It is currently Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:46 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 9:53 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Thank you very much. The Backplanes a indeed CFI as well.

If Gardian does purchase a San Digital Unit he can compare the numbers from your pictures plus he mentioned something about his Lian Li EX503 enclosure and I wonder if it may have the same backplane.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 2:56 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Man I thought that I read Ruben Rocha saying his 5 bay enclosure only dropped out on WHSv1. I figured since I was using WS2012e I would hook mine back up start my server backups and try it again. I loaded 4 drives into the 5 bay enclosure and wouldn't you know it not even 24hrs later and Im getting watchdog errors from falling out drives. Windows and Drivepool absolutely did not like that. Gardian let us know when you get your enclosure. Looks like Im either getting a new case or new parts.

Great job serverlad, I think this is zwesome. Have you rebooted under esata after initial set up to make sure everything recovers correctly? My enclosure started giving issue on reboot now. I had to remove everything but the server OS back up drive.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 9:31 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
T-Bone wrote:
Man I thought that I read Ruben Rocha saying his 5 bay enclosure only dropped out on WHSv1. I figured since I was using WS2012e I would hook mine back up start my server backups and try it again. I loaded 4 drives into the 5 bay enclosure and wouldn't you know it not even 24hrs later and Im getting watchdog errors from falling out drives. Windows and Drivepool absolutely did not like that. Gardian let us know when you get your enclosure. Looks like Im either getting a new case or new parts.

Great job serverlad, I think this is zwesome. Have you rebooted under esata after initial set up to make sure everything recovers correctly? My enclosure started giving issue on reboot now. I had to remove everything but the server OS back up drive.


Hi T-Bone

Yes rebooted several times and so far no problems, removed drives and add them to the pool again and as I said no problems, touch wood all will be ok


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2014 7:19 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Sweet. I sent my 5-bay unit in for repair while I save up for this unit. I told them about this thread and that there seemed to be a newer firmware then the model I have. He said that there is a new backplane that supports 6Gbps so they are going to swap mine out for this. hopefully this solves my drop out issues and improves stability.

Comp1962 did you ever hear back from sans digital?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2014 12:15 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Hi T-Bone,

Unfortunately I have not heard back from Sans Digital and I had sent out two emails to different parts of the company. Typically they get back to me in a couple days but not this go around.

Hopefully the updated board will resolve your issue. I look forward to hearing how it works out for you. All I know is the drive drop out issue is a major PITA but in the end it did help me build my Highlander Server and its turned out to be one of the best things I have ever built and in July it will be 3 yrs old.

When your unit comes back can you take a picture of the backplane so I can see the board number and BIOS Version. That way if I ever order another backplane I can try to get the one you have if it works out well for you.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:53 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
So i sent in my unit and they tested it and said no issues at all. Which is totally not what I experience here. I asked that they replace the back plane with the 6Gbps one to make sure I get the newest incarnation of the firmware. I can't say this will work or if the faster board will give me any noticeable speed bumps. I should get the unit on tuesday. i can't wait because I would feel safer to be able to start backing up some folders on my server. and be able to move the rest of my data off my old server. I need to give it a reinstall. I broke a few features on WHSv1 trying to so a few things.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 08, 2014 8:57 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Serverlad hows the unit doing? haven't heard anything in a while so Im going to assume no new means good news.

Gardian, where you able to get a unit from sans digital? how did that work out?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:18 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Here is the picks of the new backplane I just got my unit back today.


Attachments:
image-1.jpeg
image-1.jpeg [ 2.2 MiB | Viewed 5066 times ]
image.jpeg
image.jpeg [ 1.89 MiB | Viewed 5066 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Thanks for the pics. Definitely a different animal then what I have seen before. Hopefully your drop out issues will be a thing of the past and I look forward to hearing how it works out for you. Might take a month or two to know for sure but I hope it works out.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:19 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Thanks comp Ill keep you posted


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank T-Bone for this post
Jscholl24
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:17 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi all, been some time since I purchased my unit and so far all is great (touch wood) I was just wondering if anyone else had purchased a unit


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:44 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:22 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hello T-Bone- Did the new Backpane work for you? I am looking at ordering one to replace in my TR5M +B to solve the drop Out issues I am facing.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group