It is currently Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:36 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 17  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:53 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:46 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi.
Can anyone help me out here?
If I have a VGA cable, and a connector to the CN9.
Can I the just connect the wires to the right pin?
If yes?
Anyone have a pin to pin schematics to make the whole cable?


Last edited by røsegg on Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:11 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Wow... alright.... You should be interested in CN2... not CN9 and you'd be making more than just 3 connections.

The schematics and everything you're looking for has been posted....Please (re)review the thread.

Pinout / 'My Journey' summary is found on page 1.
My cable and the materials I used to make it on page 3.
Official Pinout from JRock/HP on page 4.
My attempts at clearing up which pin is #1 on page 5.
cakalapati's cable & final clarification on pin #1 on page 6
More pictures on later pages...

FYI cakalapati sells different flavours of the cable in this thread found in the forum marketplace. It's a fair price he's asking for -- consider it money well spent if you intend on tinkering with the MSS.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:57 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:46 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi ymboc.
I have already ordered a cable.
I also ordered one before Christmas, but for some reason the order did not went trough.
But I have a problem with my home server, and need to see the screen.
I’m just a software guy!

But I want to make a cable just to se how bad the server health is.
I have the connector (ordered from Digikey in late December, so now you see how fast I am, NOT)

So if I understand right, for testing only:
I just need to connect the Red (pin 14), Green (pin 18), Blue (pin 22), V sync (pin 19) and H sync (pin 23) to get a picture?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:54 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
røsegg wrote:
So if I understand right, for testing only:
I just need to connect the Red (pin 14), Green (pin 18), Blue (pin 22), V sync (pin 19) and H sync (pin 23) to get a picture?


You're missing the grounds... you need them. On the VGA connector side they're probably all soldered together already (see my close-up of where I joined the ribbon to the VGA connector) so maybe if you ground one of them you've grounded them all but really you should try to follow the connections I've posted on page 1 of the thread. As far as I can tell, I think cakalapati's cables follow a slightly different grounding scheme but it shouldn't matter.

If you already have all the parts & tools you need you're really only 30mins-1hr (max) away from having built a complete cable anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:22 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:46 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
EDIT:

Finaly made it!.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:55 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:47 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi !!! Help needed ...
I have to connect a screen on my EX470, beccause i've got problems with operating system and software connector doesn't work, and system restauring too.
is anybody can say me where can I find CN2 connector to build vga adapter ?

thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:47 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Wow... not even five posts up from your request for assistance you will find the following:
Quote:
Pinout / 'My Journey' summary is found on page 1.
My cable and the materials I used to make it on page 3.
Official Pinout from JRock/HP on page 4.
My attempts at clearing up which pin is #1 on page 5.
cakalapati's cable & final clarification on pin #1 on page 6
More pictures on later pages...
I'll add that cakalapati posted a picture of the proper crimp tool you should use on page 6 as well.

Cakalapati is rumoured to resume selling pre-fab'd cables some time in april.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:36 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
you can get the parts from digikey.com

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Last edited by Diehard on Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:07 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Coming soon!

(...you can't get this from digikey)


Attachments:
GI0F5015 (Medium).JPG
GI0F5015 (Medium).JPG [ 36.23 KiB | Viewed 12009 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank cakalapati for this post
Diehard, ymboc
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:58 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
SWEET :mss:

Any perticular place to mount it ?

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:32 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
You can (of course) mount it wherever you like. There are four holes in the PCB that will allow you to do just that. It will come in a standard enclosure that will/can fit in one of the hard drive bays for the conservative individuals who do not wish to damage their box. I am exploring offering a base option similar to Jackmay's mod.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:17 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
What are the dimensions of the board ? and the length of the cable ?
Since I did the mod for getting a popcorn hour into a MSS and I have your video cable on that unit to,
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2008/09 ... turducken/ :mss:

I'd love to try and fit your board in the same place where the video connections are. Obviously on another MSS.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:11 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:10 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 2 times in 1 post
I'd be interested in one too!!

_________________
Where's the trains???
EX470 2 GIG Ram 7.5 T.byte Storage
HP 64 Bit Quad Core Desktop Vista
HP 32 Bit Dual Core Desktop Vista
2 HP 64 Bit Dual Core Laptops Windows 8
1 Gateway 32 Bit Dual Core Laptops Vista
1 Gateway Laptop XP
C-200 Popcorn Hour


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:19 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
PCB board: 3.90 inches by 1.70 inches (9.9 cm by 4.32 cm)
Cable Length: 18 inches (45.72 cm)
Cable Thickness: 0.5 inches (1.27 cm)
Enclosure Dimensions: Unknown (will know soon)

The board is designed so that it will fit inside inside a hard drive drawer with full VGA-PS2-Serial capabilities. The cable is only 0.5 inches thick so that it can accommodate several types of installations options.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 6:10 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Wow... dibs on that slick piece of hardware! Can you PM with estimated pricing?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group