It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:50 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 177 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 12  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:20 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 485
Location: NASHVILLE, TN
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
You do not need IE7 to Remote Desktop!

I am using XP PRO and IE 6 and it works fine.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:21 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 9:32 pm
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
is there any performance increase with increase of ram instead of just bigger ram? :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 9:23 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
JOCKTHEGLIDE wrote:
is there any performance increase with increase of ram instead of just bigger ram? :lol:


What is the difference between an "increase" in RAM and a "bigger" RAM?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:45 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
While we are all debating the need for more RAM ir is interesting to check out the two options for the new Hi Grade HomeServer uint:

http://www.higrade.com/nqcontent.cfm?a_id=1640

They offer 2x250 with 512MB RAM (DDR2 667FSB (1 x 512)) or 2x500 with 1GB RAM (DDR2 667FSB (2 x 512)). They use an Intel Celeron 430 1.8Ghz 800Mhz FSB 512K cache processor and have only 100 Base T ethernet connectivity. They do include DVD/CD.

(Not trying to sell this thing, only pointing out that with less top-end bandwidth they did feel more memory was appropriate! Time will tell I guess!)

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 621
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
No gigabit ethernet is a deal killer for me.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Memory up-grade tutorial
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:13 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 8:24 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Another website with a clear tutorial on this is located at:
http://www.homeserverhacks.com/2007/12/ ... ex470.html

Rich

_________________
Rich W
EX470


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: What a difference
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:24 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:57 am
Posts: 178
Location: St. Johns County, FL
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
What a difference 2G makes.
Remote Access is much quicker. The console is more responsive. File transfers are a little faster.

Thanks to www.homeserverhacks.com for the tutorial. I would certainly recommend that over the www.myhomeserver.com one. Much more illustrated and detailed. Also, the Philips #00 screwdriver is the way to go.

Thanks guys for a job well done researching the memory and brand options. P.S. If you want to upgrade, do so now until 1/31/08. Purchase the Patriot memory from Newegg. It'll cost you only $30 after rebate. That's a total bargain !!!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:55 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:45 pm
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I ordered mine yesterday. Now I just need to order my server so I have something to put it in.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:47 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
FYI, Radio Shack has a set of six (6) screwdrivers for $6.99 and it INCLUDES the Phillips #00 as well as some other smaller "Electronics" drivers. Comes in a nice case as well. Pretty good deal I think.

My 2GB stick should be here today. I'll post what will hopefully be a success story :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:07 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 621
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
Sears has a Stanley kit that's similiarly priced with similar drivers, might be the same kit.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:09 pm 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 485
Location: NASHVILLE, TN
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I got a STANLEY set at Wal-Mart. Very small heads on them.
One in the set fit perfect for disassembly of the front grill.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 12:00 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Piece O' Cake....

Toughest steps in order

1 - Replacing the "invisible" Philips #00 Screws
2 - Removing the top cover
3 - Replacing the Backplane
4 - Replacing the top cover
5 - Pressing the power button to turn it back on :wink:

Best $40 I ever spent..Well maybe not quite :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:21 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:45 pm
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
http://www.radioshack.com/emailAProduct ... Id=2062772

The above link must be what you are referring to, LandMaster?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:55 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Yep...Thats them..

I bought mine at the local store.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:04 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:45 pm
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I am on my way there now to get a set. My ram came yesterday and I just got done placing an order for an MSS.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 177 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 12  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group