It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:21 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 329 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 ... 22  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:34 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:59 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
The Mobo ports are running in IDE mode, tried to change it to AHCI but it crashed when trying to boot into the OS, no more pcie slots on mobo for another mv8.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:43 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:49 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Well u can't really just change from IDE to AHCI. It runs on different drives which you can change without reinstalling windows. There is a way to do it. GOOGLE sir.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:02 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 12:15 pm
Posts: 213
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 14 times in 13 posts
@killerbones - this may or may not be an option for you, it works on the Gigabyte board I have:
http://social.microsoft.com/Forums/en-U ... ae200d74ba


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:52 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Actually, I have done it a number of times, works fine. Use regedit and change HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Msahci from 3 to 0 and then restart the machine and go into bios and change the bios from ide to ahci on those drives. It should boot normally and come up as AHCI drives.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:59 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ok i cant seem to find this registry file everything is there except the msachi edit.

looks like ill have to find another way.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:10 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Killerbones wrote:
ok i cant seem to find this registry file everything is there except the msachi edit.

looks like ill have to find another way.


Ok, I would suspect you have not loaded the drivers for AHCI for you board. Find the drivers for AHCI/Raid and install them and then check to see if you can find the entry. You will probably have to reboot so don't change anything untill you find the entry

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:56 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:59 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
alright i've installed the drivers but it still does not show up in the registry. is all this really neccesary as i thought ahci is for hot swapping drives????
thanks for the help by the way..


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:59 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok fixed the problem not sure what really fixed it but replacing the router may have been the major culprit, why it happened not sure but replacing the router adding the achi drivers and updating the lan drivers on the mobo seemed to have cured the issue now im back to streaming blu ray rips to 3 clients with no stutter or pauses. 2 hours and running strong.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:39 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
I was wondering if anybody knows whats the limit of hard drives on the EX495 on a USB port. Can i put a 8 HDD enclosure on a single USB port? Would there be some performance problems when it comes to coping and streaming media?
Also is there a way to monitor the temperature of USB hard drives attached to the MSS?

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
cubanblood wrote:
I was wondering if anybody knows whats the limit of hard drives on the EX495 on a USB port. Can i put a 8 HDD enclosure on a single USB port? Would there be some performance problems when it comes to coping and streaming media?
Also is there a way to monitor the temperature of USB hard drives attached to the MSS?


You can attach as many TR8Us as you have USB ports, but WHS can only deal with 32 drives in the storage pool. Any drives over 32 will have to be non-storage pool lettered drives.

Yes, you can put an 8 drive enclosure on a single USB port. Copying to and from USB attached drives will be much slower than sata, but there is no problem streaming media from USB attached drives. The only way to monitor temps of USB attached HDDs is manually with an IR thermometer.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:05 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Quote:
You can attach as many TR8Us as you have USB ports, but WHS can only deal with 32 drives in the storage pool. Any drives over 32 will have to be non-storage pool lettered drives.

Yes, you can put an 8 drive enclosure on a single USB port. Copying to and from USB attached drives will be much slower than sata, but there is no problem streaming media from USB attached drives. The only way to monitor temps of USB attached HDDs is manually with an IR thermometer


The reason i am asking is because i was looking to build a 8 HDD enclosure but it would cost more than to buy the Norco 4220 and add a power supply. I think the Norco has 5 backplanes of 4 (or something like that). I wan to have one of the 5 as eSata to my MSS and the rest as USBs. I would need card that goes sata-esata and sata-usb. I think the MSS can handle all that.
My only concern is temperature. I need a way monitor that. Either way none of the external enclosures support temperature monitoring. I have one of the Sans Digital and i can't see the temperature but i am not worry because is only 4 HDD, but if i have 20 of them i would be worry about the temp.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:06 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
The Norco's backplanes are SAS/SATA. The connectors on the Norco's backplane are SAS SFF-8087 connectors. If you want USB attached enclosures, the best are the Sans Digital TR8Us.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 4:28 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:27 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Regarding the temp issue.
Very similar setup to you.
I had a similar problem as walkabt's.
Initially only saw temps for 1st card and mobo system drive.
No temp for 2nd saslp!
Originally had all mobo sata as IDE and smart disabled.
Went through the ahci swap and enabled smart. This required switching the sata cables to allow IDE on mobo sata 4,5 and ahci on 0,1,2,3.
Anyway this lost temp on sysdrive.
Now looked like all I could get was temps on saslp 1
Tried some problem solving.
Swapped cards (including cables as is) between the pci slots.
This did not change the result and meant that the cards were not faulty and that the norco back plane was probably faulty.
Started doing some fiddling.
Found that hot swapping drives between controller 1 and 2 sometimes resulted in temp data for a drive that didnt have it before swapping - interesting.
Eventually was able to get temp data for all drives using this approach. Have not figured out exactly why - but I have a feeling that it is something to do with the model of drive and that perhaps the cards need the first drive to work before it will supply temp data for others in the chain.
At this point I had temps for all SASLP drives ( across 2 cards) but no temp for sysdrive.
Switched bios back to IDE and switched off smart - reboot.
Still no temp for sysdrive and also lost temps for a couple of saslps.
Used the hot swap shuffle to get saslp temps back.
Finally swapped cable for mobo sata back to sysdrive and dvd on 4,5.
Now have temps for all drives (only 4 + sys) spread over both saslp.

I know this is a ramble - but it might give someone an idea.

Coma


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:42 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
Interesting about the SASLPs. On an AMD system, you will never get temp data from the mobo drives set to AHCI because AMD's AHCI drivers are built into their RAID driver and won't allow any SMART data to pass. My mobo drives are set to AHCI and aren't recognized at all by Speedfan.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Andromeda
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:44 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:03 am
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
cavediver wrote:
Andromeda is complete as originally intended (40 TB media storage server) with all data duplicated. I now have all 20 drive bays populated with 2TB LP, Geen and Ecogreen drives, and all 1.5 TB drives removed. Server storage indicates 36.5TB with 9.46 TB free and Disk Management indicates 37379 GB with 9690 GB free. I had a problem with one of the Samsung drives. It kept dropping out of the storage pool as missing, but running chkdsk /r on it didn't show any problems. So I RMA'd it and will keep the replacement as a backup. In order to remove the 1.5 TB drives and keep the storage balanced, I added a Sans Digital TR4M and installed the little card with two (2) esata ports. So now, I also have a 4 bay Sans Digital TR4M attached which will allow me to add another 8 TB of storage space if I need it. The transfer speeds between the TR4M and the internal drives was very fast. PP3 did a good job of balancing the storage between all of the drives. Below are a few shots of Disk Management and an internal shot showing the new card and the 120mm fans.



cavediver-

How did you get PP3 to balance your data pool as shown?

I read in your 120mm fan thread you did not use the drive balancer app.

Is there a command or hack to get WHS to balance so nicely?

Thanks, this thread has been a great resource for many DIYers. :cheers:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 329 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 ... 22  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group