It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 6:07 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am 

Hello Fellow Media and Server enthusiasts
I am very new to building computers and require some advice on what you would use to build my dream setup.
I am attempting to build fairly green but also fairly powerful. All of this at a reasonable price preferably under $700 US.

the requirements in order of priority are:
1 This rig will be used to store backups and Geneology files that are extremely important to protect. I would like to use a linux type OS to do a software raid1 backup across multiple 2 TB hdds.
--a Need case capable of holding 6x 3.5inch Hdds+1 CD/dvdplayer and keeping them sufficiently cool accessibility isn't required but might be nice.
--b Decent quality

Not required but nice to haves: (edited this line)
2 I would like this rig to stream media to other computers (all windows based 1 XP home, 2 XP pro, 1 XP MCE, 1 Vista,1 7) and several soon to be available media recievers one of which is the Roku HD media streamer(apps being developed).
a. Hardware must be able to transcode when ever needed for media streaming. Expected max connections are 3HD streams, but most likely 1HD once in a while.
b. Hardware must be able to allow software to check status/create backups for a max of 2 machines at once/ file handling/ unknown.
3 I would like to use the rig for doing scientific and research projects specifically Computaitonal fluid dynamics when not under heavy use. I DON'T expect my research to be so intensive that it needs 4 cores and thunderingly fast computation, but I wouldn't object if all this can be done for under $600. Might want to do this using virtual machines.

Have already:
-- I have the harddrives I plan on using minus a system drive possible or OS of this computer... might use a flash disk or something simple. 2x SATA HDs WD(enterprise green) 2TB. Will get other Hdds as needed.
-- CD/DVD rom
-- Home network