It is currently Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:50 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 1:04 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
I hooked up a VGA/PS2 cable to my Acer easyStore H340 and took some pictures of the startup and BIOS screen.


Attachments:
GI0F5887 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5887 (Medium).JPG [ 37.56 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5838 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5838 (Medium).JPG [ 63.8 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5841 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5841 (Medium).JPG [ 54.6 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5843 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5843 (Medium).JPG [ 64.07 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5844 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5844 (Medium).JPG [ 72.88 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5845 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5845 (Medium).JPG [ 48.93 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5846 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5846 (Medium).JPG [ 67.32 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]
GI0F5847 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5847 (Medium).JPG [ 51.46 KiB | Viewed 25863 times ]


Last edited by cakalapati on Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:58 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
Ha! Looks like they even reused the same onboard flash 'SMI' usb disk.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:39 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Would it be possible to post a key by key sequence of how to make external USB drives take precedence over the built in hard drive?

I am trying to avoid paying a lot of money just to be able to change one setting in the BIOS. Though, I wouldn't mind reverse engineering the HD LEDs at some point or maybe make my own cable.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:40 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:11 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
My target is to attach a RAID1 eSATA box and have my system disk run from there, so that I have a fail safe system disk.
Thus I have built myself a cable and I see that my eSATA disk shows up in 3rd place in the BOOT sequence.
So I changed the boot sequence to boot from the eSATA disk at pos. 1, but this seems to be reset when I take off the service jumper.
What happens then is that the H340 boots from the PXE recovery drive.
I tried a system cold installation on the eSATA drive (which worked fine) but the H340 still does not boot from it.

Thus I am wondering what the consequences will be if I change the BOOT sequence and just leave the service jumper in place.

Or is there any other means to get the H340 boot from an external disk?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:11 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Just ordered mine and was thinking about trying openfiler on it but wondering did you need to use any jumpers to activate the keyboard? or was it purely just the video. Also has anyone tried a cheap pci 1x video card? or even the intel DVI adapter?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:29 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:18 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
cakalapati wrote:
I hooked up a VGA/PS2 cable to my Acer easyStore H340 and took some pictures of the startup and BIOS screen.



Hello!

Great screen shots. Could you tell me if you needed to Jumper the H340 in order to get the VGA/PS2 Debug cable working?

Thanks

Kelly


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:09 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Yes! --> link


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:04 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:51 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
latimer wrote:
I tried a system cold installation on the eSATA drive (which worked fine) but the H340 still does not boot from it.

Thus I am wondering what the consequences will be if I change the BOOT sequence and just leave the service jumper in place.

Or is there any other means to get the H340 boot from an external disk?


The Easystore H340 will boot from eSata disk without issue.

1) You need access to bios with Video, so first JP3 needs a jumper. Then you have to build or buy a video cable. You can build the cable for $10 http://happybison.com/reviews/installin ... re-h340-6/
2) Set bios to boot from your OS installation USB.
3) On reboot press F2, enter boot menu and look for your hard drive under "Excluded boot devices", select your eSata drive and use "X" command to add to regular boot menu, then + to move to top of boot menu.
4) Trim appears to be turn on for SSD drives on the eSata port with WHS 2011. JP3 needs to remain with a jumper installed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:10 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:51 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Installed unRAID to the internal usb. Works fine.

Have to edit unRAID's install bat by adding "-f". to make the internal usb bootable.

Sees 3TB drives just fine.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group