It is currently Fri Jul 10, 2020 7:38 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1530 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 102  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 1:02 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Is it possible that the system restarted due to windows update?

Stress Testing: Download Orthos (Prime95 for dual core processors). Run the "Small FFTs" for ~8 hours. If it fails before then you'll have to troubleshoot. zxdavb ran into some issues early on with his BE-2300 - it's not quite clear (or I missed it) what he did to solve his problems.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:00 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am
Posts: 118
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Ohh.. yes, it could be a Windows update. My two other computers did have a win update today.

I will test with orthos this weekend or next week.

_________________
HP MicroServer N40L 4GB ECC RAM
Modded bios by "TheBay"
5TB+ HDD
APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Attempting a 4450e...
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:29 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thus far it does not seem stable. However, I do not believe it to be a heat problem at this point. I think its a proc ID problem likley originating in the bios. Behavior is as below...

Boots fine, no problem.
Runs for about 2.5 minutes then shuts down.
Long enough for me to RDP to it and fool around a bit.
Checked the hardware stack and the proc is "unknown".
Tried installing AMD proc driver support. BAD IDEA! Started shutting down during boot process. Don't have a vid cable so I don't know at what point it's failing.
Uninstalled AMD driver and the behavior went back to up 2.5 min.

The fail point is almost always at the same time. Regardless of what I'm doing on the system. This, and the fact that the heatsink is not hot leads me to believe it may be a simple solution of finding an AGESACPU.ROM that supports the 4450e.

Has anyone found a later source for the bios mods than the ones posted? Wish I had an AMD system I could get the proc working on with an AWARD bios so I could see if my theory holds for a regular system.

Anyone out there running a system with an AMD 4450e and Award bios??

_________________
3TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 5:08 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
As reported earlier in the thread, I tested the BE-2400 (2.3 GHz 45Watt 65nm cpu) and it wasn't stable either. The problem (probably) isn't temperature but rather that the MSS can't supply the power needed to run these faster chips.

Your 4450e is also 2.3 Ghz and probably the same processor with a different name

Only proven stable chips are the 90nm 3800+ EE SFF (2GHz) and the 65nm BE-2300 (1.9 Ghz).
It's believed that the BE-2350 (2.1Ghz) *might* be stable but nobody's tested yet.

If you want to limp along for a while you can dangle a fan in front of the MSS. It won't be stress-test stable but it won't shut off on its own either.

Re: 'unknown CPU' Did you 'patch' both components (AGESACPU & ACPITBL)? You can source the AGESACPU file from any recent (AMD) award bios... perhaps check if there's a more recent AN9 bios that's been released since I posted the instructions.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: 3800+ ee sff
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 6:51 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:55 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi,
I've found a german retailer that apparently has this illustrious processor in stock (http://www.perloxx.de/index.php?page=detail&artikelnr=35024&kategorie=133) - I've ordered one a will let anyone know if it indeed turns out to be the right creature.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 7:22 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Wow.. in-stock & new.. I'm running that chip now. It works great. Zero-Fuss.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: 4450e attempt...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:27 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:29 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yes, I patched both in the bios. I even found a feb 08 bios to source the AGESACPU.ROM from but I still get "unknown" proc.

I suppose the power could be the cause but I would not expect that to be the case on a 45w chip. Besides, it boots fine and runs for several minutes. I would not expect the CPU to be drawing more power suddenly after everything is loaded and idleing.

I may try esupport.com and see what they can tell me.

thanks for the reply.

_________________
3TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 4:24 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:12 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I'm debating trying this one: http://www.foxconnchannel.com/support/d ... -us0001758

If you look at the most current info in the doc, the 4450B is specifically mentioned, although the model number is mistyped in the doc.

Personally, I think the issue may be that the G2 stepping's power management is more granular than the G1 stepping. It supports three voltages. The G1 supports a fixed voltage, which is the same as the highest voltage supported by the G2. Resolving this might require replacing other BIOS modules. Not the System BIOS, SJD4.BIN, but possibly the CPU micro code, CPUCODE.BIN. This kind of experimentation would not be for the faint of heart, as there is an inherent risk of bricking the MSS in the process.

_________________
_________________
MSS: HP EX470; Athlon X2 BE-2300; 4GB RAM; 4x1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 4450e attempt...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:07 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Digital_Burp:When trying to identify candidate agesacpu files, try viewing the contents of agesacpu with a text/hex editor before flashing - the processor strings are readable before you flash.

45 Watts is the Thermal Design Power... while it's related, it doesn't describe how much power the chip draws. Compare your readout from CPU-Z with the one I posted of the BE-2400 (Page 1)... I'm pretty sure its identical. It's a bit of a shame you didn't pay closer attention to the discussion with bullhead about the 4450e... we basically predicted it wouldn't be stable based on the experiences with the BE-2400 & 4050e.

I actually touched base with the fellows at esupport before I got lucky modifying the bios myself. They don't do modifications and they don't write updates themselves... kinda makes you wonder what they actually do. Download the flash file for you? Provide hand-holding during the flashing process? (shrug)... either way they don't support our hardware.

dgdo: Actually the MSS' bios structure makes it really easy to update the microcode... its just that the MSS already had the most up to date micro-code when compared to other bios files I saw. I'll take a look at the foxconn bios to see if there's anything useful.

Followup: The linked foxconn bios has a newer AGESACPU but actually older micro-code than the MSS. The microcode on the MSS is up to date with that of the new 790 boards released. Gigabyte has released 790 (award bios) based boards with even more up to date AGESACPU that support triple & quad core cpus.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 10:42 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am
Posts: 118
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Hello boy and girls!

I found something interessting on eBay today!
eBay item number: 320273432178 and 320272619305

Brand new AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ EE SFF, Sockel AM2 * 35 Watt *
from a seller in Germany, price €34.72 + shipping.
They have 15+ in stock, so hurry up!! 8)

_________________
HP MicroServer N40L 4GB ECC RAM
Modded bios by "TheBay"
5TB+ HDD
APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:39 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
BullHead wrote:
Hello boy and girls!

I found something interessting on eBay today!
eBay item number: 320273432178 and 320272619305

Brand new AMD Athlon64 X2 3800+ EE SFF, Sockel AM2 * 35 Watt *
from a seller in Germany, price €34.72 + shipping.
They have 15+ in stock, so hurry up!! 8)

No shipping to the US. :(


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:24 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am
Posts: 118
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
TxDot wrote:
No shipping to the US. :(


Drop the seller a PM and ask if it´s possible to arrange shipping to US.

_________________
HP MicroServer N40L 4GB ECC RAM
Modded bios by "TheBay"
5TB+ HDD
APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:44 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am
Posts: 118
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
OK, today i recived a Athlon X2 3800+ EE SFF (2GHz, 90nm, 35watt, ADD3800IAA5CU)... And it's in the MSS right now!
I will run Orthos over night and see if any error will show up...
Core temp right now somewhere 55-58C @ 100% Load (Only 16 Minutes of stress).
I hope that core temp will drop a few C after that the heatpaste have "burn in"...

Ymboc! are 55-58C @ 100% normal for this cpu?

_________________
HP MicroServer N40L 4GB ECC RAM
Modded bios by "TheBay"
5TB+ HDD
APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:16 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
I topped out at 59 degrees during 8 hours of stress testing.

I think it's stellar considering it's passively cooled.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:13 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:54 am
Posts: 118
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
ymboc wrote:
I topped out at 59 degrees during 8 hours of stress testing.

I think it's stellar considering it's passively cooled.


OK, mine spiked twice at 62 degrees after 9hours of stress testing... no problem at all...

What idle temp do you have? Mine is somewhere 40-44 degrees...
(With the BE-2300 I had 36degrees idle... but that was after a week)

_________________
HP MicroServer N40L 4GB ECC RAM
Modded bios by "TheBay"
5TB+ HDD
APC Smart-UPS 1000 VA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1530 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 102  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group