It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:41 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

Post subject: ex495 Story, Thanks
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 5:31 pm 

Hi All,
I've been a regular reader but quiet participant for quite some time. Thought I ought to share my current story and pass on my thanks for the amazing contributions on the board. I've found it a tremendous resource and chuckle at the tenacity and kindred spirit of so many that are seeking similar goals. I'm a software / tech guy with a fair amount of system build experience. I've dabbled in DAW over the years and hate noise in my computing environment. This has led me down many rabbit holes seeking high performance, large, fast storage and quiet components, a typical 3 options, pick 2, scenario. Add a budget, and it gets even more interesting. I've had many raid arrays in my past. Most have been raid 5 but I've also done some mirroring and striping for performance volumes. I've only had one fail, but it was catastrophic. Two out of 5 drives failed simultaneously taking the whole array down (The heads spluttered across the surface of the 1st platter in both drives). I was backing up the array. Turns out the backups were completing but I'd not tested a restore in quite a while and I could not restore successfully. Forensic cleanroom recovery couldn't even save much. It was an expensive and time-consuming lesson. I'm by no means RAID averse, just more backup careful. Which leads me to the ex495...