It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:32 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:32 am 
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

I have an ex490 upgraded to a E6300 2.8 dual core processor currently running WHSv1 with 2gb of RAM. It's only backing up one computer (Windows 7) but also functions as my media server, with Plex running as a service on it. The only drive in there is the 1tb system drive (I know.. not smart).

As I want to upgrade my main computer from Windows 7 to Windows 10, I guess it's time to upgrade from v1. Also, although Plex currently runs fine on v1, I've had to run it in classic mode, which does not have as much security as current versions of Plex server.

So, as a relative newbie, I'm wondering what my choices are. I assume I can upgrade to newer versions of WHS (which one?) but also see posts about people putting Windows 8 or even Windows 10 on there. Would my unit run either of those and what would be the advantages of putting one of those on there rather than a newer version of WHS?

Ultimately, I guess I'm looking for the most simple and least painless upgrade path that will allow me to back up my Windows 10 files (manually is fine) and also run my Plex media server. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:21 pm 
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

It's my understanding that WHS v1 will backup a win 10 client without doing anything.
I plan on running whs v1 as long as I can. I am not going to upgrade to win 10 on any of my 10 clients so that will help.
As far a Plex, I have not used it, I use serviio so can't offer anything on that.

But you know that a 2 tb drive is pretty cheap these days to add to your pool and turn on Duplication on your shares.
I mostly use the 2 tb Red WD drives, they are plug in and go as far as I have known.