It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:52 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 17  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:42 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Is it slim enough to store under the top cover when not in use?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:12 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
@JohnBick. No. There is less than a half inch clearance in the top cover. That's not enough room for any VGA connector as the DSUB connector is 0.5 inches tall.


Last edited by cakalapati on Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:22 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
I have released the next generation of the VGA/PS2/Serial cables. The two issues they primarily address are quality and turnaround time. There were a few oddball complaints that the first generation cables were too fragile. I have upgraded my process such that this is no longer a concern. The previous turnaround time was slow because cables were built as they were requested. Sometimes it would take weeks to get a cable out the door due to demand. This is also a thing of the past.

The gen2 assemblies can be purchased here.


Attachments:
GI0F5189 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5189 (Medium).JPG [ 34.6 KiB | Viewed 13266 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:05 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:42 pm
Posts: 286
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 13 times in 13 posts
Wow!

That's a sweet piece of hardware Charles...I already have one of your MKI cables but I would snap up one of the MKII's in an instant apart from the fact that I have no spare drive bays - they are all full... :cry:

Is there anywhere to physically mount a piece of hardware such as that shown in your picture on the previous page directly into the case to give a factory feel to the whole assembly?

I still have the MKI on a shelf here as I was going to look for a way to mount that into the case rather than just leave the cable hanging out... :oops:

Thanks & regards,
-=Glyn=-


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:05 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
Take a look at this translated blog post.

Looks like the Acer EasyStore Servers use the same connector and pin-out!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 10:48 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:10 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi. Alex and Ymboc,

Thank you for finding my BLOG.
I verified. Only VGA is checked before.
It checked about PS/2, mouse, and serial port this time.
It is completely compatible with SmartMedia Server as expected.

yoshi.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 11:11 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Hi Yoshi, welcome to the forums, and thanks for confirming that the header is identical as this should make some EasyStore owners quite happy!

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 2:21 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
I have a customer (who wishes to remain anonymous) that tried the Gen 2 Cables on the Acer EasyStore H340 and has confirmed that VGA/PS2 Keyboard and Serial works. I have not personally tested this, but he has allowed me to post his pictures.

He has had some problems with the PS2 mouse so the status of this is unknown.

You will need to put a jumper on the motherboard to unlock the USB/PS2 keyboard (picture of motherboard jumper courtesy of Yoshi)

UPDATE (June 21, 2009): I purchased an Acer Aspire easyStore H340 and can confirm that VGA-PS2 Keyboard-PS2 Mouse-Serial all work flawlessly.


Attachments:
IMG_2236_s.JPG
IMG_2236_s.JPG [ 101.23 KiB | Viewed 14125 times ]
IMG_2239_s.JPG
IMG_2239_s.JPG [ 103.97 KiB | Viewed 14123 times ]
IMG_2240_s.JPG
IMG_2240_s.JPG [ 94.56 KiB | Viewed 14119 times ]
IMG_2241_s.JPG
IMG_2241_s.JPG [ 109.53 KiB | Viewed 14124 times ]
IMG_2243_s.JPG
IMG_2243_s.JPG [ 91.33 KiB | Viewed 14124 times ]
Jumper.jpg
Jumper.jpg [ 70.16 KiB | Viewed 14121 times ]
IMG_2249_s.JPG
IMG_2249_s.JPG [ 86.08 KiB | Viewed 14118 times ]
IMG_2248_s.JPG
IMG_2248_s.JPG [ 87.42 KiB | Viewed 14113 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:12 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Has anybody figured out what CN10 is for? I'm curious whether the onboard S/PDIF in my EasyStore H340 is accessible to patch into a low profile PCI-e x1 HDMI vid card. In case anybody's wondering why I'd want to do this - XBMC cube.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:50 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:39 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Does anyone have a proper list of what parts (with numbers/SKUs) to buy from DigiKey to make this VGA+Serial cable yourself? I have two reasons I'd need/use it:

A. Boot from a USB stick.
B. Reverse engineer the LEDs on the Acer H340 with help from the original poster who showed how to do it for the HP series.

Thanks,

Daze


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:16 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5150
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 702 times in 681 posts
I installed Tritton SEE2 UV150 USB to VGA on my EX470. After the installation of the drivers and connecting the hardware I had to Remote logon to the server and disable the SIS Video Driver so the Tritton could act as the primary video. It works but what it does not do is display the actual boot sequence as it only displays the screen after the server boots. While its useful I still want to tackle installing a VGA port into my EX470 then enable the SIS driver.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:46 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:33 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 13 times in 7 posts
Just like to thank ymboc for all the hard work.

Ordered pins off of Digikey and brought the cheapest VGA cable I could from Frys. Chopped the VGA cable and removed the molding around the connector. Wired up the plug. Cut a VGA sized hole in the front PSU grill. Then routed the cable as shown in the attachment. Turns out that the PSU grill hole spacing is ideal for a VGA connector and provided that you position it carefully you can still fully close the door.

Now happily running Ubuntu :)

Thanks again!


Attachments:
hp485_vga.jpg
hp485_vga.jpg [ 63.64 KiB | Viewed 11501 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank adaptation for this post
yakuza
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 115 times in 44 posts
dazealex: PinOut on Page 1, Cable Connector Hardware & Assembly on Page 3... and look for a post by cakalapati on Page 6 for the better/proper crimp tool.

adaptation: Very Nice Work!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:40 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 2:36 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi,

1st: thanks for all the Information, really great guys.

But there is a little problem remaining:

I soldered one myself, works really great, but everytime I turn my WHS off (doesn't matter if i choose "shutdown" or i hold the power button) the server stays off for about 5 seconds, then it turns on and i have to turn it off hard. Then it stays off.

I've checked the pins twice, but i can't find any mistake...


Thanks for your help


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:15 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:15 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
neoprogger wrote:
I soldered one myself, works really great, but everytime I turn my WHS off (doesn't matter if i choose "shutdown" or i hold the power button) the server stays off for about 5 seconds, then it turns on and i have to turn it off hard. Then it stays off.

I've checked the pins twice, but i can't find any mistake...

Try to disconnect your monitor, keyboard and mouse to see if any of those device may cause a wake up signal. I know that some machines may wake up on USB activity.
If it will wake up anyway, try to remove your VGA cable. If that helps, then you have to check if you soldered everything correctly and don't have any short circuits.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 ... 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group