It is currently Wed Oct 28, 2020 9:18 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:15 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi,

Has anybody with the video/keyboard cable looked in the EX49X BIOS to see if there is support for RAID 1?
The Intel chipset should support it.

If it is possible, then that would make advanced format 2TB drives with a Vail RC + RAID 1 setup something I'd like to try.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:02 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:52 am
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I have the KVM cable and am considering loading the WHS 2011 RC in a RAID 5 config using the Intel chipset functionality. I need to get another couple of 2 TB disks before I will try this though and that may be a month or two.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:53 pm
Posts: 170
Location: ontario Canada
Thanks: 20
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
RAID 5 would be great, for anybody that has seen the bios, is there a spot for raid setup? how would you configure RAID 5?

_________________
EX 490 with 4GB of memory, E8400 and 8TB of drives.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:26 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:52 am
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I have ordered the additional drives that I need to give this a try. I should have them on Friday or Monday so I should be able to provide my experience by mid to late next week.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:25 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
So does hardware Raid 5 or Raid 1 work?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 4:34 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 11:31 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
The EX490 is one of the best bits of technology I've bought. However, the one thing I've learned is that I doubt I'll buy a bespoke dedicated box ever again as it's too inflexible when the goal posts change.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 9:04 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:15 am
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
I have tried the RAID option on my ex490. I changed the IDE settings to RAID, but here is no BIOS configuration to setup the array/extent. Without the array being setup I could not install WHS2011, except to the individual drives.

_________________
---------------------
John
WHS: HP EX490 (upgraded CPU Q8400S, 4GB RAM), VSS VGA Cable + PS/2, 7x 1.5TB Samsung, and Edgestore 5 bay ESATA
WHS: Tranquil SQA-5H 2000 3x1TB + 2x1.5TB Samsung


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group