It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:18 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 28  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 5:26 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:34 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Had some time to re-seat the HS and decided to buy a new tube osf AS5.

Using Speedfan along with Console Monitor.

1st try got me 70C ...EEKS.

took it apart again.

Now running idle around 50c speedfan and 47 consule.

I might just stop here unless one you guys think I should try again.

Another quick update:

Put all the trays back in and teh top cover and now the chip is idle around 38C (Consule temp) Woot.

That will do Pig, that will do.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:45 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:41 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Hi,

I am a newbie to this community and bought my first ex490 last week.

Following this discussion, I upgraded it with E7500.
5 min to do it.

The result is 37°C at idle and 67°C after 45min of full load for the 2 cores.

I really enjoy the change and the server.

Docles


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:55 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:44 pm
Posts: 123
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 8 times in 8 posts
docles wrote:
Following this discussion, I upgraded it with E7500.
5 min to do it.


5 minutes? Dang, you should be on a Nascar pit crew! :P

Mike

_________________
Follow Me On Twitter: ThatGeekGuy
Tech News, Great Buys, Reviews & More....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:14 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:06 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Bloomingdale, IL
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 9 times in 3 posts
docles wrote:
Hi,

I am a newbie to this community and bought my first ex490 last week.

Following this discussion, I upgraded it with E7500.
5 min to do it.

The result is 37°C at idle and 67°C after 45min of full load for the 2 cores.

I really enjoy the change and the server.

Docles
New EX490 and already ripped it's innards out to upgrade the processor - you guys have some real kahoonies. Would love to get a little more pep in the step of my 490, but know that 5 minute project would turn into a nightmare of troubleshooting for me ;)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:15 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10702
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 919 times in 875 posts
Hey Bob, you should add your location to your profile, you never know when you might have a neighbor on the forums that would be willing to help you out! :)

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:33 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Alex has a nice guide, with photos on how to take apart the EX490/EX495, it isn't really that hard, except be carefull you don't strip the heads on the 2 tiny screws. I took mine apart already, it't not really a big deal.

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2009/09 ... -hardware/

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:04 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:02 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have my ex490 under the Christmas tree and have the additional 1TB drive and new e8200 processor sitting right next to me waiting for the new toy so I can put them in. I will have memory this week too so that when Christmas comes I can tear apart my new toy and build it how I want it. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 6:37 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
paulbridges02 wrote:
I have my ex490 under the Christmas tree and have the additional 1TB drive and new e8200 processor sitting right next to me waiting for the new toy so I can put them in. I will have memory this week too so that when Christmas comes I can tear apart my new toy and build it how I want it. :mrgreen:



Welcome to the forums and congrats on the new MSS waiting under the Christmas tree.

If you have any questions, let us know and we'll do our best to help.

What memory are you upgrading to?

A good recommendation of John Bicks and one I agree with is to get it up and running for a few days in the out of the box condition to make sure it's working properly before introducing new things that could complicate any troubleshooting necessary.

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:57 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:13 am
Posts: 430
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 25 times in 25 posts
So is the process of opening up the EX490 the same as it was for the EX470?
I put a 2.6Ghz CPU in the EX470 with no issues.
I just purchased an EX490 and an E6300 CPU that I plan on installing. For $80 that seemed like a good price, and it seems like there aren't any heat issues with that speed either.
Although I just saw where Newegg has some open box EX495 units. If I would have seen that earlier I would have rather gone that route and not have had to deal with opening it up.

_________________
3TB MSS EX490(upgraded CPU-E6300(2.8Ghz dual core Pentium)),
4GB memory
53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:59 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:49 pm
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
All,

Happy Holidays!!!

New to the site and a proud owner of a EX490. After following this tread i decided to upgrade the CPU to a E7500.

I'm happy to report that all is well and functioning with both cores present. Temps are within spec.

Harty01 :sanjuan:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:55 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 12:10 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I upgraded my EX490 yesterday with the E8400 & some AS5. This thing is so much faster what a difference :cheers: . I have been monitoring the tempatures & it is running a little hotter but still OK I think. I have included 2 screenshots of CPUID with the temps. It had a high temp of 70C with a room tempature of 70F. This was while converting a video & backing up a computer at the same time. I also enabled a non duplicated folder to duplicate just to try & push it as hard as possible.

Attachment:
File comment: 70F room temp with a 70C CPU max temp
70 70a.jpg
70 70a.jpg [ 77.61 KiB | Viewed 7110 times ]


My problem is this room is always much hotter than 70 (had to open 2 windows on Christmas in NY to get the room to 70F), It is ussally in the 80s. when monitoring the temps while the room temp was 84F I saw the CPU temps hit 75C

Attachment:
File comment: 84F room 75C CPU
75 85a.jpg
75 85a.jpg [ 76.94 KiB | Viewed 7110 times ]


Whats the hottest acceptable CPU temp for the E8400?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:21 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
according to the intel specification PDF (318732.pdf), page 79, at the power level of 65Watts, maximum recomended is 72.4C, however, I would not worry too much about it, I just upgraded my EX490 from an E5300 (had it around), to an E8400, mine is running at 72C (PECI) right now, at nearly %100 CPU load, the HP video converter is putting a full load on the 490 right now, fans are running at 2200 rpm or so. That is only during full load.. the CPU with PECI will cycle down, to not exceed the maxium allowed temp, and it will speed up the fans to higher RPMs to cool the chip as well.

As the power goes up, the chip tempature goes up, so during video conversion, the temp is going to be high.

Intel Spec sheet for E7000 and E8000 CPUs: http://download.intel.com/design/proces ... 318732.pdf

Also, I just connected the Video/Kyb/Mouse cable, and was able to get into the BIOS, the memory speed is adjustable to 1066 (manually or SPD), there is no voltage adjustment however... and you can also set the memory timming parameters manually as well


Attachments:
PC260017.JPG
PC260017.JPG [ 562.72 KiB | Viewed 7092 times ]
PC260018.JPG
PC260018.JPG [ 631.81 KiB | Viewed 7092 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:31 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
I bit the bullet and ordered an E6300 from Newegg yesterday. The Celeron 450 is underwhelming, and usually pegged near 100%. Memory and network loads are all under control leaving this craptastic Celeron as the weakest link. I have an 8-core Nehalem machine for video transcoding (16 cores with hyperthreading - and Handbrake lights them all up), so I think an E6300 will be more than adequate for the MHS server.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:53 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:44 pm
Posts: 123
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 8 times in 8 posts
Mitch.

While you were in the BIOS, did you see any settings for fan speed control? There's someone looking for that info before breaking down and buying a monitor cable.

I guess I'll be buying/building one for myself, would be nice to make a few adjustments 'behind the curtain' if I upgrade to faster RAM....

Mike

_________________
Follow Me On Twitter: ThatGeekGuy
Tech News, Great Buys, Reviews & More....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 1:20 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
yes, there are adjustments for fan speed control (fan1 and fan2), but they are rather cryptic, such as the percentage of PWM etc, I don't think you should really mess with them, as HP has set them for what I assume is their optimal values. You could run the risk of overheating the system, if you mess with the values, I wouldn't do it..

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 410 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 28  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group