It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:31 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2017 5:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:04 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hope someone might be able to help... I'm in Pickering UK and I've had an EX490 from new. I've fitted new system discs twice in the past when they have failed and various other secondary data discs. The other day it locked up when I was accessing it. No form of reboot/ factory reset could wake it up again without the red (operating system faliour) indicator.
So I purchased and formatted a new 2TB disc and put it in the '0' positon, connected it direct to my PC via ethernet (no other network involved). Ran the black 'Software Installation Disc' and the utility to conect to the server. Ran it about 20 times. Always get the same message that the wizard cannot locate the server. Server ethernet symbol on front lights up so it must be seeing something. I even tried USB to USB in the hope it might see it but... nothing.
Was just about to throw in the towel and bin the server when I found this site so here's hoping someone has a magic wand handy....
Cheers,
Steve.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 6:52 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
Silly question did you do the paperclip in the tiny hole on the lower front of the server first?
And if so did the server go into recovery mode?

Other than that you could try checking for network connections on the pc to see if it can see the server at all.

The only time I have ever had this issue was when not direct connected, or had reserved a static ip for the server.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
SteeVeeDee
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:04 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yeah I tried the paperclip thing a load of times. I think there is a hardware falioure in the server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 12:50 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
well there very well could be a hardware issue.

But did it go into recovery mode?

when it boots it starts blinking red .
That is when you immediately insert the paperclip.
After the paperclip is used.
It should have been blinking violet if it went into recovery mode.

for me I turn it on while the paperclip is inserted and repeatedly keep pressing the paper clip till I see the violet led.

If you wait to long you need to start over.

FYI,
many times I have had to reboot a few times to get the server in recovery mode.
otherwise the recovery cd will not work.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
SteeVeeDee
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 5:41 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:04 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Switch it on-
Blinking blue/red status light (reset button pressed)
Get blinking violet for minute or two
Network light comes on
Red status light.
-sometimes I get alternating flashing blue/ red status light

-Get same sequence of lights if I don't press the reset button too.

-Computer connected via ethernet cable direct - software cannot find server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 8:56 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
Just checking to be sure, as you said you have done recoveries before:
You said you used the 'Software Installation Disc' I assume you meant the "Server recovery Disc" ?
The 'Software Installation Disc' comes after the server recovery.
Usb to Usb will do nothing, fyi.

If you are using the correct disc, some things to try:
1) you could attach it to a router, boot it up in recovery mode and see if it grabs an IP, this would let you know the nic is good.
2) boot the client up in safemode with networking helps sometimes. Laptop would need the wireless nic disabled.
3) copy the contents of the server recovery disc to the client desktop sometimes helps.
4) to get into recovery mode I always wait for 3 sets of lights Red/Blue - Red/Blue - Red/Blue press and release tiny button.
5) i have seen mixed success depending on what OS the client is, seems like XP or Win7 do better at performing a server recovery. I keep an old XP laptop just for recoveries, works every time.
6) sometimes it just takes a few tries, i always take the drive out and re-format and delete the partition if one was created on the previous attempt each time I try again.
7) lastly if you have another client try that one
If all else fails, try pulling all the drives out (making sure you know which drive is which) and try the server recovery with just the new drive, maybe you have another drive causing problems.
Performing a server recovery is a hit or miss thing, sometimes it goes the first try, sometimes it is a struggle.

At any rate, hope this helps.

Good Luck and enjoy....

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
SteeVeeDee
PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2017 12:57 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
Duh!!!!

I just noticed after reading your first post three times,you said you used the black cd.
It should be the white cd labeled server recovery.
The white one formats the drive and installs the OS
The black cd is to install the connector on the pc.
So if you did not use the white cd first then there is not a folder to grab the connector software.
That would be true since the server is not running.

Fyi,
The blue cd is to restore a pc from backups.

I hope it was just a simple mistake(brain fart).

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
SteeVeeDee
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 5:47 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 5:04 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
"You said you used the 'Software Installation Disc' I assume you meant the "Server recovery Disc" ?""

No.... I did mean 'Software Installation Disc'................ It appears I was USING THE WRONG DISC!!! :oops: :oops: :oops: . Apparantly I had placed it in a safe place and had not discovered it, just the 'Software Installation Disc' which I assumed was what I needed to use!!!!!!!!! #-o
So......... I tried using the "Server recovery Disc" and guess what???
Step 3 of 4 failed due to 'unidentified error'. ](*,)
But then I remembered I have had this error before so I kept trying and.........eventually..........after about a dozen attempts.......
:banana:
Many many thanks.... I was just about to bin the unit! :cheers:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 9:38 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
Awesome! While we don't perform a recovery everyday, it was an honest mistake and at least you had all of your discs which seems to be hard for a lot of people. Sadly...
Glad to hear you were able to complete your task.

Good Luck and enjoy!!

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
SteeVeeDee
PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
wait till you wipe the wrong three 2tb disks and need to repopulate it with a questionable backup.
Then you will feel bad.
It happens to all of us sooner or later that we do stupid human tricks.
Just be happy that all you needed to do was re-install the os.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group