It is currently Sun Nov 29, 2020 2:16 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:36 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:40 pm
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yakuza, did you not see the screen shots of the errors? I posted them in my other thread in the mac section.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:15 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10719
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 624
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
Sorry, I read dozens of topics or more a day and didn't correlate your two separate posts. I personally doubt it's a server issue, but you should check the Application Event Viewer logs on the Server. I'd be more suspicious of something on client, perhaps a firewall issue. I've not experienced that issue, though.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:25 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 12:25 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I ran into the same problem a few weeks ago when I first bought my mediasmart server. I ended up creating a smaller timemachine backup disk, and then resize it several times until it got to the size I wanted. It was very tedious.

Then yesterday, I ran into a different problem that I think may be related. I was trying to copy a 140gb file from my server to my local drive. It failed everytime at around 90gb. Then I found a forum article about IRPStackSize. I increased it from the default 15 (decimal) to 27 (decimal), and it worked!! Here's an article that explains how to increase the stack size:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/285089

I have a hunch that it is related to the time machine issue. If someone has this issue again, give this a try and report back.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank avonord for this post
yakuza
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:17 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have an EX495 and was having similar issues. To resolve another issue, I ended up doing a complete FACTORY RESET on my server. I had over 4.5 Terabytes of free space and no PC data placed on the server. I had 3 internal drives designated to be used to expand my capacity, and 1 external drive set to back up the server. Yet, I could not even create a backup partition as small as 10GB.

I tried various tips with no luck..... until i unplugged the external hard drive from the server AND THEN reboot the server. For whatever reason, that cleared up my issue. But not until I removed the drive and reboot.

Not sure this will help anyone... but posted my results just in case.

Cheers,

-Todd-


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group