It is currently Mon Jul 06, 2020 6:41 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:13 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Anyone know if this eSATA 8-Bay RAID Station would work with my EX490 server, it uses only one eSATA cable

More details here http://www.sharkoon.com/?q=en/node/2217

Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 1:44 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1399
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 180 times in 178 posts
If you are using WHSv1 then it requires JBOD not Raid
So first impression is no.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:14 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ruben Rocha wrote:
If you are using WHSv1 then it requires JBOD not Raid
So first impression is no.


Hi thanks for getting back to me

I am already using this 4 bay enclosure and its working fine

StarTech.com External SATA RAID Enclosure, details of the one im using is below and with the eSATA cable

Turn 4 SATA hard drives into external RAID storage that connects over USB/FireWire/eSATA. StarTech.com's S354UFER External SATA RAID Enclosure is a high-performance external RAID storage solution, supporting up to 4 high capacity (tested with up to 4TB per bay) 3.5" SATA hard drives (supports SATA, SATA II and SATA III-6Gbps).
The 4-bay RAID enclosure can be connected to the host/source computer through USB, eSATA or FireWire and automatically builds your SATA RAID array based on your selection (Spanning, RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 1+0, RAID 3, and RAID 5 supported), delivering a simple, yet flexible external storage solution.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:39 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1399
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 180 times in 178 posts
Okay semantics.
JBOD is also called spanning.
S354UFER has that feature
I do not see it on the 5 bay enclosure.
I would call the manufacturer and ask does it support jbod.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
serverlad
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:08 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ruben Rocha wrote:
Okay semantics.
JBOD is also called spanning.
S354UFER has that feature
I do not see it on the 5 bay enclosure.
I would call the manufacturer and ask does it support jbod.


Hi again
What is the maximum of HDD that the EX490 Will see in a eSATA enclosure, I was wanting to use the 8 bay model, I was reading a review on Amazon and one person says this
” Despite billing itself as a "Raid Station", its RAID levels are limited. Specifically, it can offer a bunch of single disks (JBOD), a virtual "single large disk" with no redundancy, and two RAID levels”
The JBOD that you said it can’t do, do you think that’s correct
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:35 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1399
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 180 times in 178 posts
I do know others have reported a 8 bay usb works.
But also most have said a 5 bay esata works,That is what I have.
The only issue is the occasional dropout of the drives that require a reboot.
Before the ex49X there was a 4 bay limit for esata.
Most 8 bay esata's require two esata ports.
Which a ex490 only has one port.

As I said call the manufacturer to ask if they support jbod.
Spanning,Large seem to be the same as jbod.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
serverlad
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:52 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
The EX490 has a single eSATA connector that supports port multipliers and can see up to 5 drives. You will have to combine some of the drives in the 8-bay enclosure into a RAID array for WHS to utilize them all. I do not recommend using RAID with the storage pool in WHS v1, only as a backup drive for the shared folders.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
serverlad
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:57 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
The EX490 has a single eSATA connector that supports port multipliers and can see up to 5 drives. You will have to combine some of the drives in the 8-bay enclosure into a RAID array for WHS to utilize them all. I do not recommend using RAID with the storage pool in WHS v1, only as a backup drive for the shared folders.


So basically you are saying it will work
Would is mean all the drives would be one big drive, can that be split into 2 or 3 larger drives
Would the pool system still work on this unit
Sorry for being so dim on this mate


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:23 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
serverlad wrote:
yakuza wrote:
The EX490 has a single eSATA connector that supports port multipliers and can see up to 5 drives. You will have to combine some of the drives in the 8-bay enclosure into a RAID array for WHS to utilize them all. I do not recommend using RAID with the storage pool in WHS v1, only as a backup drive for the shared folders.


So basically you are saying it will work
Would is mean all the drives would be one big drive, can that be split into 2 or 3 larger drives
Would the pool system still work on this unit
Sorry for being so dim on this mate


You know what it is, my sever is running out of space and I know I will have to remove the four Disc’s that I have already on a eSata closure to connect the 8-bay enclosure but I’m worried that I don’t have enough space, may have to delete some files then restore, I have backup and Cloud backup as well


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:36 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi all, still looking for more info on this Sharkoon Station,

If it can work, what way? What configuration will it need to be? Will it take any size drive? Will the drives larger than 2tb be seen by the WHS?

THANKS IN ADVANCE AGAIN

Happy Easter All :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:08 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1399
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 180 times in 178 posts
For whsv1 it will only allow you to add a max 2tb pool/system drive size period.
Because it will format the drive to add it. And whsv1 only supports a max 2tb drive.
Now some of us have had success using a 3tb drive for a backup non pool drive, but not a pool or system drive.
Because you need to format it on a pc and add it without formatting.
But remember that it can't be a system or pool drive.
Gardian tried a 4tb non pool backup drive and at first he had success. But down the road he had some type of issue.
I can't recall what it was.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:55 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
I would not use the 8-bay enclosure, I would get a 4 or 5 bay enclosure and fill it with 2TB drives if you need the space. After that I would go USB. Search will turn up more info on massive storage servers.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
serverlad
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:13 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
I would not use the 8-bay enclosure, I would get a 4 or 5 bay enclosure and fill it with 2TB drives if you need the space. After that I would go USB. Search will turn up more info on massive storage servers.


Thanks for the message, the problem is I already have a 4 bay eSata and a 4 bay USB connected to the server so you can see why I want to use a larger enclosure, thinking of the future


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:23 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1399
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 180 times in 178 posts
Unless you are willing to experiment on going beyond a 5 bay esata.
Then you need to use a usb device.
Which you have three ports left to add to.
So if you are sold on the sharkoon then I suggest.
Buy it and try.
It has a usb as well as a esata connection.
It appears it will work on usb as jbod.
I still would ask sharkoon for verification.
Since they don't list jbod but list large which should be the same.

FYI,
As long as you use whs v1 you still have a per drive limit of 2tb for pool drives and 3-4tb for non pool drives.
And the max of all the pool drives sum is like 31-32 TB as I recall.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
serverlad
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 5:26 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:55 pm
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ruben Rocha wrote:
Unless you are willing to experiment on going beyond a 5 bay esata.
Then you need to use a usb device.
Which you have three ports left to add to.
So if you are sold on the sharkoon then I suggest.
Buy it and try.
It has a usb as well as a esata connection.
It appears it will work on usb as jbod.
I still would ask sharkoon for verification.
Since they don't list jbod but list large which should be the same.

FYI,
As long as you use whs v1 you still have a per drive limit of 2tb for pool drives and 3-4tb for non pool drives.
And the max of all the pool drives sum is like 31-32 TB as I recall.


Hi, well I took your advice, “buy it and try” and I purchased the Sharkoon 8-Bay and its working a dream, used the USB cable and fitted all the 8 drives, took a bit to format them all and the Server seen them all as individual drives, I then added them all to the pool and now I have 12 drives all added to the Server

I powered down both units, took the USB cable off then connected the eSata cable, powered up the units and everything is working great with the eSata cable, I see all drives, added another USB external 4 bay unit with four 3tb drives to back up the shared folders which it is doing just now

Happy fella here :sanjuan:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 87 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group