It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:42 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 1:21 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
Since Hp or no one else is doing anything in a price range or with some guts, it's time for my DIY.
I call X710, what HP could have done next :-$ But with stuff I can get and without a million dollar R$D budget. This for about the same price as a X510 sells for on ebay. Shout out if ya see anything going wrong. This should be a easy build for most anyone. 1-27-2012

1) LIAN LI PC-Q25B Black Aluminum Mini-ITX Tower $90 with rebate and promo holds 7 drives.
2) GIGABYTE GA-Z77N-WIFI LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX $129
3) Intel Core i3-3225 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 55W Dual-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 $134 with promo
4) G.SKILL Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 $48
5) SILVERSTONE Strider Plus ST50F-P 500W ATX 12V v2.3 & EPS 12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Full Modular $79 and $24 for the short leads kit. This supply will fit.
6) Adaptec 1405 2256100-R SATA/SAS 4 internal ports non-RAID Unified Serial HBA Card $149 comes with breakout cable.
EDIT: FYI this card will not pass smart data so I will be looking for something different.
I also ordered a slim dvd burner. It looks like there is enough room Bottom/Front to mod it in.
When all the stuff gets here I'll post more in case someone else would like to do one.
I have WHSv1 oem and WHS 2011 oem and Win 7 pro 64 bit and some 1 and 2 tb red drives, so not sure which way to go yet.

2/1/2013
All the stuff is here and there is plenty of room in the bottom/front of this case to mod in the slim dvd burner, I had to move the Lian Li sticker up above the power button but time for the masking tape and dremel. The slim dvd will attach to the bottom harddrive plate so will lose 1 spot for a harddrive but would rather have the burner.

2/2/2013
Got the slim DVD cut in and Velcro'ed, plenty of room in this case really, but I have wired some really tight cases. I put a 1tb red on the bottom plate for system drive and grabbed my oem whs 2011, with 8 gigs memory I just couldn't do whsv1. I paid for drive bender long time ago so now I guess it's time to see whats what. I shot a couple of pictures will get them on later.
What have I gained? Well, It's not headless, has two giga nics plus wireless N, it has a dvd burner, it has 5 open hotswap bays, plenty of power and memory, has three large fans with screens on them and not to hard on the pocket $600-$700 So far so good. I have the rails on a 2tb red will try to add it tomorrow.

2/3/2013
Going between the motherboard cd and the website, found all the drivers with the only holdout being the BlueTooth and widi nothing for 2008 server.
Added the 2tb red in the hotswap bay and all went well. WHS 2011, so far, not to exciting.
I got it attached via wireless N and stuck it under the counter until I have time to decide on a OS. But right now, I am temped to go with Win7...
This is bad, Got the hardware down only to be left holding the bag on a good os. Dang microsoft.

2/7/2013
Not liking whs 2011 so far, so found a trial Windows Server 2012 Essentials will try to get it loaded this weekend, my guess is drivers are going to be a bear, but at least I can try this os before I spend the 400-500, which is crazy, but what else. I bought win8pro as well, so got some choices, but the little server just is setting their nice and quiet/cool/wireless, I like it. Went pretty easy.
Still got to get my daughter to get those pictures out of the camera.

2/17/2012
All done with this one. I have loaded whs 2011 with drivebender, had some problems with server backups and folders, then loaded Win server 2012 essentials, it loaded just fine, got all the drivers as did 2011, but it only supports win7 and 8 for clients, so now I have whs 2011 back on, attached wirelessly to the network. This hardware has worked very well, cool, powerful, portable not to pricy.
I would do it again.

Final thought 3/20/2013
I have to say that DIY is fun and I think a good value, but, unless you have more data then can fit inside the media smart servers, it's just not the same, those little servers with there little lights are just hard to beat as a package. Sure I can go bigger and more power, but it's just not the same. I will most likely do another larger system at some point, but, wouldn't it have been cool if HP made like a 8 bay media smart with a video/mouse/keyboard? Oh Well, build on....

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Last edited by Gardian on Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:31 am, edited 11 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Your going to like that LIAN LI PC-Q25B case. I picked one up shortly after Damain reviewed it. http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2012/01 ... uter-case/

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:19 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I upgraded my case on this, The mod for cd just didn't go as good as I wanted and I liked this one better, so I just saved all the spare parts from the other case, (not a total lose)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811112402

I'm going to try OEM whs v1 on it and see if I like it.

Also got one of these to go with it so they will match :crazy:
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/12624/cpa-546/Lian-Li_EX-503B_Hot_Swap_USB_30_eSata_External_35_HDD_Enclosure_5_Bays_-_35_SATA_HDD.html

This will put me at 12 drives max, 11 not counting the icydockraid for the OS, I think it will hold me for a long time.

I did get W2012E but I just got to try WHS v1 one last time. I sure am going to miss the lights :shock:

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Personally the only enclosures I care about installing an optical drive in are Desktop builds other then that for servers I just use external optical drives to install the OS. I don't rip stuff directly to the servers so no real need for an optical drive in the server. It use to bother me somewhat but when you think about it how often do you actually use an optical drive in a server if your not ripping content?

That's a nice looking case and it comes with a nice price too. I hope it works out for you. I like Lian Li enclosures the quality is outstanding.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:42 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I went with the dvd, the idea is I hope to combine the server and my media ripper box.
I know it's not a great idea to load up software on a server, but most of my stuff is portable and I just got to try.
Thing is if one goes down they both will be down, but got to try, it has plenty of horsepower, memory, ssd's.

Well see what happens. Got over being sick, so time to get back to work :-)

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:51 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
OK. I always do my ripping to a client to a hard drive I use for temporary storage and when I am happy with the RIP I move the files to the server. This way if the rip fails or is not good I can delete it without having my server sit there writing garbage and then duplicating it. I know many people prefer to rip directly on their servers and have it automated so they can just insert a disk and it rips but its one task I have not been personally comfortable with having my servers do and I have plenty of horsepower under the hood. I think if I were to opt to rip on the server I would do it to a non-pooled drive to verify the rip first then rename and so forth then move the file to the proper storage location.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:20 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
Well, the WHS v1 install didn't go so well with the motherboard, fought half a day trying to get drivers to work and finally said "the heck with it" Loaded win2012E.
I could search out a mini board that I might be able to get drivers for WHS v1 but I figure my X510's will get me far enough down the road, so off I go with 2012E almost out of beta :-)

Note:
The Lian Li Ex-503 5 bay external. I stuff 5 2tb drives in it and set it to JBOD. But this device JBOD meant all drives lumped into 1 (like a pool) so when I rebooted it it just flashed alot and cycled, so I set the jumpers back to port multiplier and then it was happy and all 5 drives showed up as 5 drives.
The Lump to 1 big drive idea sounds good, but I have no idea what would happen when a drive failed, I doubt I could access the rest of the data like WHS v1 Pool.
Awesome device, pricey, but I think worth it, Nice fan, power brick, lots of options for raid.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:54 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
Oct 28 been a long year :-)
I wanted to update this:
Server is doing fine, finally got it up on the main network where I could work on it and took one of the x510s off to another area.

The EX-503, I like it and it was working great, I installed Stablebit drive pool on the server (like it better then drive bender) and all was going great, then I installed Stablebit Scanner and that's when things went south, drives kept disappearing, the whole thing would just drop out, no lights no beeps just gone, I would reboot it and it would come back for about 30 seconds and then gone. This was on usb3 and usb2.

I uninstalled stablebit Scanner and all is well again. (to much drive access I guess)
The next problem was the EX-503 does not sense when the server sleeps and wakes so it stays on all the time and I sleep and wake the server and want this to sleep and wake with it, I found a switch called a mini power minder that has a usb cord that plugs into the server and when the server sleeps, it will cut the power to the ex-503. Not ideal, but i don't want to leave it running all the time and I am tired of turning it off and on everyday.
We'll see how this works, but so far I am happy with this DIY project, both pieces of it and I think it will be able to handle the network down the road when I go to retired the X510's.
Goodluck all

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
See your making progress. Hopefully the good folks at CoveCube will offer up a solution to resolve the issue with the Scanner Program. For me I tried it out and was not overly impressed with it but many people swear by it. I found I could correct issues with drives that the scanner could not with other software. Sometimes its just better to discover an issue with a drive and just replace it and be done with it.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:19 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hey I was just wondering if you ever got the Wifi working for the motherboard on Windows Server 2012. I have the mother board I'm getting 4 unknown devices in Device Manager 2 which are Network. I have enable Wireless I just can't seem to get the wireless working on it.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:30 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
Yep, I got it working and had it connected to the network with wifi.
I posted about it here:
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=13170

Goodluck

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: It's Time: My X710
PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:03 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
Been a year now. Couple of things I would add to this build.

The drive card I used will not let SMART software see the drive status, which I miss, but since I'm using Stablebit drive pool I feel safe if a drive goes south without warning.

Also, I do not like win2012E and this domain stuff for home use. I still am not using this sever in production, I did install the connector on one of my pc's win7pro and it started making me use a password to login to that pc, which I don't like and could not figure a way around that. Then about a month later it wanted me to change the password on that pc.
That was it, It took a bit, but I ripped that pc back out of the domain and have not connected to the server since.
I remote to it and have a vm win7pro running on it with vmware, but that's about it.
It's still a great little box with plenty of power, I just don't want to deal with the domain.
I will stick with my whs v1 as long as I can.

Good luck to all

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group