It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:50 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:06 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
ktd wrote:
*EDIT* I turned off duplication on my Mac share :oops: and restarted my X510. I could then create a 500GB TM on my iMac. :banana:


Cool, I'm glad you found a solution. I usually turn off duplication before making big changes to the server, such as removing drives. I've found it's not all that happy dealing with the big TM files either, so it doesn't surprise me that it was getting in the way.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:13 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Also theres no need to duplicate that folder. If you get a disk crash on your WHS you have all files on your Mac and it's a small chance you get a crash in your Mac at the same time. :)

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 6:46 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
ktd wrote:
Also theres no need to duplicate that folder. If you get a disk crash on your WHS you have all files on your Mac and it's a small chance you get a crash in your Mac at the same time. :)


Only the current state and not the prior states can be found on your computer. It's fairly rare for me to have to go back and grab an old version of a file, but it is something I have done on more than one occasion, so having those historical backups are important to me.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:30 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:24 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Cliff wrote:
jejagua wrote:

It would be nice if the HP Software informed you of such. HP support didn't assist me in troubleshooting the issue AT ALL, after multiple calls and emails.

Everything else MediaSmart related works in 64 bit on my MBP. Only have the problem starting (mounting) the Time Machine drive. I guess that piece of functionality has the highest vulnerability with regards to incompatibility.


My limited experience with HP support has not been positive and their support of OS X is at best uneven (my experience had to do with discrepancies in scan output between Windows and OS X scanning applications that were supplied with an HP all-in-one printer). That said, the need for 3rd party vendors to recompile 32 bit kexts is the reason why Apple defaults all non-Server OS X installs to 32 bit and this was discussed fairly widely when Snow Leopard was released. If a user makes a technical change to their environment like this one, it is incumbent on them to understand the implications of the change.

edit: FWIW, this support article discusses 64 bit kernel FAQs.


Similar problem not being able to create a TM backup disk on my MSS 490. Was working well with my old MacBook Pro under Snow Leopard, but I just bought one of the new ones this weekend. On my new machine the Apple System Profiler does indeed show "64-bit Kernel and Extensions: Yes". I presume that my old MacBook Pro must have been using the 32-bit Kernel and Extensions.

So what now? I followed the threads in this post and saw that you can switch to the 32-bit kernel (re: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3773). Is this something I should do once, simply in order to create and mount my TM backup on the MSS? Or must I stay in 32-bit kernel persistently thereafter?

_________________
EX490


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:01 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:52 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
This is about to become a much bigger problem for Mac users. As a previous user notes, the default kernel used in the custom build of Snow Leopard used in 2011 Macbook Pros is 64 bit. I have tried restarting my MacBook Pro using the 32 bit kernel (which does then allow for the backup disk to mount) but time machine backups eventually hang after about 15GB of 120GB.

I doubt HP is going to do anything about this (much like the completely broken Media Collector feature, which on paper is great) and I don't want to spend time faffing about with restarting in the 32 bit kernel if its going to hang mid backup, so I guess I am looking for a new solution for backups and media.
_____________________________________
EX470 v3 Software
4GB RAM, 3.5 TB Storage, AM2 Athlon X64 3800+CPU


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:50 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 36
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
YEah, went through this last night with my wife's new macbook pro. Finally discovered the need for booting into the 32 bit kernel, and then I was able to mount and use the time machine disk I created. I didn't have any problems doing the full backup then.

What a pain, and with HP abandoning the WHS market, I'm guessing they will never make this work for the 64 bit kernel. So, I too have been contemplating getting a different Mac time machine solution. Those Time Capsules are ridiculously expensive, (of course what isn't form Apple?). Heck, for that price you can almost get a Mac mini! Maybe get an Airport that you can plug an external USB drive in. Not very elegant, but...

I've almost weaned myself of from Windows completely. Hardly ever boot my win desktop anymore, and rarely use bootcamp or parallels. Wondering if I should abandon the WHS, since I don't need it for the Windows backups anymore. I do need lots of network storage and media serving though.

Also sick of the hpMSSAgent always hanging on these macbooks when trying to collect media. Other people have this problem

_________________
4.5 TB HP EX490 upgraded with e5200 Core 2 duo = EX495. 2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro, 2011 13" i5 MacBook Pro, home built Win 7 Prof box.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:53 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
My guess would be that Lion will irreparably break the HP kext. HP has ended the Mediasmart product line so I would not expect any further software releases from them.

Microsoft has not incorporated support for Time Machine into Vail nor SBS 2011, so I won't be looking to MS for backup solutions. I kind of like Synology's 2-bay NAS (DS211), and filled with a couple of green 2TB drives it's still slightly cheaper than a 2GB Time Capsule. The Time Capsule has a wireless router, which I don't need since I already have 2 AEBSs. A DS211 with 2 drives installed offers a RAID 1 mirror for my TM backups, which is something I would like and which is not adequately supported via folder duplication.

I will probably throw a bunch of drives into my SBS2008 server and use it to host my media files and the iTunes client I run to support my AppleTVs.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:37 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 36
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
Dang, you are probably totally right about Lion. We'll most likely lose the time machine software for sure, as I doubt HP will be providing any updates. :evil:

So, time to start look for a new Time machine solution. Maybe it makes sense to separate this need from what effectively becomes my NAS storage needs. I just installed iTunes 10.2 on my WHS server last night, to better use the new Homesharing coming out for iOS 4.3. I guess I can keep doing that on the WHS and get a time capsule or similar.

Sigh..... I really wish the promise of this WHS and MAc extensions worked, as it would be a Beautiful Thing. Spotty Time Machine and media collecting are ruining it.

_________________
4.5 TB HP EX490 upgraded with e5200 Core 2 duo = EX495. 2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro, 2011 13" i5 MacBook Pro, home built Win 7 Prof box.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:29 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 12:51 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I am running 10.6.8 of the Mac OS on a macbook pro and now my time machine won't mount anymore -- did a complete rebuild of my backups but now Time Machine can't find the disk even. Before it was attempting to at least back up and then failing. Any ideas on how to fix this? Separately, what are you doing as HP support moves away from this entirely -- are folks upgrading to the newest version of Homeserver and Mac OS??

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank rgfcpq for this post
old blue
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:27 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:40 pm
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
My Time Machine broke with the upgrade to the HP software that came out last winter. After calling HP support (no help in the end) and trying lots of different things (none worked), I gave up.

I'm making a last try by switching to WHS 2011. Given limited time, it will take a while but I'm making progress and liking WHS 2011 a lot better than the 2003 version.

_________________
- Tom


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:06 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:47 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
:sanjuan:

Hello,

This is my first post, and hopefully many to the MSS forums.

I have an x510 DataVault, and love the product. I have many pc's that backup to the HP x510, including MAC's using the HP DataVault Connector Software for MAC to enable Time Machine Backups.

I have recommended this to many friends, however have become a little disappointed at HP's decision to cease product development, and further support for the ongoing software development of the console, and associated plugins.

Since the Apple OS X 10 Upgrade, I have wanted to upgrade, however cannot due to the aforementioned issues with this upgrade, and lack of support from HP. I have been on the phone to HP DataVault Support asking for any information they can provide on when an update may come out? The support engineer advised that there is no mention of any update for the X510 DataVault products, and a decision has been made by HP to discontinue development outside of the current supported Windows 7 / MAC OS X Tiger / Snow Leopard environments.

I encourage each of you to contact HP Support in your local country, and express your concern with the lack of development for this great product, and question what can be done to ensure that this product is further supported moving forward.

Regards,
Russ Keys.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:31 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 36
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
Good luck with that. Not to be a pessimist, but I believe there is no chance of succeeding. I've moved on. Time Capsule works great for Mac backups.

_________________
4.5 TB HP EX490 upgraded with e5200 Core 2 duo = EX495. 2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro, 2011 13" i5 MacBook Pro, home built Win 7 Prof box.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:37 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:47 am
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
My wife's iMac running snow leopard was doing fine with TM backups until last week. Now we get error messages that the disk on MSS is read only and cannot be fixed by OS.X.

I see the file size appears to be full. I thought TM was supposed to manage backups automatically, and drop older saves. I can't seem to resize the mac disk partition, which is currently set at 300 Gb.

I still only have the operating 1Tb disk in the server, but it's only half full.

any suggestions! As I planned to use this server primarily as a backup for both windows and Mac machines, this is really a disappointment.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 6:41 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 36
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
The file may not be full. When you initially create the time machine backup, it creates a file on the server that is the full size of the backup volume you asked for. So, you chose 300GB, it would have immediately created a 300GB file (sometimes called sparse bundle) on the server to be used as the space to hold backups. So, you can't really tell how "full" it is by looking at the size - it will always look the same size.

I wonder if you had some sort of mac system update the past week that broke things. I would try a few things:

- Reboot your mac while holding down the 3 and 2 to make sure you are in 32 bit mode.
- Can you access the time machine disk to do a restore? Verify that at least that works.


Honestly, not to sound like a broken record here, but you may want to consider getting a Time Capsule to be used exclusively for the Mac backups, and keep the MSS for just PC backups and NAS. HP just doesn't support us anymore, so you are fighting a losing battle. It's not cheap at about $300, but it has saved me a lot of stress, hassle, and headaches to have something that just works. Plus, it gives you a second NAS and a router, (which may not be needed by you, but it's something...) If you don't wan't to spend that much on the time capsule, get a cheap external drive and leave it connected to the iMac and use that.

Best of luck to you.

old blue wrote:
My wife's iMac running snow leopard was doing fine with TM backups until last week. Now we get error messages that the disk on MSS is read only and cannot be fixed by OS.X.

I see the file size appears to be full. I thought TM was supposed to manage backups automatically, and drop older saves. I can't seem to resize the mac disk partition, which is currently set at 300 Gb.

I still only have the operating 1Tb disk in the server, but it's only half full.

any suggestions! As I planned to use this server primarily as a backup for both windows and Mac machines, this is really a disappointment.

_________________
4.5 TB HP EX490 upgraded with e5200 Core 2 duo = EX495. 2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro, 2011 13" i5 MacBook Pro, home built Win 7 Prof box.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group