It is currently Thu Jun 04, 2020 8:13 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 225 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 6:52 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
Silhouette wrote:
I have an ex470 with a 4 bay e-sata and an 8 bay usb (total 18T). I tried the restore a couple of times and it kept doing the same thing. I also tried a fresh install with a new drive and all the drives removed and it worked fine.


Yeah, it definitely sounds like the server recovery process is not picking up the 4/8 bay enclosures. I am not sure how the drivers are handled in this case. I know with a DIY build you need to load the drivers during the recovery otherwise the storage drives won't get recognized. It may be worth starting a separate thread in the troubleshooting section to see if anyone else has had luck with this type of setup

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 10:27 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:17 am
Posts: 36
Location: Delaware
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Actually it is picking up the enclosures. All of the Drives show up in WHS even the drives in the enclosures but I cannot see any data in WHS. WHS says there are data conflicts but there appears to be no resolution. That's why I believe I need to do a clean start and then transfer the data. Do you agree? If so, please give me details on the transfer process.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 10:32 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
Silhouette wrote:
Actually it is picking up the enclosures. All of the Drives show up in WHS even the drives in the enclosures but I cannot see any data in WHS. WHS says there are data conflicts but there appears to be no resolution. That's why I believe I need to do a clean start and then transfer the data. Do you agree? If so, please give me details on the transfer process.


As I mentioned I would suggest starting a new thread that way your issue will stand out and hopefully everyone can help. When I moved to my EX470 to a DIY build the DIY could see all the drives but none of the data was added. This was due to driver errors. Once I fixed the driver errors my pooled data appeared. If your MSS does not load the drivers properly for your enclosures during the recovery it will not add the drives to the pool. You will see the drives after the recover, but with no data.

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 1:20 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 411
Location: Central California
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 24 times in 22 posts
I think Dbone has the right idea.

_________________
Current DIY server DL380 G6 2xquad core 2.8ghz 32GB rdimm ram 512mb 2xHP 410 raid with 2x sas expanders (2 X norco RPC-4220) 48 slots stacked with room to grow.
30TB (Movie/File/Music)Win 2012 essentials 64bit Storage spaces
Ex490 E6400 4gb ram


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:53 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:49 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
hey Chasrobin,

for the power connectors you made...is there any easy way of just pushing the wires in with ur fingers/nails? you used 18g wires right?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:24 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
iceboi714 wrote:
hey Chasrobin,

for the power connectors you made...is there any easy way of just pushing the wires in with ur fingers/nails? you used 18g wires right?


Probably not. You'll need to use a punchdown tool.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:37 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:49 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ahh i see...ive heard of it...don't think i have seen it...guess google time..lol thanks cavediver


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:45 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
iceboi714 wrote:
ahh i see...ive heard of it...don't think i have seen it...guess google time..lol thanks cavediver

You'll need a 110 blade. Most punchdown tools come with a 110 blade.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:33 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:49 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok, I look into that. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:27 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 411
Location: Central California
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 24 times in 22 posts
If you can find the proper tool it's obviously better.
I did not have that for sight.
I actually used a pair of needle nose pliers I have the nose is sort of square, opened the jaws so the nose went on either side of the blade.
It worked very well.

And I used 14awg wire. a bit heavier but worked out ok.
the clips for the plugs are a bit tight.

_________________
Current DIY server DL380 G6 2xquad core 2.8ghz 32GB rdimm ram 512mb 2xHP 410 raid with 2x sas expanders (2 X norco RPC-4220) 48 slots stacked with room to grow.
30TB (Movie/File/Music)Win 2012 essentials 64bit Storage spaces
Ex490 E6400 4gb ram


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:52 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:49 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yea I went to homedepot and found a punchdown tool with a 110 blade. It works great. Though I am using 18 AWG wire...so easier to punch down. I guess u wanted the thicker to get the higher amp rating with all those hard drives.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:07 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
18ga wire is more than sufficient for the 4220.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:32 am 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 411
Location: Central California
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 24 times in 22 posts
Just a bit of a followup and question to other big system owners.
I have seen a minor but annoying issue that seems to impact slower RPM drives.
It's very much what I saw in line with USB drives.
While playing back a blue ray movie and ripping at the same time, if the data is all going through the same controller to the same drive and that drive happens to be a slower RPM drive i.e. 5200-5400rpm
I see an occassional pause in play back, less than a sec but noticable.

I have been keeping notes for quite a while now and 7200rpm drive don't do it.
I don't know about seagate 5900rpm drives as I don't have any, and large cache drive seem to be imune as well.
Luckily I only have three of these and their smaller 1.5TB so it's time to get rid of them.
Also a reminder I may see this convirgence more than some as I only run two controllers vs three for most others.
And nearly all of my drives run off the primary controller.
Just food for thought for those wanting to use expanders, they might want to buy higher RPM drives with larger cache.
Or just avoid writes while watching movies, as no amount of viewing seems to trigger it.

_________________
Current DIY server DL380 G6 2xquad core 2.8ghz 32GB rdimm ram 512mb 2xHP 410 raid with 2x sas expanders (2 X norco RPC-4220) 48 slots stacked with room to grow.
30TB (Movie/File/Music)Win 2012 essentials 64bit Storage spaces
Ex490 E6400 4gb ram


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:43 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Chasrobin wrote:
Just a bit of a followup and question to other big system owners.
I have seen a minor but annoying issue that seems to impact slower RPM drives.
It's very much what I saw in line with USB drives.
While playing back a blue ray movie and ripping at the same time, if the data is all going through the same controller to the same drive and that drive happens to be a slower RPM drive i.e. 5200-5400rpm
I see an occassional pause in play back, less than a sec but noticable.

I have been keeping notes for quite a while now and 7200rpm drive don't do it.
I don't know about seagate 5900rpm drives as I don't have any, and large cache drive seem to be imune as well.
Luckily I only have three of these and their smaller 1.5TB so it's time to get rid of them.
Also a reminder I may see this convirgence more than some as I only run two controllers vs three for most others.
And nearly all of my drives run off the primary controller.
Just food for thought for those wanting to use expanders, they might want to buy higher RPM drives with larger cache.
Or just avoid writes while watching movies, as no amount of viewing seems to trigger it.


I have not seen any of those symptoms using 5200 rpm drives off my Supermicro systems and both use 2 AOC-SAT2-MV8 cards on 133ghz PCIX slots. It could be the bandwidth of the controllers or the processing speed of the cpus(both 4 cores at 2.4ghz or better) but it certainly doesn't seem to me, at least on my systems, to be a problem with 5200rpm drives. I have played 20gig bluerays with demigrator running, copying, etc and no pauses or skipping. Maybe you are overtaxing the cpus with ripping as I know I can get all 4 cores running at 100% if I don't control the background processing priority.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: The Beast is HERE!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:20 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 411
Location: Central California
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 24 times in 22 posts
I don't think its demigrator, or system bottleneck.
To run my test I took an Areca card and only a single drive in the storage pool.
So all traffic would have to go there, I did ripping from a system running an 8x blue ray, q9300, 4gb-ram, 1gb net, vista ultimate, AnydvdHD.
Going to the Beast, single controller, single drive, drive #1 older seagate 1.5tb 5200RPM (8mb Cache) vs newer 2TB hitatchi 7200RPM (Cache unknown Forgot).

Playback system = Acer X3200, 4gb ram, 3GHZ processor/triple core, 64bit Vista home Prem, 1gb net, MCE/Total media theater Plat
Only happens with Blue ray (Ripping and playback), not at all with DVD, demigrator does not seem involved playback pauses randomly for a fraction of a second audio continues as normal.
Playback on a slower system Acer x1200 4gb ram 2.4ghz dual core same exact result.

Perfmon on the Beast shows nothing wrong, CPU (I7-940) 3-4% util, 6gb ram hardly used, even the HDD controller is under utilized, but the hard drive starts to wheeze around 80-90mbs like sata I with spikes up to 150mbs through put.
the 7200rpm drives easily seem to hit 200mbs.
Im wondering perhaps firmware, but I should stress it's extremely rare and random you miss it if you blink.

If I am not ripping, I can playback 4-5 Blue rays at the same time with no pauses.
To me it seems an issue with writing.
My controllers do not have any write cache perhaps my next ones will.

_________________
Current DIY server DL380 G6 2xquad core 2.8ghz 32GB rdimm ram 512mb 2xHP 410 raid with 2x sas expanders (2 X norco RPC-4220) 48 slots stacked with room to grow.
30TB (Movie/File/Music)Win 2012 essentials 64bit Storage spaces
Ex490 E6400 4gb ram


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 225 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 ... 15  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group