It is currently Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:55 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 1:49 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi Ruben Rocha

Yes that’s why I wouldn’t use higher than 2TB, here are two print-screens of my server me friend

Still got loads of space now but you know I have loads to load onto the server, its finding the time lol

Ta


Attachments:
pic 1.jpg
pic 1.jpg [ 190.11 KiB | Viewed 4232 times ]
Pic 2.jpg
Pic 2.jpg [ 231.3 KiB | Viewed 4232 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 1:55 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi Ruben Rocha

If you pick one of the drives from 4 to 11 I can take print-screens of it being removed if you want mate, will see where all the data goes to

Serverlad


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 2:04 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Just a picture when its doing the Storage Balanced thing :-)

Ta


Attachments:
Pic 3.jpg
Pic 3.jpg [ 230.62 KiB | Viewed 4228 times ]


Last edited by serverlad on Wed May 14, 2014 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 2:09 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
I'm impressed

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Diehard for this post
serverlad
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 2:13 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Diehard wrote:
I'm impressed


Hi Diehard

Thanks friend, its working a dream, and I hope it continues :-)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 3:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
@ serverlad very impressive, I am simply amazed its worked for you and I recognized the PM Bay Location numbers and its cool they are in numerical order the way they are its like that Host is treating the two 4 bay backplane and one large 8 bay backplane because I would of expected to see the numbers change with drive 5-8.

If you would not mind taking one more picture and that is of the front side of the board where the drives connect to I am really curious what that board looks like compared to the CFI Boards I have here.

Please keep us updated on your experience and the one big question everyone would have is with drives dropping out in the pool meaning one or two or when it occurs if it occurs does the entire enclosure drop out and so forth. I do not wish this on you but it would be nice to know if you experience it.

Thanks so much for sharing its been very educational....

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 8:43 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2216
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 250 times in 247 posts
I'm back, some guy in Tennessee flipped a network switch and I lost internet for 3 days.
Anyway, I am buying one of the sans digitals just like it, should do the same thing.
Thx much for the info.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 9:15 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Gardian,

can you post a link to the unit you are looking at getting? I wouldn't mind upgrading my san digital.

This is very exciting. I would greatly rethink going to WS2012e if this is right. Not that I don't like WS2012e but WHS was a nice easy solid system


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2014 9:57 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Damn I would be sooooo annoyed with that but its good to have you back.

Your a brave man there but I hope your experience with the Sans Digital Unit is the same as serverlad and my gut tells me they are the same unit but before I made a purchase like that I would want to hear from the Good Folks at Sans Digital to see what they have to say and for some reason they have not written back me yet so if I do not hear from them by the end of the day I will fire off another email to them because I simply have to know for sure.

But if your anxious to get one then who am I to try to encourage you to be a bit more patient and yet I am just dying to know but my gut tells me I am correct but then Murphy's Law kicks in and anything is possible.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 9:40 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1339
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 173 times in 171 posts
My 5 bay esata sans drops out on occasion. But I use it mostly for backup drives.
I would need to figure out what to do with it if I opted to use this new box for esata.
The bad part is if it drops out using pool drives, The good part if it does I guess I could swap it over to USB
Not preferred but a alternative.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 3:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Connect it to a client and use it as a docking station. It might be a pain to screw the drives into the trays but it should work well for when your working on drive issues for long periods of time because unlike the typical docking station your 5 bay unit will keep the drives cool. That's what I did with my MSS Port Multipliers I built but I have a bunch of the 4 bay units that work well for that task too. My 5 bay unit is just a room ornament of sorts these days.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 7:54 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2216
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 250 times in 247 posts
Mwave.com has the cheapest price I could find: $429.99
http://www.mwave.com/mwave/SKUSearch.asp?scriteria=AA79054&pagetitle=Sans%20Digital%20TR8UT+B%20Black%208%20Bay%20TowerRaid%20SATA%20to%20USB#.U3Vvq3ZjWiQ
plus shipping

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 8:59 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
If the shipping turns out to be more then $30 then Newegg has the better price because theirs is $459.99 with free shipping and you don't get hit with the sales tax. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6816111181

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 8:39 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Comp1962 wrote:
@ serverlad very impressive, I am simply amazed its worked for you and I recognized the PM Bay Location numbers and its cool they are in numerical order the way they are its like that Host is treating the two 4 bay backplane and one large 8 bay backplane because I would of expected to see the numbers change with drive 5-8.

If you would not mind taking one more picture and that is of the front side of the board where the drives connect to I am really curious what that board looks like compared to the CFI Boards I have here.

Please keep us updated on your experience and the one big question everyone would have is with drives dropping out in the pool meaning one or two or when it occurs if it occurs does the entire enclosure drop out and so forth. I do not wish this on you but it would be nice to know if you experience it.

Thanks so much for sharing its been very educational....


Hi friend, thanks for the kind words, here are some pictures of the inside as requested, hope they are ok
Serverlad


Attachments:
IMG_0003.JPG
IMG_0003.JPG [ 6.19 MiB | Viewed 4120 times ]
IMG_0006.JPG
IMG_0006.JPG [ 6.07 MiB | Viewed 4120 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 8:48 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
More Pics


Attachments:
IMG_0007.JPG
IMG_0007.JPG [ 212.58 KiB | Viewed 4115 times ]
IMG_0008.JPG
IMG_0008.JPG [ 220.83 KiB | Viewed 4115 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group