MediaSmartServer.net
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/

Andromeda
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=4816
Page 19 of 22

Author:  cavediver [ Thu May 20, 2010 12:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

I went ahead and replaced the defective fans with the same Scythe fans as the ones that went bad, simply because they were readily available at Microcenter and I needed to get some new fans in quick. However, I'm in the process of doing some research trying to find an alternative ball bearing fan with acceptable CFM, static pressure, and low noise. There are a couple, but they're expensive.

Author:  cavediver [ Thu May 20, 2010 12:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

yakuza wrote:
That's really interesting to hear about the fans dying and being able to detect it with Disk Management!


Yes. +1 for the Disk Management Add-in. HDD monitoring and information is one area where WHS and for that matter Vail are very deficient.

Author:  cavediver [ Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Happy Birthday Andromeda

Andromeda is almost 1 year old now. I thought I'd give her a little birthday present so I added 4 more 2TB drives. Total formatted storage pool capacity is now 49.24 TB. That makes 27-2TB drives and 1-120GB OS drive for a total of 28 DE managed drives. Only 4 more drives to reach the 32 drive limit.

Attachments:
andromeda disk management 20100616 27 drives.jpg
andromeda disk management 20100616 27 drives.jpg [ 293.75 KiB | Viewed 3877 times ]
andromeda server storage 20100616.jpg
andromeda server storage 20100616.jpg [ 212.57 KiB | Viewed 3877 times ]

Author:  cubanblood [ Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

You know a lot of people complaint about the 32 drive limit on WHS but i think there is nothing bad about it because the only thing limited is the amount of drives not the amount of storage.

Anyway, that is a very impresive pictures of you drive pool. Just out of curiosity what do you have store in your server? I have a lot of movies and tv show and pictures and tens of thausands of song and i only have 12T with duplication. I bet you have alot of blua-ray movies ah! Looks good.

Author:  cubanblood [ Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

Quote:
Only 4 more drives to reach the 32 drive limit


Lets say you do run into the 32-HDD-limit-wall what are you palnning on doing? I have read in other forums where people have added more than 32 HDD but the server is a bit unstable. Also would you consider adding drives without adding them to the pool. If so how would you use them for data?

Author:  cavediver [ Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

cubanblood wrote:
Just out of curiosity what do you have store in your server?


Blu-ray's, music, photos, pc backups, and general data files.

Author:  cavediver [ Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

cubanblood wrote:
Quote:
Only 4 more drives to reach the 32 drive limit


Lets say you do run into the 32-HDD-limit-wall what are you palnning on doing? I have read in other forums where people have added more than 32 HDD but the server is a bit unstable. Also would you consider adding drives without adding them to the pool. If so how would you use them for data?


I'm probably at least a year away from needing more than 32 drives. By then, Vail should be out and there shouldn't be a limit to the storage pool size due to it being 64 bit and being able to use drives larger than 2TB.

Author:  dbone1026 [ Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

cavediver wrote:

I'm probably at least a year away from needing more than 32 drives. By then, Vail should be out and there shouldn't be a limit to the storage pool size due to it being 64 bit and being able to use drives larger than 2TB.


Is your Andromeda replacement built yet?

Author:  cavediver [ Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

dbone1026 wrote:
Is your Andromeda replacement built yet?


No. I won't build another server until after Vail is released. Probably build another machine early next year sometime.

Author:  cubanblood [ Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

I am saving my money also to see what Vail is going to offer. I dont really have a lot of demand for storage rihgt now because i am going very slow ripping my dvds.

Author:  Nefarious [ Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

What are you using to pull all the drive temps? If I remember right, you weren't able to pull smart data because of the raid drivers.

Author:  cavediver [ Wed Jun 23, 2010 3:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

Nefarious wrote:
What are you using to pull all the drive temps? If I remember right, you weren't able to pull smart data because of the raid drivers.


The Disk Management add-in.

Author:  Silhouette [ Thu Jun 24, 2010 1:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

Nefarious,
I believe Cavediver is only having trouble with the smart data from the MB ports. He appears to be getting data from both of his Supermicro cards (see his post from June 16). I'm having trouble with data from the second Supermicro card but I am getting data from the MB. It appears that some people get the data from some places and not others. You and Walkabt are also both having problems with the second Supermicro cards also...I believe. There's got to be a reason.

Author:  dbone1026 [ Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

Silhouette wrote:
Nefarious,
I believe Cavediver is only having trouble with the smart data from the MB ports. He appears to be getting data from both of his Supermicro cards (see his post from June 16). I'm having trouble with data from the second Supermicro card but I am getting data from the MB. It appears that some people get the data from some places and not others. You and Walkabt are also both having problems with the second Supermicro cards also...I believe. There's got to be a reason.


For Shawshank I get SMART data from my SAT2-MV8 card but cannot get SMART data from my SASLP card via WHS (Disk Management add in). However, if I use a different program (HD Sentinel) I have no issues getting SMART data, so I assume it is a WHS issue in my case

Author:  cavediver [ Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:29 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Andromeda

I don't get the SMART data from the mobo sata ports because I have them set to AHCI which on an AMD mobo uses AMD's raid/ahci drivers which are actually raid drivers that won't pass SMART data. Speedfan doesn't even acknowledge that there are drives attached to the mobo ports.

Page 19 of 22 All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/