It is currently Wed Apr 14, 2021 5:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 28  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:16 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
He posted a link @ the top of page 6 on this thread...

Here you go.

http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configu ... 800D2N6/4G

http://www.google.com/products/catalog? ... ps-sellers

This is the PDF spec sheet: http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/KVR800D2N6_4G.pdf

The best price seems to be Newegg, but it is not cheap, $146.99, not for everyone :(

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:16 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10721
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 626
Thanked: 926 times in 881 posts
bradyholt, I'm glad you've experienced an improvement in the performance of your server. I have to agree with TH on this, though. If your server isn't utilizing the available physical RAM, then simply increasing the amount of memory should have no meaningful impact on performance unless you've installed faster RAM and the system is able to utilize the faster memory. It's obvious from your screenshots that the server is using the Physical Address Extension (PAE) feature in order to make the full 4GB available to the OS. We can argue placebo effects and all sorts of other extenuating details, but without empirical evidence I think you'll have a hard time convincing many of us that the memory increase of 2GB to 4GB provides any meaningful performance improvement.

But again, ultimately it only matters that you're experiencing your server performing the best that it can, so I'm happy to hear that you're enjoying it so much. :encore:

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:48 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Yakuza, Server always uses PAE feature when more than 2 gig of memory is installed. However, I don't see the same memory available as Bradyholt. Must be the difference between AMD and Intel.


Attachments:
memory.JPG
memory.JPG [ 31.91 KiB | Viewed 8431 times ]

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:02 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
bradyholt wrote:
Texas-Hansen wrote:
While WHS "recognizes" 4gb of RAM, WHS as as a 32-bit OS cannot use all 4gb. It tends to make use of around a little over 3gb depending on some factors. So, the effective gain in memory is a little over 1gb. While there is no doubt there is some performance gain IF your system demands exceed 2gb, you have to decide whether the cost of the 4gb stick is worth that gain. For most users, the cost outweighs the benefit since most users' demands do not exceed the 2 gb in the MSS.



Not fully correct. WHS was designed a bit differently and can use a max of 4GB. From the website:

Physical Memory Limits: Windows Home Server
Windows Home Server is available only in a 32-bit edition. The physical memory limit is 4 GB.

Here again I must state I definitely noticed the whole machine was much quicker in just about everything. From loading the console, to logging in to remote, to checking the event viewer. Now decoding anything that was more dependent on the CPU and write speed of the drives. But overall use of the OS was faster. I had the 2GB with the E8500 for about a week and then added the 4GB and it was definitely quicker to load anything.

I do hope they decide to move on with this and make a 2008R2 so we could really see the benefits of 64bit and dual channel memory.

The physical memory limit may be 4 GB but that does NOT mean that a 32-bit OS can address it all! (Not uncommon for some specs to read like that.)

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:41 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok, I am confused on the processor upgrade. I have a 490, but I eventually want to use it for media streaming, etc. Right now I use it for backups, storage of family pics, etc.


What is the way to go to upgrade the processor? I have seen e7500, e6300,etc......what is the most stable and safe thing to do for this?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:18 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:55 pm
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 4 times in 3 posts
Quote:
Ok, I am confused on the processor upgrade. I have a 490, but I eventually want to use it for media streaming, etc. Right now I use it for backups, storage of family pics, etc.


What is the way to go to upgrade the processor? I have seen e7500, e6300,etc......what is the most stable and safe thing to do for this?



I think the e6300 and the e5200 are the popular and safest choices. Several of us went with the e7500 route. I have the e7500 for a week now. Temps are in control and things are stable.


DCT

_________________
EX470 w/ 2GB RAM + TR4M: 4.5TB
EX490 w/ e7500 + TR5M: 9TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:11 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:40 am
Posts: 59
Thanks: 17
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
danny.ct wrote:
Quote:
Ok, I am confused on the processor upgrade. I have a 490, but I eventually want to use it for media streaming, etc. Right now I use it for backups, storage of family pics, etc.


What is the way to go to upgrade the processor? I have seen e7500, e6300,etc......what is the most stable and safe thing to do for this?



I think the e6300 and the e5200 are the popular and safest choices. Several of us went with the e7500 route. I have the e7500 for a week now. Temps are in control and things are stable.


DCT

Hi Danny, did you use the heatsink and fan that came with the e7500? (I'm assuming that you bought the "retail" package that has the stock heatsink and fan)
I currently have the LX195, but I need at least a 2-2.5 ghz processor to run a DRC softare called Inguz. I will either scratch build a server (never done that!), or buy and mod a 490. This is the purpose of my question.
TIA
John M

_________________
Using the HP LX195 MSS to stream digital music to Logitech's Transporter, SqueezeBox Duet and SqueezeBox Boom.
:boxster:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:16 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
JMarshall wrote:
Hi Danny, did you use the heatsink and fan that came with the e7500? (I'm assuming that you bought the "retail" package that has the stock heatsink and fan)
I currently have the LX195, but I need at least a 2-2.5 ghz processor to run a DRC softare called Inguz. I will either scratch build a server (never done that!), or buy and mod a 490. This is the purpose of my question.
TIA
John M

The MSS uses proprietary passive heatsink, and there are no aftermarket heatsinks/fans currently available. As such, the stock Intel heatsink won't fit, either.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 3:37 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 504
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 39 times in 31 posts
akgem wrote:
JMarshall wrote:
Hi Danny, did you use the heatsink and fan that came with the e7500? (I'm assuming that you bought the "retail" package that has the stock heatsink and fan)
I currently have the LX195, but I need at least a 2-2.5 ghz processor to run a DRC softare called Inguz. I will either scratch build a server (never done that!), or buy and mod a 490. This is the purpose of my question.
TIA
John M

The MSS uses proprietary passive heatsink, and there are no aftermarket heatsinks/fans currently available. As such, the stock Intel heatsink won't fit, either.


So it sounds like you are saying that you just used the MSS stock passive heatsink and found that it could handle the cpu load?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:00 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
jmpage2 wrote:
So it sounds like you are saying that you just used the MSS stock passive heatsink and found that it could handle the cpu load?

That's correct. Actually, from what I've seen in my testing, it seems like the E6300 runs slightly cooler than the stock Celeron.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:07 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 5:58 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
SO whats the verdict on what processor is best? E5200, E5300, E6300, E7500, E8200? Opinion on which is the best performance for the money? If the price doesn't matter, is the E8200 any performance over the others? Microcenter has the E8200 for $99.99 in an advertisement. Don't know if my local Microcenter stocks it.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:20 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
WEED099 wrote:
SO whats the verdict on what processor is best? E5200, E5300, E6300, E7500, E8200? Opinion on which is the best performance for the money? If the price doesn't matter, is the E8200 any performance over the others? Microcenter has the E8200 for $99.99 in an advertisement. Don't know if my local Microcenter stocks it.


I used an E5300 I had lying around (from an HP PC I upgraded with a Q9550). I have been attempting to get an E8200 from the local MicroCenter (Cambridge, MA), they have been out all week. More stock is supposed to be arriving early next week, at least that's the story they are telling.

The E8200 or the E8400 will work fine, it will run a little on the hot side, but should be within the specs for the processor. The E8XXX has 6MB of cache, versus the E75XX with 3MB cache.
I would not attempt any of the Quad cores, even the "S" series run at closer to the 95W ratings than they do to their supposed 65W ratings. Stay with a 65W processor and you will be fine.

If you are a big spender, you can go for the 4GB single DIMM module, although it will cost you more than the E8200 prcoessor, and I'm not convinced you will get that much better performance from the 4GB vs the stock 2GB.

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:20 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:44 pm
Posts: 123
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 8 times in 8 posts
Just ordered the last E8200 that MicroCenter had in stock here in Houston, wish me luck :banana: ....

Mike

_________________
Follow Me On Twitter: ThatGeekGuy
Tech News, Great Buys, Reviews & More....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:22 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Should work with no problem. my local microcenter still has no stock, arrrg.
If you get the E8200 and change your mind, let me know, I will take it off your hands :)

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 3:56 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:44 pm
Posts: 123
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 8 times in 8 posts
mitch672 wrote:
Should work with no problem. my local microcenter still has no stock, arrrg.
If you get the E8200 and change your mind, let me know, I will take it off your hands :)

Mitch


Thanks for the offer, you're too kind :rofl: ....

There's a seller on fleabay selling OEM E8200 CPUs for $90 with free shipping. Good feedback, appears to have quite a few. Wished I'd checked there first, could have saved about $20. According to Intel's website the retail version has been discontinued, so OEM may be the best (and only) bet going forward. You're not going to use the heatsink and fan in the retail package anyway. The only downside is OEM 1yr warranty vs. 3yr retail, but that's certainly not a dealbreaker....

Mike

_________________
Follow Me On Twitter: ThatGeekGuy
Tech News, Great Buys, Reviews & More....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group