It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:03 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 28  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:23 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
FYI

I upgraded my EX485 over a month ago to the E5200 and it's been running great with no problems, i also have the 3.0 beta installed.

http://www.mediasmarthome.com/forum/thread/11977/HP-EX-485-CPU-upgrade-sucessful/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:15 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
techaholic wrote:
FYI

I upgraded my EX485 over a month ago to the E5200 and it's been running great with no problems, i also have the 3.0 beta installed.

http://www.mediasmarthome.com/forum/thread/11977/HP-EX-485-CPU-upgrade-sucessful/

That's good news! One more reason the EX490 upgrade shouldn't be an issue. My EX490 should be delivered today, so if I have some time, I'll take it apart tonight and take some pictures of the heatsink.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:35 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Be cautious, as my first attempt to upgrade the 485 ended up with a bricked server, luckily it also failed when I put the old CPU back and I was able to get HP to replace it, and this time the second unit upgraded with no problems or issues.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:18 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
As I promised earlier, I took apart my new EX490 and I'm 99% sure the heatsink is exactly the same as the one in Alex's review. I tried taking some pictures to post, but the damn camera wouldn't auto-focus correctly, and I didn't want to mess with manual settings because my mind was preoccupied by something else (if you know what I mean :D ). So, instead, I took the picture below. I'm too excited to post more right now, so more details to follow later. :mrgreen:


Attachments:
EX490.JPG
EX490.JPG [ 124.82 KiB | Viewed 5897 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:08 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
The real question is,

Why is it showing your CPU as an E6300 and not an E5200? :shock:

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:07 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
CBick wrote:
The real question is,

Why is it showing your CPU as an E6300 and not an E5200? :shock:

Because I put E6300 in it. :TR4M:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank akgem for this post
justw8asec
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:18 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
What are your temps running? Probably should download speedfan and monitor the temps for a few days.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:29 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
erail wrote:
What are your temps running? Probably should download speedfan and monitor the temps for a few days.

Right now it's at 32-34C degrees, with the fans going at ~1230 rpm. The hottest I've seen it so far was 52C right after it finished doing the server recovery onto the new drive (I replaced the stock Seagate with a new Samsung F2EG 1.5Tb drive). I will definitely keep an eye on it for a few days. I used Arctic Silver thermal compound, and it usually needs a couple of days to "set in", so I'll be running the CPU through a few hot and cold cycles to break it in.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:31 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:26 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
You should be fine, it can go as high as 65-70 during video convertion, but at your idle temps I don't think it will get that high.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:13 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:07 am
Posts: 22
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
akgem wrote:
CBick wrote:
The real question is,

Why is it showing your CPU as an E6300 and not an E5200? :shock:

Because I put E6300 in it. :TR4M:


Duuude!!!

My EX475 is feeling old....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:32 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Hey thats not bad. I just bought the 490 from onsale.com came out to 519 otd. I get it tomorrow so I'll try to snap a pic of the heatsink.

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:41 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 504
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 39 times in 31 posts
E6300 has same TDP rating as the E5200 so thermals should not be a problem assuming the heat sinks between the EX490 and EX495 are the same.

It definitely makes more sense for my applications to go with an EX490 with the upgraded CPU as I plan to keep the next WHS I build for as long as possible and know that right off of the bat I will be using it for recording of a couple of home security surveillance cameras. The extra 500GB of storage is no big deal to me, I would want to replace the stock drive with a WD Green drive in any event to get power consumption down to the minimum.

This is big news. I will just have to find a buyer for my EX485. If anyone is interested send me a PM.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:20 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
jmpage2 wrote:
E6300 has same TDP rating as the E5200 so thermals should not be a problem assuming the heat sinks between the EX490 and EX495 are the same.

It definitely makes more sense for my applications to go with an EX490 with the upgraded CPU as I plan to keep the next WHS I build for as long as possible and know that right off of the bat I will be using it for recording of a couple of home security surveillance cameras. The extra 500GB of storage is no big deal to me, I would want to replace the stock drive with a WD Green drive in any event to get power consumption down to the minimum.

This is big news. I will just have to find a buyer for my EX485. If anyone is interested send me a PM.

I was also thinking about stepping up the the E6500 instead of E6300, but E6300 seemed like a better deal overall (it was only $10 more than E5200 with .3Ghz increase in clock speed and 1066Mhz FSB vs. 800Mhz on E5200). With E6500, you only get a marginal increase in clock speed (2.93Ghz) over E6300 (2.8Ghz), and you pay an additional $17 for that .13Ghz - didn't seem to be worth it.

PM me with details of your 485 and your asking price. I have a friend looking for a cheap file/backup server without much need for all the other functionality, so I'm trying to convince him to go with an older version of EX4xx (470 or 480) since there are many good deals out there.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:57 am
Posts: 36
Location: South Florida
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
jmpage2 wrote:
E6300 has same TDP rating as the E5200 so thermals should not be a problem assuming the heat sinks between the EX490 and EX495 are the same.

It definitely makes more sense for my applications to go with an EX490 with the upgraded CPU as I plan to keep the next WHS I build for as long as possible and know that right off of the bat I will be using it for recording of a couple of home security surveillance cameras. The extra 500GB of storage is no big deal to me, I would want to replace the stock drive with a WD Green drive in any event to get power consumption down to the minimum.

This is big news. I will just have to find a buyer for my EX485. If anyone is interested send me a PM.



I am going to try the same thing with 1 axis IP cam. Are yours IP cams as well?

_________________
My HP Mediasmart server is hosting my Blog @ http://avillacampa.homeserver.com/blog/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:32 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 504
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 39 times in 31 posts
Likebutter wrote:
jmpage2 wrote:
E6300 has same TDP rating as the E5200 so thermals should not be a problem assuming the heat sinks between the EX490 and EX495 are the same.

It definitely makes more sense for my applications to go with an EX490 with the upgraded CPU as I plan to keep the next WHS I build for as long as possible and know that right off of the bat I will be using it for recording of a couple of home security surveillance cameras. The extra 500GB of storage is no big deal to me, I would want to replace the stock drive with a WD Green drive in any event to get power consumption down to the minimum.

This is big news. I will just have to find a buyer for my EX485. If anyone is interested send me a PM.



I am going to try the same thing with 1 axis IP cam. Are yours IP cams as well?


I don't have the cameras yet but am strongly leaning towards Panasonic IP cameras. The only issue I have with them is that audio does not work through Safari and I have all Macs now other than a few work computers. Apparently the audio does work properly if you run XP or Windows 7 under VMWare or Parallels.

Outdoor rated POE Panasonic camera with .3 LUX, onboard memory card storage capability, etc, is about $500. Everything else comparable I have seen is far more expensive. I would have to spend about another $200 for the Panasonic recording software but it is supposed to work very very well on a mid-level PC.... one of the nice things it does is let you specify separate hard disk usage on a rotating buffer per camera.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group