It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:53 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 177 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:36 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
T-Bone wrote:
So Here is some things I need to know. If upgrading the ram in the ex495 do I still need to change the paging files. The rule of 1.5 at the min and 3 at the max gets me 6144 to 12288. should I use these numbers? also when I do a factory reset do I have to go back and reset this up or is WHS smart enough to know what they should be?
One of the first things I did after setting up my new EX490 was to change the settings of the page file. I took the recommended settings but made the min and the max the same. I've always understood this to be ideal in that the page file is created at that size (after rebooting) which means you'll never run into a situation where the system can't find the needed space or the overhead of resizing (up or down) the file.

_________________
HP MSS EX490, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300, 1TB System drive, 6TB Storage pool managed by StableBit DrivePool


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:39 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
TxDot,

Thanks for your reply too. The item in your link says it's been deactivated so it doesn't even show what it is, if you could tell me what it is I could try to find it somewhere else. I do have a processor upgrade already, see my signature.

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:52 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
jdomi wrote:
TxDot,

Thanks for your reply too. The item in your link says it's been deactivated so it doesn't even show what it is, if you could tell me what it is I could try to find it somewhere else. I do have a processor upgrade already, see my signature.
That's strange. I clicked the link and it didn't show as deactivated. Anyway the item is Crucial 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model CT51264AA667.

_________________
HP MSS EX490, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300, 1TB System drive, 6TB Storage pool managed by StableBit DrivePool


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:47 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
TxDot,

I copied and pasted the link and it did show. Question: that one is PC2-5300, don't I need PC2-6400?

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:53 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
jdomi wrote:
TxDot,

I copied and pasted the link and it did show. Question: that one is PC2-5300, don't I need PC2-6400?
The original RAM was PC2-5300 667Mhz so that one will work.

_________________
HP MSS EX490, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300, 1TB System drive, 6TB Storage pool managed by StableBit DrivePool


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:15 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
TxDot,

Thanks for your assistance, I'll give it a try since I will try to keep my EX475 for as long as I can. I'll post here the results for everyone.

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2011 8:44 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
jdomi wrote:
I'll post here the results for everyone.
Please do. I'm trying to decide if it's worth the price.

_________________
HP MSS EX490, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300, 1TB System drive, 6TB Storage pool managed by StableBit DrivePool


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:37 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 7:33 am
Posts: 29
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
What options are available for cpu upgrades these days? i.e. cpu's still being sold that aren't at ridiculous (IMO) prices?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:48 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
Colleagues,

I upgraded my RAM from the 2GB I had to 4GB using a Crucial 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model CT51264AA667 from Newegg.

No issues and my server is loving it!!!

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jdomi for this post
pmdci
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:03 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:35 pm
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
jdomi wrote:
Colleagues,

I upgraded my RAM from the 2GB I had to 4GB using a Crucial 4GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model CT51264AA667 from Newegg.

No issues and my server is loving it!!!


Jdomi,

What is the CPU you're using? I noticed the 2.2GHz mention on your signature but I am not sure of the part number? I am trying to find out what is the best CPU available for the EX740...

Cheers,
P.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:01 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
P,

Sorry for the late reply; the CPU is an AMD Neo X2 2.20GHz but I don't recall the part number. Both RAM and CPU are still going strong!

Regards.

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:45 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hello,

I have made the upgrade to 4 gb ram into ex475 BUT the bios reports 3.5 GB AND in WHS2011 it is written RAM 4 gb and only 3.5 useable ?

What to do for having 4 GB ? Is there any bios parameters to change ?

Thanks for your help !


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 177 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group