It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:32 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 17  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:29 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
veekay wrote:
but I know the addin to control the lights does nothing on the data vault.


If you mean the Light Show Settings Add-In, that was designed strictly for the original EX47x servers, though I doubt it is labeled as such. You can still access the Easter Egg to change the LED behavior.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:36 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:25 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
That would explain it - too bad. I use the easter egg, but changing the timings and/or morse code would be nice.
yakuza wrote:
veekay wrote:
but I know the addin to control the lights does nothing on the data vault.


If you mean the Light Show Settings Add-In, that was designed strictly for the original EX47x servers, though I doubt it is labeled as such. You can still access the Easter Egg to change the LED behavior.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:18 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
ymboc wrote:
This is how I wired my VGA cable...

Code:
CN2 Pin# --> VGA Pin# (Description)
-----------------------------------
  09     -->   12     (DDC Data)
  11     -->   15     (DDC CLock)
  14     -->   01     (Red)
  16     -->   05     (Ground)
  17     -->   06     (Ground)
  18     -->   02     (Green)
  19     -->   14     (VSync)
  20     -->   07     (Ground)
  21     -->   08     (Ground)
  22     -->   03     (Blue)
  23     -->   13     (HSync)
  24     -->   10     (Ground)
  25     -->   09     (5V)
Hope it helps.

Happy New Year!



Thanks ymboc,

Had to come back and check to make sure I had it right. Just received the parts, about to build the cable tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jazzman for this post
kfournier
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:10 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
jazzman wrote:
Just received the parts, about to build the cable tomorrow.

If you won't be using a crimping tool, make sure you have a good wire contact with the pins (I soldered each pin a little bit to make the connection stronger).
The extra time spent for carefully built cable will avoid a lot of headache later.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:10 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:53 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
HappyBison wrote:
jazzman wrote:
Just received the parts, about to build the cable tomorrow.

If you won't be using a crimping tool, make sure you have a good wire contact with the pins (I soldered each pin a little bit to make the connection stronger).
The extra time spent for carefully built cable will avoid a lot of headache later.


Whats funny about all of this is, I used to work in a manufacturing environment. We built circuit boards, cables for military vehicles. Most of the work we did was military based. I built all kinds of prototype cable testers everyday. But, most of us got laid off about 1-1/2 months ago which is cool, I didn't like that job anyway.

But there I was exposed to crimpers and all the really cool tools that you would use to do your job professionally. So now that I had to build my cable, I had to order my parts instead of going to the stockroom and getting my parts there. Instead of using a professional crimper, I had to use needle nosed pliers to crimp each end of the pin and then solder each wire onto the pin without a magnifying glass. What a nightmare this was. I didn't take a picture of what I did, but I used colored ribbon cable and made my cable with that.

So far everything works great, my jumper 13 (i think) is always jumpered. I have installed windows server 2008 on the box, I would like to put exchange, but I know that will slow it down tremendously, I don't know yet. I will still use my QNAP 109 II for doing certain things, but at least I have my server back up and running and it's in a small profile case.

Thanks again to everyone for the help, I know we all appreciate it here.

Oh yea, I like the acer case so much, that eventually I will put in a different motherboard with a faster chip. I will have to tone out the connectors to find which is power, hdd etc so I can connect them. The hdd leds are cool, but its not that important to me right now.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Pin 25 Question
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:16 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:11 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Newbie question. I read all the posts plus other websites. All say that they wired the VGA 5v+ (VGA Pin 9) to PIN 25 on the media server. However, when I look at all the photos of the VGA cable examples, I don't see any wire in the 25th pin hole. What am I missing? Thx.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Pin 25 Question
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:25 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
kfournier wrote:
Newbie question. I read all the posts plus other websites. All say that they wired the VGA 5v+ (VGA Pin 9) to PIN 25 on the media server. However, when I look at all the photos of the VGA cable examples, I don't see any wire in the 25th pin hole. What am I missing? Thx.

That's optional. I did not use it when I built my cable.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank HappyBison for this post
kfournier
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:44 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi!

I've an Acer H340 and want debug the LED stuff so I can write an Linux driver. For this, I need serial access. For access serial, I need an MAX232 between my PC and connector, right? So far I understand, that's not the "pure" signal which I can use directly on my pc, right?

prodigy7


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 9:40 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
It's a AFAIK it's a TTL signal... you could buy the right chip to convert the signal, scavenge a USB<->TTL cell phone cable (ie: nokia CA-42)... but if you value your time, what I'd really recommend is buying a cable from cakalapati in the marketplace.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:46 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:42 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I'm sorry I have to ask this question:

Can anybody tell me which parts I have to buy?
Especially the boardconnector...

A digikey-url would be perfect...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:04 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
From page 3....
ymboc wrote:
Parts List:
  1. 1x XFX Low Profile Kit (I scavenged the VGA connector from this, and later soldered a longer ribbon cable to it)
  2. 1x 26 position 2mm pitch Connector Housing
  3. 15x 2 24-28AWG Crimp Connector Terminal (Fits into the housing)
Product Links
The Connector Housing I got (10)
The Crimp Terminals I got (100)

...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:09 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Since the minimum order from Digi-Key is 10 or 100, has anyone got any spare connector housings and pins? I need the 26-way housing and pins to build a VGA cable, but also 2 x 16-way housing and pins to make a new cable that connects the front panel (LEDs and USB socket) to the motherboard if anyone has those too?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:08 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
IMGrant wrote:
Since the minimum order from Digi-Key is 10 or 100, has anyone got any spare connector housings and pins? I need the 26-way housing and pins to build a VGA cable, but also 2 x 16-way housing and pins to make a new cable that connects the front panel (LEDs and USB socket) to the motherboard if anyone has those too?

Man, it's too cheap to even bother getting a single piece.
The housing is like $5 for all 10 pieces. And the pins are like $4 for 100 all pieces. With shipping you will have it for like $15 or so.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:15 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 5:02 am
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
HappyBison wrote:
IMGrant wrote:
Since the minimum order from Digi-Key is 10 or 100, has anyone got any spare connector housings and pins? I need the 26-way housing and pins to build a VGA cable, but also 2 x 16-way housing and pins to make a new cable that connects the front panel (LEDs and USB socket) to the motherboard if anyone has those too?

Man, it's too cheap to even bother getting a single piece.
The housing is like $5 for all 10 pieces. And the pins are like $4 for 100 all pieces. With shipping you will have it for like $15 or so.


True, I am tight-wad. More importantly then, the housing is out of stock until end of May, which is aaaages away. Plus, shipping at UK Digi-Key is £12 (~$18).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:03 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
IMGrant wrote:
True, I am tight-wad. More importantly then, the housing is out of stock until end of May, which is aaaages away. Plus, shipping at UK Digi-Key is £12 (~$18).

In this case you should specify UK :-)
For the out of stock stuff, you could get a replacement on DigiKey.

If noone will respond, please drop me a PM tomorrow. I'll see if I can find my housing and connectors at home. I'm in US so someone local in UK will do it faster.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 ... 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group