It is currently Tue Dec 10, 2019 5:56 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 ... 102  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:01 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:50 am
Posts: 17
Location: Chicago, IL
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Got my order today.

Both CPU's are ADD3800IAA5CU :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:34 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
AXm77 wrote:
Got my order today.

Both CPU's are ADD3800IAA5CU :)
Suhweet!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:00 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
AXm77 wrote:
Got my order today.

Both CPU's are ADD3800IAA5CU :)


They all gone now i had to cancel my order today ewiz do mot have any more ADD-3800CU they only have ADO-3800CS now

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:11 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
mentor wrote:
AXm77 wrote:
Got my order today.

Both CPU's are ADD3800IAA5CU :)


They all gone now i had to cancel my order today ewiz do mot have any more ADD-3800CU they only have ADO-3800CS now

I just checked and they still show that the 35W version is available. You might check again.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:52 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:50 am
Posts: 61
Location: NYC
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
TxDot wrote:
mentor wrote:
AXm77 wrote:
Got my order today.

Both CPU's are ADD3800IAA5CU :)


They all gone now i had to cancel my order today ewiz do mot have any more ADD-3800CU they only have ADO-3800CS now

I just checked and they still show that the 35W version is available. You might check again.

yes the link and page is still showing 35watt model but they do not have any and there is no ETA for new stock.

_________________
MSS 4TB,2GB, 3800+,CFI port Multiplier 2TB ,APC
MV2120 1TB,D-Link DNS-323 1TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 12:40 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:42 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Peachland BC Canada
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
VieuxJules wrote:
Finally your CPU Socket temp is quite high, something must be broiling!!! :shock:


I know! but I don't know how to improve it... my idle cpu temperature (the information on the console) is 44-45C and the fan runs at about 2000RPM.

Anyway, I will be doing a server recovery since I messed up so many things(IIS completely messed up, Itune music server messed up, etc etc..) and hopefully, my server will run really smoothly:)

BTW can someone solve my problem?(http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?p=17027)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:37 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 34 times in 27 posts
As I suspect, you have read this thread thouroughly, I won't bother you with the usual questions:
What kind of paste did you use?
How did you apply it?
Do you use MSSFanControl?

You probably have read about the temp problems some have experienced here and the additional fan "erail" has added between the CPU socket and the northbridge, are you looking in that direction?

Maybe others have other suggestions to lower your temp, maybe its a false alert, do you feel excessive heat near your MSS box?

I can tell you my machine is working really smooth right from the beginning.

But I could not refrain from doing things like you've done, change one of my clients to x64, add many add-ins, try to insert Hauppauge HD-PVR into the mix, etc. all things that have forced several Server recoveries along the way. But the hardware always kept "cool" 8)

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 12:59 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
Woo-hoo! Got the processor and memory. It is the 35W version. Whew! Now to find time to install the stuff.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: well
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:12 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:42 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Peachland BC Canada
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
nope, I haven't used MSSFanControl add-in, just used ymboc's reg patch.

I used arctic silver, applied bit more than usual amount and I also applied it on northbridge heatsink.

well, my idle temperature is 36C so it's not that bad.. :D

Hopefully I won't be pushing my MSS to the limit for that long period of time.

so.. I guess it's good to go :?: :!:

ps. oh one problem is that before I apply the reg patch, but after doing a server recovery(when it installs connector and apply software updates), system crashes unless I use the fan in my room. other than that, it's good!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: well
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:45 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
joseph2625 wrote:
applied bit more than usual amount
Less is more :wink:

FYI: yakuza's fan control add-in has an 'optimized defaults' button which applies the same settings as the registry file I posted...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: well
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:57 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:42 pm
Posts: 24
Location: Peachland BC Canada
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ymboc wrote:
joseph2625 wrote:
applied bit more than usual amount
Less is more :wink:

FYI: yakuza's fan control add-in has an 'optimized defaults' button which applies the same settings as the registry file I posted...


But Idle temp. of 36C is good enough... isn't it? :?

I will install the add-in right away! thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:41 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Absolutely!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:53 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
ymboc wrote:
4) Type "cbrom182 SS21S10J.BIN /aciptbl extract" and press enter when prompted for the file name.
Code:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\bios>cbrom182 SS21S10J.BIN /acpitbl extract
cbrom182 V1.82 [04/11/07] (C)Phoenix Technologies 2001-2007
Enter an extract file Name :(ACPITBL.BIN)
[ACPI] ROM is extracted to ACPITBL.BIN

I had to enter /acpitbl in upper case for this step to work.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Done!
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:37 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 10:27 pm
Posts: 704
Location: Round Rock, TX
Thanks: 26
Thanked: 22 times in 22 posts
I just finished installing the processor (AMD Athlon X2 3800 35W) and 2GB RAM. Performance is certainly snappier though after the first boot cycle only one core was detected. I rebooted and both cores were detected. The CPU temperature is all over the place. From ~40 to 0, back to ~40 and 206. Yep that's right 206 (as reported by CPUID Hardware Monitor. The WHS Console is reporting between 43 and 44. Speedfan shows temps closer to what the console is showing. I'm sure things will changes over the next week but I'll be keeping a close eye on things.

Update: Restarted CPUID Hardware Monitor and temps are inline with what the other apps are reporting.

Now onto my next project for the weekend. Soldering a header to my WRT54GS so I can attach a JTAG and unbrick it. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:37 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 117 times in 44 posts
Congrats!
TxDot wrote:
I had to enter /acpitbl in upper case for this step to work.
Strange... the 'code' excerpts are copy-pastes directly from my command prompt... and I just confirmed lowercase /acpitbl still works here... :?

PS: Have you stress tested? Even though I consider the x2 3800 EE SFF's to be 'proven' it's still a good idea...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1529 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 ... 102  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group