you really need performance build the DIY system with better boards and video and better sata interface with 64 bit hardware. memory access , FSB all play into this as well and that is tet by the bios.

_________________
EX490 3.0Ghz E6600 3X WD20EARS 1T ST7200.11 ----Esata attached TR5M 2X 2T Samsung F4 2X 2T Baracuda LP 1X 2T WD20EARS
DIY build HAF 912 case Asus M4A88-TD EVO MB 4 gig Ram Phenom II X4 3.2Ghz B55 VelociRaptor 600 3X WD20EARS


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:53 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:32 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi All,

I upgraded my EX490 to a Pentium Dual E6700 (3.2GHz) at the weekend. All went well, however I've noticed the idle temp for the processor after several heat-up and cool down cycles over several days is 42C (other core is around 33C). Does this sound ok or a little high?

I properly cleaned the heat sink and applied Arctic Silver 5 exactly as per the instructions on their website - single line across the middle of the metal cap for the Pentium Dual Core processor. The AS5 did come out of the tube a little thick, so I'm wondering if I re-apply if the temps will lower a bit.

Would appreciate knowing if the E6700 is ok running around this temp at idle.

Many Thanks... James


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:11 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:22 pm
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 14 times in 13 posts
How hot is it getting under load? If I understand what you are saying, perhaps there is an issue with how you are reading temptures? I would expect both cores to be near each other.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:15 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:32 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Daveed wrote:
How hot is it getting under load? If I understand what you are saying, perhaps there is an issue with how you are reading temptures? I would expect both cores to be near each other.


Under load it doesn't seem to get hotter than mid-50's at most, with moderate load the temp of Core 1 comes more into line with Core 0, so they'll be both be around 42, and then under serious load the temps go up mid-50's max.

The built-in hardware monitor in the Home Server console only shows the temp of the Core 0, so I use the CPU-Z hardware monitor program to show the temps of both cores.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:32 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I ran a stress test of re-encoding a load of videos, backups running and a Twonky database rebuild and got the CPU temp to max at 66C for short time, most of the time it was in the high 50's.

When complete, it dropped back down to the idle value of 42/36. Click the image below to enlarge.

Image


Attachments:
homeserver_cpu.jpg
homeserver_cpu.jpg [ 66.48 KiB | Viewed 3822 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:50 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:01 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have a ex490 (stock processor and ram). What would you recommend for WHS2011? Upgrade ex490 (let's say 4gb ram and e6600) and install 2011 or do a build your own box? Mostly use WHS for backups and Media Center storage and I really like the ex490's form factor.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group