It is currently Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:24 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 102  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 11:01 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ymboc wrote:
mentor wrote:
Ymboc are in the us? do know the spec and info for 2100 x2 AMD processor?do you have use a bios mode to use that processor?
Canada. NewEgg won't ship here :(

Some info about the processor from a quick google Actually Looks like it runs at 1.3 Volts very close the 1.25 the BE-2400 runs at... *AND* its rated at 65Watts not 45Watts... I had thought it was a 45Watt chip... so scratch that chip, as inexpensive as it is...

Puts it a bit into perspective though... the BE-2400 is only .05Volts less but somehow rated as a 45Watt chip (BS!).

I do believe I have a bios that will work with any of these chips... its just the heat. Take a look at the 3400E X2 from the following link... 22Watts!

Here's AMD's embeded solutions selection document (PDF)

Here are the links to AMD x2 Embedded 4200+, 3600+,3400e Processor the price is very high right now
http://www.computersplusnyc.com/product ... id=1090949
http://www.computersplusnyc.com/product ... id=1090948
http://www.computersplusnyc.com/product ... id=1090950

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 11:26 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Wicked, thanks for the info... but... I think you quoted the wrong post. That post doesn't make any mention of those chips...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 3:15 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ymboc wrote:
Wicked, thanks for the info... but... I think you quoted the wrong post. That post doesn't make any mention of those chips...

Ymboc i got the info from the PDF link you posted in that quote there was some great in that link, thank You

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 3:51 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Heh but I actually talk about the processors mentioned two posts down :p... no matter. Are you going to get one of those?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 7:51 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ymboc wrote:
Heh but I actually talk about the processors mentioned two posts down :p... no matter. Are you going to get one of those?

yes i will like to get one of them, they all got very low wattage which is very good for this project,but the price right now is another story, i will wait and see if newegg.com or buy.com get some ,than the price will be much better thank you for your help and the info on the AMD processors i know a lot more about Intel processor than AMD.

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 10:30 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
ymboc wrote:
That was too easy...

Update: Yup... it was too easy... Still Hangs on acpitabl.dat.

Not sure of the wisdom of importing a donor ACPI table into the bios... I'm concerned that the current one contains the string necessary to keep WHS 'activated' / happy.... plus I'm not sure just how hardware specific the ACPI table is or what its actual role in the bios is... (more reading required).

How are you hooking up a monitor to the MSS or am I just confused? (wouldn't be the first time)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 1:12 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 5:49 am
Posts: 73
Location: London, UK
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
There's a motherboard header with a VGA video out, search the forum. You can have one made if you want.

Also, since I'm here...

Strange, but when I run three instances of Orthos (on my X2) at the same time, each goes past the point where a single instance would fail...

In this case, over 7 hours in 'Small FFTs - Stress CPU' mode.


Attachments:
3 x Orthos A.gif
3 x Orthos A.gif [ 57.41 KiB | Viewed 43700 times ]
3 x Orthos B.gif
3 x Orthos B.gif [ 52 KiB | Viewed 43706 times ]

_________________
MSS: HP EX470 w/ Athlon X2 BE-2300, 1.9 GHz (using ymboc's BIOS mod), 4GB RAM & 3x 500GB.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 6:30 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
TxDot wrote:
How are you hooking up a monitor to the MSS or am I just confused? (wouldn't be the first time)
Linked for clarity... you can build your own or there's a fellow board member who's selling cables as well.... all the info you need is in the thread but feel to ask questions


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 11:51 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ymboc do you have any Info on this Processor here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819103260
it's 2100+ x2 1.8

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 2:32 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Yeah I got excited about it earlier but found out it was 65Watt... I talked about it at the top of page 3... It runs at a higher voltage than the BE-2400 which either ran too hot or drew too much power for the MSS...

I'd stick to what other's have confirmed working (BE-2300) or alternatively a 35 or lower Watt CPU...

Aside: I'm hoping the 35Watt 3800 x2 EE SFF (ADD3800) I ordered arrives next week... I've got high hopes for the chip.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 3:59 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
So... I decided to finally get off my butt and post instructions & such...

These instructions will let you...
a) Boot an X2 Processor.
OR
b) Properly Identify your LE-Whatever in the device manager (for that warm fuzzy feeling)

Why I can't just provide a pre-modded bios file
IP rights aside, your bios contains at least your unit's serial number and maybe other keys & license stuff. It would look bad if everyone was running around with my unit's serial number & (possibly) WHS license key.

The Risk.
Provided you're following the instructions provided the risks are no greater than when you flash the bios on any piece of hardware... So if your power goes out or your MSS shuts-down for whatever reason during the actual flashing process there's a good chance your MSS will be bricked (ie: unusable)

I will not be held responsible should anything go wrong. I'll try to help but that's about it.

On the upside, If you happen to brick your MSS... There should be a way to unbrick the machine using the JTAG headers or possibly the CN10 pins... I'm not familiar with it so you'd be on your own but at least you'd learn a whole lot in the process and when you've pulled it off you can share what you learned with the rest of us! (yay!)

Tools Needed
1) Bios Flasher Software. Either WinFlash (Here) or AWDFlash (Here)
2) CBROM 1.82 (Here)

Winflash is windows. AWDFlash is dos. For dos you need a USB floppy or bootable thumbdrive and a VGA cable to see what you're doing (or alternatively a one-liner autoexec.bat).

Donor Bios Files
1) Shuttle SS21T Bios (For ACPITBL) (Here)
2) Abit AN9 BIOS (For AGESACPU) (Here)

The Shuttle bios contains the AGESACPU module as well but I used a more recent AGESACPU module from the abit AN9 bios linked above.

Similarly the Abit bios linked contains awdflash 8.80 but the earlier link contains 8.90 (and an otherwise unrelated bios for a DFI x48 board).

In the past I said you could use any current AGESACPU file... since then a new variation on the AGESACPU file has appeared that is not compatible. Stick to what's proven.

Instructions -- using winflash
If you intend to install an X2 chip you must perform these instructions before switching chips... WHS will not boot an X2 on the stock bios.

0) Connect to the MSS via remote desktop connection. Create a folder on your desktop called "bios" and copy all the needed programs & donor files into it.
1) Run WinFlash. Go to File>Save Old Bios. Click Save, accepting the default file name. Click Backup. (Done)
2) Go to Start>Run. Type "cmd". Click Ok. (Command Prompt Window will appear)

... From this point forward, when I say 'type' in the context of the command prompt I mean press enter at the end of the quoted command.

3) In the command prompt window Go to your newly created folder (ie: "cd Desktop\bios")
... a) Type "copy awdbios.bin awdbios.bak" to make a copy of your bios. I suggest making an additional backup to another computer, hotmail or gmail etc.
... b) Type "cbrom182 awdbios.bin /d" To display the bios contents which should look like this:
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 awdbios.bin /d
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007

              ********  awdbios.bin BIOS component ********

 No. Item-Name         Original-Size   Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
================================================================================
  0. System BIOS       20000h(128.00K)  13BCEh(78.95K)  SJD4.BIN
  1. XGROUP CODE       0F920h(62.28K)   0A236h(40.55K)  awardext.rom
  2. CPU micro code    02000h(8.00K)    003EFh(0.98K)   CPUCODE.BIN
  3. ACPI table        044B5h(17.18K)   0186Ch(6.11K)   ACPITBL.BIN
  4. EPA LOGO          0168Ch(5.64K)    002AAh(0.67K)   AwardBmp.bmp
  5. YGROUP ROM        0B0D0h(44.20K)   05991h(22.39K)  awardeyt.rom
  6. GROUP ROM[ 0]     04960h(18.34K)   0219Dh(8.40K)   _EN_CODE.BIN
  7. SETUP0             01A90h(6.64K)   00A9Eh(2.65K)   _ITEM.BIN
  8. VGA ROM[1]        08000h(32.00K)   03FFFh(16.00K)  761GX.ROM
  9. GV3                03E12h(15.52K)  01000h(4.00K)   AGESACPU.ROM
 10. PCI ROM[A]        0A800h(42.00K)   06254h(24.58K)  191PXE.BEV
 11. OEM0 CODE         00257h(0.58K)    0018Dh(0.39K)   int15_32.bin
 12. NoCompress ROM    009A8h(2.41K)    009DBh(2.46K)   rom32.bin

(BB) Compress BT-VGA   08000h(32.00K)   03E98h(15.90K)  6330VGA.ROM
  Total compress code space  = 59000h(356.00K)
  Total compressed code size = 34090h(208.14K)
  Remain compress code space = 24F70h(147.86K)

                          ** Micro Code Information **
Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID
------------------+--------------------+--------------------+-------------------
     0062     0414|       0068     040A|       006D     041B|       0083     0680

4) Type "cbrom182 SS21S10J.BIN /acpitbl extract" and press enter when prompted for the file name.
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 SS21S10J.BIN /acpitbl extract
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007
Enter an extract file Name :(ACPITBL.BIN)
[ACPI] ROM is extracted to ACPITBL.BIN

5) Type "cbrom182 M601B_18.BIN /GV3 extract" and press enter when prompted for the file name.
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 M601B_18.BIN /GV3 extract
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007
Enter an extract file Name :(AGESACPU.ROM)
[GV3] ROM is extracted to AGESACPU.ROM

6) Type "cbrom182 awdbios.bin /acpitbl ACPITBL.BIN"
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 awdbios.bin /acpitbl ACPITBL.BIN
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007
Adding ACPITBL.BIN .. 36.8%

7) Type "cbrom182 awdbios.bin /GV3 AGESACPU.ROM"
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 awdbios.bin /GV3 AGESACPU.ROM
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007
Adding AGESACPU.ROM . 25.8%

8) Type "cbrom182 awdbios.bin /d" To display the bios contents after the changes you've made.
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 awdbios.bin /d (Should look like the following).
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007

              ********  awdbios.bin BIOS component ********

 No. Item-Name         Original-Size   Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
================================================================================
  0. System BIOS       20000h(128.00K)  13BCEh(78.95K)  SJD4.BIN
  1. XGROUP CODE       0F920h(62.28K)   0A236h(40.55K)  awardext.rom
  2. CPU micro code    02000h(8.00K)    003EFh(0.98K)   CPUCODE.BIN
  3. EPA LOGO          0168Ch(5.64K)    002AAh(0.67K)   AwardBmp.bmp
  4. YGROUP ROM        0B0D0h(44.20K)   05991h(22.39K)  awardeyt.rom
  5. GROUP ROM[ 0]     04960h(18.34K)   0219Dh(8.40K)   _EN_CODE.BIN
  6. SETUP0             01A90h(6.64K)   00A9Eh(2.65K)   _ITEM.BIN
  7. VGA ROM[1]        08000h(32.00K)   03FFFh(16.00K)  761GX.ROM
  8. PCI ROM[A]        0A800h(42.00K)   06254h(24.58K)  191PXE.BEV
  9. OEM0 CODE         00257h(0.58K)    0018Dh(0.39K)   int15_32.bin
 10. NoCompress ROM    009A8h(2.41K)    009DBh(2.46K)   rom32.bin
 11. ACPI table        04360h(16.84K)   018F5h(6.24K)   ACPITBL.BIN
 12. GV3                03FCAh(15.95K)  0109Fh(4.16K)   AGESACPU.ROM

(BB) Compress BT-VGA   08000h(32.00K)   03E98h(15.90K)  6330VGA.ROM
  Total compress code space  = 59000h(356.00K)
  Total compressed code size = 341B8h(208.43K)
  Remain compress code space = 24E48h(147.57K)

                          ** Micro Code Information **
Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID
------------------+--------------------+--------------------+-------------------
     0062     0414|       0068     040A|       006D     041B|       0083     0680

9) Close the Command Prompt Window. The hard part is done. Wasn't that easy?
10) Run Winflash.
... a) Check "Update ALL" (Which will check other things for you) and Check "Clear CMOS" (For Good Measure).
... b) Go to File>Update BIOS. Select awdbios.bin, Click Open. Click Update. (It updates the bios). Reboot the computer.

At this point let the computer startup normally again. Then shut it down, swap the chips, and start it back up again... and that's it.

Edit: Actually you may need to reboot once more after that for WHS to change from the single-processor kernel to the multi-processor kernel

Lastly... if you try an X2 chip please share your results in this thread.

I'm succcessfully running a 3800+ X2 EE SFF (35 Watt, 1V, 90nm chip). Orthos Small FFTs stable for 10+ hours. See Page 5 for details.

Followup: I've attached the needed files below in case they ever go down for good (abit for example keeps talking about getting out of the motherboard business entirely). Please continue to report if any of the above links stop working and use the attachments only as a last resort. Thanks.

Update Sept 2009
FAQ: Which dual core processor should I get? Will 'this' processor work? How about this processor? etc etc...
Answer: Get either the BE-2300 or the 3800 X2 EE SFF - anything else has a high probability of not working. Your best chance of finding them at this point is on EBay.

FAQ: I can't find the 3800 EE SFF anywhere! (help!)
Answer: The product code for the 3800 X2 EE SFF is ADD3800IAA5C. I suggest setting up a saved search on Ebay with the term "ADD3800*" -- ebay will alert you via email when an auction appears that meets your search criteria.

That said, the 3800 X2 EE SFF is becoming so rare now you might have better luck buying a whole OEM (ie: HP or Acer) system that comes with the 3800 X2 EE SFF and discarding/repurposing the rest of the hardware.


Attachments:
Winflash192.zip [448.73 KiB]
Downloaded 1658 times
AWDFLASH890.zip [32.85 KiB]
Downloaded 1423 times
Cbrom182.zip [76.44 KiB]
Downloaded 1548 times
SS21S10J.zip [274.96 KiB]
Downloaded 1544 times
M601B_18.zip [313.78 KiB]
Downloaded 1622 times


Last edited by ymboc on Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:37 pm, edited 19 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank ymboc for this post
1 krazy kanuck, Aileron, barrmulio, beetle, bethesdaadk, Comp1962, dvdrw, electricmonk, engjo, fujii13, jasonr2000, KaiBo, lovehuman, maximus, Mightyred, Mightyred, mincone, Mr.Happy, NearMadness, pmdci, req7777, Texas-Hansen, toyceli22, zoxxo
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 4:00 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Offtopic: These instructions can be extended to pull the raid utilities from the shuttle bios and add them to the MSS bios... but do not do that without a video cable, it will leave your system unbootable if you do (for reasons I might explain at a later time in a different/new thread). FakeRaid 5 is not supported but FakeRaid 0+1 is.

Quasi-OnTopic: 3800+ EE SFF arrived today (ordered off of ebay)... chip was packed loosely in bubblewrap in the the AMD retail box (ie: protective clamshell wrapper missing!)... pins bent all to sh*t.. f. unbelievable. See Attached.

Update: Nearly got it... a pin ended up breaking off and a couple pins are barely hanging on by a thread... I'll let you guess which ones... sigh.... despite the missing pin I ended up testing the chip in an abandoned AM2 board - no go.

Edit: Deleted (Picture) Attachments - no longer relevant.

Edit#2: Further info on my abortive attempt at fakeraid on the MSS is described in the (Fake)Raid on the MSS Topic


Last edited by ymboc on Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:32 am, edited 7 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 6:00 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
eBay is your friend...sometimes. What a bummer!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:12 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 8:09 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Bios updated successfully on my MSS. What kind of performance increase should I expect with the BE-2300 over the LE-1640?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 5:05 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Oldbeer wrote:
Bios updated successfully on my MSS. What kind of performance increase should I expect with the BE-2300 over the LE-1640?
Ummm two cores? Actually you'll see slower single-core performance than the LE-1640 (still faster than stock) but I think it should be faster overall. You'll be able run more services & tasks without noticing any performance degradation.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 102  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group