It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:02 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
There is nothing to force. By default your Mac loads the 32 bit OS kernel and this will work fine with HP's 32 bit kernel extension.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 6:55 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Thank you for your reply. When I compare my MacBook, that see the X510 TM disk, and my new iMac, I can see no difference in loaded services or anything else.

Should I be able to read my MacBooks TM backup in my iMac or is the backup locked to a specific computer? I could read files from other Macs TM file when I had a Time Capsule from Apple.
I want all my files, documents, music, movies etc. from my MacBooks TM into my new iMac but I can't get my iMac to find the TM disk at all in my network. :(

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:24 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
It is locked to a specific computer. In HP's case, the machine's serial number is used. Apple normally uses the MAC address for the binding. I can't speak to your Time Capsule experiences.

You may want to look at Apple's Migration Assistant software (/Applications/Utilities/Migration Assistant.app), which should allow you to set up a new machine based on an existing TM backup. I have not personally used this feature with MSS or WHS though, so you'll need to explore this some on your own. Post up questions as you go and I'm sure the folks here will do their best to help you along.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:26 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I started with the Migration Assistant but my iMac can't find my X510s TM at all. My MacBook is connected and can make backups so it is online and working.

I can access my X510 in all other ways. Thrugh RDP, the X510 console and my shares on the X510 via Finder.

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:23 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
ktd wrote:
I started with the Migration Assistant but my iMac can't find my X510s TM at all. My MacBook is connected and can make backups so it is online and working.

I can access my X510 in all other ways. Thrugh RDP, the X510 console and my shares on the X510 via Finder.


I am not sure I understand your specific situation.

I am not aware of any way to connect to another machine's TM backup that is hosted by a MediaSmart Server. Assuming this is a one time activity, then are other ways to migrate that data to the new machine that are supported by Migration Assistant such as the use of a Time Capsule or a directly connected hard drive. The MSS can certainly host TM backups to support multiple machines, but those are specific to the machine and are not shared. You would follow the same steps to configure that for the new machine as you did for your existing machine.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:46 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Ok, I see. As I mentioned before I use to have a Time Capsule and with that I could open a TM file from any Mac and copy what ever files I needed.

It's a good thing I still have my MacBook so I can get the files out of that before selling it. :)
Thank you for you help!

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:05 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
ktd wrote:
Ok, I see. As I mentioned before I use to have a Time Capsule and with that I could open a TM file from any Mac and copy what ever files I needed.


Apple keeps some information proprietary so that their products have a greater competitive edge. 3rd party NAS support for Time Machine features is one area. A better known example was Palm's efforts to spoof iTunes into thinking their phone was an iPod for the purpose of syncing it to iTunes. Apple kept releasing new versions of iTunes to break Palm's syncing feature and as I recall Palm finally gave up.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:40 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Guess Palm gave up when HP bought them. :)

I have transfered my data now so now I just have to figure out how to get my new iMac into a TM. Can't create a new TM (stops at 6% saying theres not enough space even though it is) and cannot connect to the existing... :(

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:50 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
If you're selling the old machine and you've migrated your applications and settings to the new machine, then there is no need to keep the old backup around.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:46 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Nope, but if I move that out of the Mac folder I still can't get my new iMac to create a TM.
I haven't tried it all that much yet so I will try it again when I got the time and I will provide you with more info and my steps and maybe then you can help me. :)

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:58 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
You will either need to delete the file or buy another drive. Moving the file doesn't free up disk space.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:23 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I have 3TB free space in my share. I want 500GB for my iMac TM so I should be good to go.
Or do I need a separate hdd for every TM?

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:28 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:00 pm
Posts: 350
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 50 times in 41 posts
You will need enough free space on a single drive for the file you wish to create. WHS doesn't stripe files across disks. An add-in like this one will let you inspect your disks if you don't already have something suitable installed.

_________________
Synology DS411: 2 * WD20EARX and 2 * WD20EARS
DIY Small Business Server 2011
MP 8-core 2.26GHz, 2012 MBA13 i7/8GB/256GB, AppleTVs, iPhone


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:31 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Ah, thank you so much for taking time to help me. I will check out that add-in.
I have 4 disks so I guess the 3TB are spread out on all 4 of them...

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:17 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I chacked my disks and I should be able to create a new TM for my iMac since I have at least 657GB free disk space on all my drives...

Image

I even tried to create a 100GB TM but I get disk i full anyways... :(


*EDIT* I turned off duplication on my Mac share :oops: and restarted my X510. I could then create a 500GB TM on my iMac. :banana:

_________________
X510 5TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group