It is currently Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:10 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:51 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
:boxster: With the help of a VGA debug board from cakalapati (sp?) I was able to install ubuntu 12.04 onto the box and it fired up just fine, installed updates and was responding to the usb keyboard. Obviously I was able to get into the bios and I really hope I didn't screw anything up majorly but I read somewhere that you can O/C the ram a little bit. (I think you see where this is going)

Well, I did just that and bumped the frequency all the way to 667 (it was a 2gb stick that I installed myself and was also working fine). I also chose to do a clean install of ubuntu because I wanted more of the server flavor (installed desktop) and changed the boot priority to my usb drive. I hit F10 to save & exit then the whole thing rebooted per usual.

Only this time it looks like the bios hasn't started up at all. I unplugged the machine because it wasn't responding to anything and the usb keyboard was not lit up either. Now, only the power light will stay on and sometimes during start up, the network led will blink red for just a sec then nothing. I hope I didn't fry anything but considering this was my first attempt at making an omelette I guess a few eggs would need to break. Oh well if that's the case I got it for free anyway.

I followed the threads on here intently when I tried to see if this was at all possible in the first place so I'm hoping someone can break off some advice. Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:00 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:51 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=11382

I followed the process here for removing the CMOS battery and after removing it, I washed the dishes and made the bed. Afterwards I re-inserted the battery and ram then boom, fired right up!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Glad you found a solution. Mucking around with the BIOS and attempting to OverClock may not be the best thing to do unless you know others who have gone before you and done this with success. These little servers can be sensitive so take great care on any modification you do as you have recently learned.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:44 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
Can you say Lucky? I bet you can! \:D/

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group