It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:56 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:24 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:59 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
EX495 won't boot. Health light stays on red/white, no blinking. Tried removing drives, no change. Can anyone help?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 3:19 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1053
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 137 times in 136 posts
Well first hint is a bad system drive.
Pull the drive out of the bottom bay and connect it to your desktop and run a chkdsk.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
CHK
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 4:51 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:59 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks, but I already did that. The health light just stays on red/white, no blinking, and there is no communication to the computer, so it is not possible to rescue the system drive, etc.


Last edited by CHK on Thu Jul 07, 2016 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:26 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
I have never heard of a red/white solid. That is a new one for me.
Do you have other drives in the system and if so have you checked them all?

If all else fails, I would get a new 1-2 tb drive, pull all the others out (marking the bottom) so it gets back where it has to be.
Then install that new drive in the bottom bay and try to do a factory reset. And see how that goes.

If you have not done a reset, let us know and we can walk you through it. It's possible you could have a bad power supply or even a bad server, but lets hope it's just something with the drives.

Good luck

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
CHK
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:28 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:59 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for the quick response. I have removed all the drives and put a brand new drive in slot #1. I still get the same sequence: when I turn it on, there is a quick red flash of all the empty drive lights, then a short blue blink of the health drive, and then a solid red blue light in the health drive. There is no light on in the center light, the lan light, so I can't do a factory reset. Would it help if I sent a picture of the lights in this state?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:58 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
Yes, a pic might help. It sounds like the server is dead, but hope not.
Good luck
p.s. if you turn on hidden files and folders you would be able to see what data is on those drives and copy it off to something else if needed.
No cut n paste, just copy off.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
CHK
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2016 8:06 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:59 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have no need to preserve the data on the old drives. How do I send you a picture?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 7:13 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
No pic is ok. If you do not care about the data.
I would pull all of the drives out except the bottom drive.
I would direct connect the server via cat5 cable to a pc win xp or win 7 would be the easiest.
Then put the server recovery cd in that pc and run it.
It will tell you to turn on the server and wait for the red/white red/white red/white 93 times) then press and release the tiny button in the tiny hole in the front middle with a paperclip.

At this point your red/white light should turn a purple/blueish color, then click ok on the pc software and see if it proceeds to find the server and complete the server install.

If you have problems, sometimes virus software can get in the way.

I'm just thinking, let's pretend that the hardware is ok and it just needs to be loaded.
Let us know how that goes.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
CHK
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:19 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:59 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Tried it. The status, or health light, does not blink, it just remains a solid red/white color. Any ideas? Another question, while I am at it. Will the restoration disks from the mediasmart server work on the media vault unit?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 4:02 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2117
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
Well, if all you can get is red/white, I would have to say broken, sorry.
I am pretty sure it would not work on vault.

Good Luck. sorry to hear.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
CHK
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group