It is currently Tue Jan 28, 2020 8:37 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:29 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I just puchased a LX195 and have it up and running on my network. The Twonky software runs well and allows me to view my home video and photos on my PS3. I am interested in installing the Playon software for accessing HULU to serve my PS3. One post on the Playon site suggested the LX195 would not be fast enough for this type of application. However, I don't think it was actually tried by the person with that opinion. Has anyone actually tried to install this software on the LX195 and if so, how well does it work? Thank you in advance.

Sandy R.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:05 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
There is a free trial period for PlayOn. Why not just give it a try?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I'd like to see if anyone else has installed Playon on the LX195 and what their experience was. If I don't get any feedback, I might try it myself, however, it's a little intimidating. I finally accessed the desktop of the LX195 using the "Remote Desktop Connection" software in my remote PC's "accessories" folder. I logged on as admin and there was an immediate warning from the LX195 saying I could corrupt the server by running some of the software that normally might be run on a regular windows PC. The warning was not specific as to what I shouldn't execute. Anyway, I would hate to corrupt my server after only a week of service. I looked around the desktop a little bit and then decided enough was enough so I logged out. I hope someone can share their experience before attempting it on my own.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:30 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:14 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I just found my answer by accessing the PlayOn site. Under their minimum requirments they specifiy a CPU with a score of at least 500 on the Passmark benchmark. Ideally the CPU should be around 1000. The CPU used in the LX195 has a Passmark score of 313. I don't think it's worth installing the software if the developer wouldn't recommend it.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:09 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
The reason why you see that warning when you RDP to your server is because WHS was intended to have the end user do all the maintenance needs through the console. However there are programs that need to be installed outside the console since they have no other way to add them in as with normal add-ins.

Personally I do not mess with much outside the console even though I have a keyboard, mouse and monitor connected to all 3 of my WHS machines.

As for installing PLAYON I really am not familar with that program and your doing the right thing about asking if anyone has installed it on an LX195 but I would broaden that to the other WHS to see what if any issues they may have encountered.

Can you install PLAYON on one of your other computers that might be on all the time. Maybe that would be the best approach to having your PS3 access HULU.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:49 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
The one thing I have learned about recommended minimums is that it is ONLY a guide. It may be a good recommendation for a general PC that may be used as such while using PlayOn. But it may well perform just file on your server.

The trial is free. Try it and find out! The half hour it will take is probably less time than you have spend researching it!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group