It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:43 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

Post subject: Thoughts - NAS vs WHS
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:23 pm 
1TB storage
1TB storage

I've had an HP EX490 for a while, NIC has gone out and HP has been useless in regards to getting the unit repaired. I've decided to move on at this point and I'm looking at alternatives. I had originally considered doing a DIY server off WHS 2011. I'm a relative newbie to WHS (just plugged in the EX490 and ran for years basically), but building my own rig is not an issue as I've built my own PC's for over 20 years.

But then someone suggested that I look at NAS and specifically the Synology DS211J. I had originally discounted using NAS, but as I compared features between my old EX490 and the DS211J it seemed the DS211J offered most of the features/functions that I was using on the EX490.

Curious from the experts here what your thoughts are. I'm fond of the WHS (coming from a long time Windows user), but have to say the DS211J looks like a simple solution for my primary needs. Besides giving up the massive storage capabilities of what a WHS set-up would provide what would you consider the downside to this?

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:21 pm 

I used a NAS for years and while the newer ones have evolved I simply have to tell you once I started useing WHS the NAS has lived in the closet. The one thing to really think about is that it the NIC fails in the NAS your really dead in the water far worse than with your EX490. You can resolve your NIC issue on your own with the EX490 but with the NAS its not as simple. With your EX490 you still have access to your data this is not true for the NAS so if it fails so goes your data unless you get another unit which will allow you to reuse your drives.