It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:54 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:47 am 

First let me start by saying GREAT SITE!! I have been toying with the idea of building a server for a while and as I continue to grow, it's now more of a necessity. Any advice and or comments regarding my proposed build will be helpful.

Case: Antec Twelve Hundred
Mobo: Asus m2n-??? (don't remember off hand)
CPU: AMD 5000+
PSU: 850 Watt (don't remember manu)
Memory: 4 Gig, DDR2 800
Sata Cont. Card(s): SUPERMICRO AOC-SAT2-MV8 8-port
HDD Cages: Athena Power BP-TL3051SAC (while I would love to go for 4 from the get-go, I will probably only start out with 2)

Currently, I'm running my HTPC with several larger internal drives and 2 4bay USB Enclosures (Venus) for a combined total of about 8+TB. I would keep it connected (hard) to my HTPC so noise is a factor. I am a complete newbie in this endevor but...very eager and somewhat of a "tech geek". It just wouldn't sit right with me going for something like an MSS (although they seem great), but that's just me.

Questions: With regards to WHS, since I wouldn't be running a raid config, how much space would need to be allocated for redundantcy? If I build the system with what I have, how easy/difficult is it to add drives/data once the system is up and running (told ya I was a newbie)? My router is in my office (upstairs) and my HTPC in my living room connected wirelessly. Since I primarily watch Blu-Ray, HD-DVD and High Def material (in general), I thought it would be best to keep the unit connected to my HTPC. I don't think streaming HD content wirelessly would be an option. So, I welcome any questions/comment and/or advice.

Thanks,
g

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:40 am