It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 28  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:04 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
akgem wrote:
As I promised earlier, I took apart my new EX490 and I'm 99% sure the heatsink is exactly the same as the one in Alex's review. I tried taking some pictures to post, but the damn camera wouldn't auto-focus correctly, and I didn't want to mess with manual settings because my mind was preoccupied by something else (if you know what I mean :D ). So, instead, I took the picture below. I'm too excited to post more right now, so more details to follow later. :mrgreen:


The e6300 has a fsb of 1066Mhz. Can you check and see if its still running at 800fsb? After all this now i'm starting to wonder how far we can go on these mobos. Does any body know the highest model chip the board will detect? (assuming a tdp of 65w)

My thoughts would be (if the mobo would recognize it) to throw in a nice cpu like an e8400 and just underclock it down to 2.4Ghz. That would be awesome.

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:21 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Likebutter wrote:
The e6300 has a fsb of 1066Mhz. Can you check and see if its still running at 800fsb? After all this now i'm starting to wonder how far we can go on these mobos. Does any body know the highest model chip the board will detect? (assuming a tdp of 65w)

My thoughts would be (if the mobo would recognize it) to throw in a nice cpu like an e8400 and just underclock it down to 2.4Ghz. That would be awesome.

I'm not an expert when it comes to this stuff, but wouldn't CPU's FSB be "handicapped" by the slow RAM? I'm still running the stock RAM, which IIRC is either 667 or 800, so the CPU would have to underclock to "match" the RAM. And I'm not sure how to tell the actual FSB without direct access to the BIOS, which I can't do on the MSS. Is there a way to tell? Speaking of RAM, my next upgrade was going to be faster RAM (PC2 8500) to "match" the CPU, but everything I"ve found so far requires 2.0-2.2V to run (or else it falls back to 800 at lower voltages), and again, without having access to the BIOS and being able to adjust the voltage, I don't know that MSS can really benefit from faster RAM. Again, I'm not an expert when it comes to over/under clocking etc., so I may be wrong.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:23 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I think CPU-Z will tell you. Or Everest home edition.

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 3:36 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Likebutter wrote:
I think CPU-Z will tell you. Or Everest home edition.

Below are the screenshots of CPU-Z from the server. It shows the bus speed of 266, but I don't know if it's actual or rated. It also shows rated FSB of 1064.2.


Attachments:
cpuz1.JPG
cpuz1.JPG [ 45.12 KiB | Viewed 4303 times ]
cpuz2.JPG
cpuz2.JPG [ 32.28 KiB | Viewed 4303 times ]
cpuz3.JPG
cpuz3.JPG [ 39.34 KiB | Viewed 4303 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:10 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
NICE! how are temps doing? and can you tell the difference in speed?

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:05 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Likebutter wrote:
NICE! how are temps doing? and can you tell the difference in speed?

I can't tell the difference between the stock Celeron and E6300 because I only did the function check boot up with the Celeron still in the server and took it out 5 minutes after unboxing the server. I can tell the difference between it and my old EX470 with 1640 and 2Gig of RAM upgrades - the new setup is noticeably more responsive, the server console pages load almost instantly, and the UI looks much better and well laid out. The additional features are also nice; I never really used my EX470 as a media server - only a back up and file server. With EX490, I actually started transferring my DVD collection to the server and using Media Converter to do it. So far, I'm really happy with the upgrade.

Temperatures seem to be well under control. The CPU idles at 32-34C (with the server sitting in the book case - not the best ventilated place with some heat build-up), which is the same temperature the 1640 idled at in my old EX470. Under fill load, the CPU runs at 58-60C while running a backup and video conversion at the same time, with the hottest spikes reaching up to 63C. That's roughly 10C hotter than the same CPU runs at with factory heatsink. My dual Samsung F2EG 1.5Tb hard drives idle at 27-29C, and only go up to 30-32C under load. For comparison, a single WD Caviar 7200rpm drive was idling at 41C when I tried it.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank akgem for this post
Likebutter
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 3:11 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Good to know, thanks!

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:47 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:31 pm
Posts: 33
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Anyone have any new information about differences/similarities between the 490 and 495 heatsinks?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:43 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Heatsinks are the same. \:D/

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 5:58 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Not that I doubt you, but do you have a source or pics?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:05 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Utah
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I have put in a E8500 (3.16GHz) both cores show and it seems to run OK the temp gets up to 70 C so I ordered one of these since there is a fan power on the board. I hope to be able to put in 4 drives and this CPU with the cpu fan anyone have any reasons why this won't work. I am thinking about putting in a Q6700 what do you think?

_________________
2008 R2 (ASUS ZPE-D18 E5520 x 2 24GB RAM 8TB Storage)
Exchange 2010
Windows Home Server 2003 (Dell 760)
HP EX490 (E8500 4GB RAM 4TB Storage)
3 Windows 7 Ultimate Clients
2 Mac Clients


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:09 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 621
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
bradyholt wrote:
anyone have any reasons why this won't work.


The connection points for the heatsink are non-standard so you'll likely have difficulty mounting the cooler. Do let us know if you get it working!

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
bradyholt
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:27 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:24 pm
Posts: 204
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
akgem wrote:
Temperatures seem to be well under control. The CPU idles at 32-34C (with the server sitting in the book case - not the best ventilated place with some heat build-up), which is the same temperature the 1640 idled at in my old EX470. Under fill load, the CPU runs at 58-60C while running a backup and video conversion at the same time, with the hottest spikes reaching up to 63C. That's roughly 10C hotter than the same CPU runs at with factory heatsink. My dual Samsung F2EG 1.5Tb hard drives idle at 27-29C, and only go up to 30-32C under load. For comparison, a single WD Caviar 7200rpm drive was idling at 41C when I tried it.

What do you use to measure temps over time?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:34 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
MRL_WHS wrote:
akgem wrote:
Temperatures seem to be well under control. The CPU idles at 32-34C (with the server sitting in the book case - not the best ventilated place with some heat build-up), which is the same temperature the 1640 idled at in my old EX470. Under fill load, the CPU runs at 58-60C while running a backup and video conversion at the same time, with the hottest spikes reaching up to 63C. That's roughly 10C hotter than the same CPU runs at with factory heatsink. My dual Samsung F2EG 1.5Tb hard drives idle at 27-29C, and only go up to 30-32C under load. For comparison, a single WD Caviar 7200rpm drive was idling at 41C when I tried it.

What do you use to measure temps over time?

Just going by what the control panel says (under Settings -> MediaSmart Server -> Hardware).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:42 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:24 pm
Posts: 204
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
akgem wrote:
Just going by what the control panel says (under Settings -> MediaSmart Server -> Hardware).

Thanks. I use that and HWMonitor but I'd like something to monitor temps over a couple of days. Any thoughts appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group