It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 12:23 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 3:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:24 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
OK so call me a loser - I had the pin assignments wrong on CN2 :oops: Video works great!
Now the darn keyboard is giving me issues. I was looking at http://www.kroptech.com/kvm/blackbox.html and since my PS/2 connector doesn't have pin markings I tried with odds on the left and right and all I get is a dimly lit numlock key. Very frustrating for four simple wires :evil:

I've also tried a USB keyboard and no joy. The EX475 doesn't appear to have JP2 - the only jumper I see is CN13 and has no affect.

Any further thoughts?

EDIT
I'm a dork. I guess when I miswired the thing it broke the keyboard. Tried a new one and all is well :)

Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Pinout
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 2:59 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 2:49 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I'm trying to figure out whitch color of my VGA cable that is connected to which pin on VGA connector. (using a readymade cable with HD-15 at the end). So I can conncet it correct to the cn2. Attatched a picture!


Attachments:
bilde.JPG
bilde.JPG [ 96.33 KiB | Viewed 7515 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:44 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
khufus2,
Use your multimeter to find out which one is which. Don't trust the colors, these are always mixed up on VGA cables (from my own experience).
I could only say Red, Green and Blue pairs are _probably_ connected to correspondent R, G, B and R(Ground), G(Ground), B(Ground) pins on VGA.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Wire colors do not always indicate what is what and sometimes manufactures change the meanings of the wire colors for whatever reason they deem necessary. For this reason I agree with HappyBison's recommendation. Its always good practice to verify what your working with.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:53 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:45 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hello,
i found your forum while i searched for a possibility for entering the bios on my datavault x312.
what you write here about this ps2-adapter sounds good, does anybody know if this works with the x312 too?
if it works, there still is the question how i connect the ps2-ports to the cable. there are some adapter-boards where i can see something like a resistor in line to the ps2. do i need to put something in there or can i connect the wire without something to the ps2-connector?

greetings,
Wobbi


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:04 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
Open your datavault and take a picture... if it's the same connector, it's a strong possibility. Someone here may know off of hand as well though.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:47 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10688
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 914 times in 870 posts
The X312 is the same as the X310 and it does use the same debug board connector.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:09 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:45 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
The X312 is the same as the X310 and it does use the same debug board connector.


I think the x310 and x312 are the same. So you think it will work?
then there´s the other question. do i have to put something like a resistor or a capacitor in line to the ps2-ports or can i connect directly to je mainboard-connector?

thanks for answering,
Wobbi


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hello, been reading though this thread, I have every thing I need to make a KVM cable for an Acer H340 but I only have one question ,
What is the orientation of pin one on the mobo header??

-Thank you to any one that reads and replies!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:57 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
Pin1 is identified on the connector by the triangle. Build the rest to spec and it should work fine.

Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:39 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:09 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Good job ymboc for all the work you did in the early phases of this thread. I got my cable up and running no problems for my LX195 today.

Never would have been so easy without all the info contained in this very useful thread !!!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jpmcwil for this post
ymboc
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:07 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
I built a cable for a friend's EX49x this week. I had to add the jumper and ground pin 4. Here is my handywork. :encore:


Attachments:
File comment: side view
DSCN2490.JPG
DSCN2490.JPG [ 2.43 MiB | Viewed 5970 times ]
File comment: You could see the hole on the side of the case here.
DSCN2493.JPG
DSCN2493.JPG [ 2.89 MiB | Viewed 5970 times ]

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:58 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
There's a hole in the side of your MSS!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:42 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
ymboc wrote:
There's a hole in the side of your MSS!


Yes, on this server I used a Dremel. The VGA is temporary, so when it's in use, I unplug the cable and put back the plastic side of the case which hides the hole.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:31 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Nice work! Since those pins don't look protected, what policy do you use to make sure the pins don't short with the chassis?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group