It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:15 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 1:25 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:42 am
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I stupidly set the HP Video Converter against a folder with months worth of video to chew through and now cannot get the GUI to respond to disable the check box "Enable Video Conversion". How can I stop the processing of the Video Conversion?

This is on an EX470 with the March release of the software.

(And here's a vote for not putting all services into one NT Service...WPF is run by the same Video Conversion service)

Thanks,
Dan ](*,)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 5:56 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:15 am
Posts: 108
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
I have exactly the same problem with the same hardware. I tried to uncheck the box, but it doesn't work. Is there any solution. All my clips are now converted.

Thanks,

Klode

_________________
Microsoft MVP 2010 - Windows Home Server
Acer H341 - 1X WD5000AAKS - 3X WD10EACS - 1X WD5000AAKB External - Geek Squad 875VA 525w UPS on WHS controlled by GridJunction Add-in - WHS BDBB - WHIIST - SBS Fax Server - D-Link DIR-655


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 6:17 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:55 pm
Posts: 162
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 29 times in 24 posts
If the server is non responsive, reboot it and quickly RDP into it as soon as all of the lights turn blue. Run taskmgr.exe and end arcsofttranscode engine and any other process taking up high amount of CPU. Quickly launch the console from the RDP session and disable the converter service and cancel any pending conversions.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:58 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:37 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Grumble grumble. After not using it for video conversion for a couple of years, I fell into this old trap. I ticked the tickbox and cannot untick it. However, none of the various tips I have found have helped me to stop the converter. I have:

- Followed the steps outlined here, but there is no arcsoft process listed in the task manager, so I have nothing to stop. Maybe it changed names?
- THere is no HP Transcoding Service to be stopped in the Windows Services.
- I tried reconfiguring it to a different, empty input directory. That seems to have no impact on the existing queue.
- There is an AVTRAN~.EXE file that uses a lot of the CPU. There seems to be no way to stop it. When I stop it, it immediately restarts.
- CPU use is at 100% most of the time. Main culprits are demigrator.exe, AVTRAN and HPmssService.exe at the moment.

Ideas welcome.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:33 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
It is the AVTRAN.exe program in Task Manager. The problem is that your killing the one process. Then it starts converting the next file and so on. So if you have say 100 files that need to be converted, you would have to kill the process 100 times.

Do a RDC (Remote Desktop Connection) to the server and go to the folder C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP MediaSmart Server\HomeServerConsole then double clip (run) AdminConsoleWpfBrowserApplication.xbap That should start the Console in a web browser. Then open HP Conversion to untick the process.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:17 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:37 am
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Unfortunately, opening that file in a browser still does not allow me to uncheck the box. It is trundling through the 200+ files I accidentally put in the queue, even though I changed the configuration to use a different input directory.

More ideas still welcome.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:37 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 6:26 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden.
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Rename the files? I suggest just adding a _ to the trailing end of it. 1 file will refuse to be renamed, since it will be active, but the rest should change over nicely. Once the active file is completed, it wont find the next one, and should stop on it's own. Fix the problem, and then change the name of the files back again...
B!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group