It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:39 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:20 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I bought one Western Digital Sentinel DS5100 to replace both of my EX495 units. But I paid only $1,900 for mine :D

The Sentinel runs Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials, which provides a backup service similar to that of WHS. This will be the only use for the Sentinel, to back up ~20 client PCs.

Is there an easy way to turn one of my EX495 units into an offsite backup for the Sentinel? Bonus points if I can do the initial backup on the LAN, in the office, and then do incremental backups over the internet once I've moved it to the remote site (probably my house).

I'm not opposed to installing some new software on them as long as it doesn't cost too much.

Thanks!

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:02 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
It looks like Crashplan would fit the bill exactly, if I can get it installed and running on my EX495.

I tried installing Crashplan 4.2.0 on my EX495, but it fails at startup with "Unable to connect to backup engine, retry?"

I tried starting the Crashplan service, but the Service Manager just says, "The CrashPlan Backup Service service on Local Computer started and then stopped."

I've tried repairing the installation and reinstalling, to no avail.

Are there any other steps I need to take to be able to run other software on this machine?

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:28 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
What version of Windows are you running on the EX495 now? Can you check the Application event log for errors? Is CrashPlan stopping on its own, or is the service crashing? I have CP running on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012 R2 and Mac OS X. I've used it a few years now and love it.

You can also check in C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\log to see the CrashPlan logs. Here's an example of my service_output.log file:

Code:
[05.28.15 21:26:00.580 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Locale changed to English
[05.28.15 21:26:00.580 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[05.28.15 21:26:00.580 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[05.28.15 21:26:00.580 INFO    main                 root                                    ] STARTED CrashPlanService
[05.28.15 21:26:00.580 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CPVERSION = 4.2.0 - 1425276000420 (2015-03-02T06:00:00:420+0000) - Build: 61
[05.28.15 21:26:00.590 INFO    main                 root                                    ] LOCALE = English
[05.28.15 21:26:00.590 INFO    main                 root                                    ] ARGS = CrashPlanService
[05.28.15 21:26:00.590 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[05.28.15 21:26:01.101 INFO    main                 root                                    ] BEGIN Loading Configuration
[05.28.15 21:26:01.421 INFO    main                 root                                    ] BEGIN Copy Custom
[05.28.15 21:26:01.421 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Directories: [.Custom, custom, C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\.Custom, C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\custom]
[05.28.15 21:26:01.421 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   NOT waiting for custom skin to appear
[05.28.15 21:26:01.421 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   NO customizations found.
[05.28.15 21:26:01.421 INFO    main                 root                                    ] END Copy Custom
[05.28.15 21:26:01.421 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CpsFoldersMigrate is not necessary. C:\Program Files\CrashPlan\conf\my.service.xml file does not exists.
[05.28.15 21:26:01.431 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading from default: C:\Program Files\CrashPlan\conf\default.service.xml
md564 Loaded.
[05.28.15 21:26:01.521 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading from my xml file=C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\conf\my.service.xml
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading ServiceConfig, newInstall=false, version=6, configDateMs=1429414690923, installVersion=1364274000353
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   No change for service.log. oldPattern=C:/ProgramData/CrashPlan/log/service.log, defaultLocation=C:/Program Files/CrashPlan/log
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   No change for history.log. oldPattern=C:/ProgramData/CrashPlan/log/history.log, defaultLocation=C:/Program Files/CrashPlan/log
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   No change for backup_files.log. oldPattern=C:/ProgramData/CrashPlan/log/backup_files.log, defaultLocation=C:/Program Files/CrashPlan/log
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   No change for restore_files.log. oldPattern=C:/ProgramData/CrashPlan/log/restore_files.log, defaultLocation=C:/Program Files/CrashPlan/log
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   OS = Windows
[05.28.15 21:26:01.683 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Add APPDIR to systemExcludes, appDir=C:/ProgramData/CrashPlan/
[05.28.15 21:26:01.833 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   AuthorityLocation@862463384[ location=central.crashplan.com:443, hideAddress=false ]
[05.28.15 21:26:01.843 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Checking Java memory heap max.
[05.28.15 21:26:01.843 INFO    main                 root                                    ]     Previous Java memory max heap size was 1024
[05.28.15 21:26:01.843 INFO    main                 root                                    ] END Loading Configuration


If you're running an XP-based operating system, including WHS v1, then you'll need to look in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users instead of C:\ProgramData.

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank msawyer91 for this post
stevenkan
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:58 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
msawyer91 wrote:
What version of Windows are you running on the EX495 now? Can you check the Application event log for errors? Is CrashPlan stopping on its own, or is the service crashing? I have CP running on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012 R2 and Mac OS X. I've used it a few years now and love it.

You can also check in C:\ProgramData\CrashPlan\log to see the CrashPlan logs. Here's an example of my service_output.log file:

[snip]

If you're running an XP-based operating system, including WHS v1, then you'll need to look in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users instead of C:\ProgramData.


Thanks! It's running WHS v1. The CrashPlan\log directory only has ui_error.log (empty) and ui_output.log seems to show just a normal installation:
Code:
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] STARTED CrashPlanDesktop
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CPVERSION = 4.2.0 - 1425276000420 (2015-03-02T06:00:00:420+0000) - Build: 61
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] ARGS      = waitForCustom=false
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] LOCALE    = English (United States)
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] JVM       = Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (1.7.0_45-b18, 32-bit)
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] OS        = Windows 2003 Service Pack 2 (5.2, x86)
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] User      = Administrator, C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] swt.library.path = C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\.cpswt
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] SWT library deleted: C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\.cpswt\swt-gdip-win32-4427.dll
[06.01.15 14:19:29.578 INFO    main                 root                                    ] SWT library deleted: C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\.cpswt\swt-win32-4427.dll
[06.01.15 14:19:29.593 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Loading lib\swt.jar, exists=true
[06.01.15 14:19:29.593 INFO    main                 root                                    ] [file:/C:/Program%20Files/CrashPlan/lib/com.backup42.desktop.jar, file:/C:/Program%20Files/CrashPlan/lang/, file:/C:/Program%20Files/CrashPlan/skin/, file:/C:/Program%20Files/CrashPlan/, file:/C:/Program%20Files/CrashPlan/lib/swt.jar]
[06.01.15 14:19:30.046 INFO    main                 com.backup42.desktop.model.ConfigModel  ] ConfigModel.loaded=false
[06.01.15 14:19:30.046 INFO    main                 com.backup42.desktop.model.ConfigModel  ] ConfigModel.configDateMs=null
[06.01.15 14:19:30.390 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CpdFolders: appData = C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\CrashPlan/
[06.01.15 14:19:30.390 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CpdFoldersMigrate is not necessary. C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\CrashPlan\my.ui.properties file does not exists.
[06.01.15 14:19:30.390 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Log file: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\CrashPlan/log/ui.log


Event Viewer also shows nothing interesting.

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:30 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
Open a ticket with the folks at Code 42. It's very possible they no longer support the WHS v1 platform, since it's an XP-based operating system.

Something else to try -- install the latest version of Java that you can. CrashPlan uses Java, so it may be that you have a really old version of Java installed, if you've got Java installed at all.

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:35 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
msawyer91 wrote:
Open a ticket with the folks at Code 42. It's very possible they no longer support the WHS v1 platform, since it's an XP-based operating system.

Something else to try -- install the latest version of Java that you can. CrashPlan uses Java, so it may be that you have a really old version of Java installed, if you've got Java installed at all.


Yeah, the version or lack of Java could be the cause. Does anyone know the correct version/flavor of Java to install, and do I need to change the default installation directory?

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:38 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
You should just be able to grab the latest version of Java 7 from java.com. Yes, Java 7 is OLD, but, according to Sun, since Microsoft stopped supporting the XP platform, Java has done so as well, as you can see here: http://www.java.com/en/download/win_sysreq-sm.jsp

In any event, try grabbing the latest available version of Java 7 in 32-bit format. You won't be able to install 64-bit Java. Get Java installed and reboot, and see if that helps.

Before installing Java, go into Add/Remove Programs on your server and uninstall any other installations of Java, reboot, then install Java 7.

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:04 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hmmm. I tried installing Java 7, and that didn't work, so then I installed Java 8, and that didn't work, either.

Another route I'm considering is running FreeNAS on the box. The good part about that option is that FreeNAS is still being updated, and since I'd be booting from Flash, it's non-destructive, and I can switch back to WHS any time.

Anyone using a MSS as a FreeNAS box?

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 9:24 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:08 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
stevenkan wrote:
Hmmm. I tried installing Java 7, and that didn't work, so then I installed Java 8, and that didn't work, either.

Another route I'm considering is running FreeNAS on the box. The good part about that option is that FreeNAS is still being updated, and since I'd be booting from Flash, it's non-destructive, and I can switch back to WHS any time.

Anyone using a MSS as a FreeNAS box?


I don't come this way very often so I missed your original question. I use BTSync (version 1.3.109 specifically, since it's extremely stable and predates the move to a freemium model) to do the syncing. Within our home network, I get about 40mb/s sustained without LAN encryption turned on (it's hidden away in advanced settings). It works very well as an offsite backup since there's no port opening needed and BTSync is available on a number of platforms.

I did try using FreeNAS back in the 8.0 days, couldn't figure out how to use it effectively and so moved over to Hackintoshing it and running OS X + OpenZFS on OSX. The machine has a 4GB module and a $12 Ebay-sourced E8500. It took about 20 minutes to setup and if you have a legal copy of OS X and you're in the market to do that I can help, but it is indeed destructive.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank vnangia for this post
stevenkan
PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:17 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Very interesting! I've Hackintoshed a Dell mini 10v before, but I had no idea it could be done with a MSS.

And I hadn't even considered BTSync.

Does WS2012 R2 Essentials do a "storage balancing" like WHS does/did? Does that muck with backup/sync systems that rely on file dates?

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 10:56 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:24 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
IME you need to bump up the memory requirement for the Java process if you have more than a TB to sync - or lots of tiny files, they say 1M.

http://support.code42.com/CrashPlan/Lat ... expectedly


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 6:47 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2133
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 240 times in 237 posts
A little more work on the front end, but I'm thinking VPN tunnel and a Mapped drive. I would hope the 2012 server could see a network folder as a backup location? Y/N
Good luck, let us know what works for you....Might be good for others...

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:52 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:28 pm
Posts: 53
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
msawyer91 wrote:
Open a ticket with the folks at Code 42. It's very possible they no longer support the WHS v1 platform, since it's an XP-based operating system.

Something else to try -- install the latest version of Java that you can. CrashPlan uses Java, so it may be that you have a really old version of Java installed, if you've got Java installed at all.


I think I'm making progress. I updated Java again, and this time I also edited the CrashPlanService.ini and CrashPlanDesktop.ini files to comment out and replace:

;JRE Path=C:\Program Files\CrashPlan\jre\
JRE Path=C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.8.0_60\

which is where my JRE is installed. Now when I attempt to Start the CrashPlan Backup Service I get a "Could not start the CrashPlan Backup Service on Local Computer. Error 1067: The process terminated unexpectedly."

Previously I just got the "Service started and then stopped" error.

Is this progress? :D

_________________
Never refuse a breath mint.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group