It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:28 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Thanks for the space!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:40 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 163
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for opening up the discussion board a bit to accommodate us Mac users.

P.S. if you need a moderator for this subsection, I volunteer. I don't know anything, but I am eager to get my Macs connecting to my MSS!

_________________
MSS 485 w 2.5 Terabytes, iMac I7, and Macbook Pro 2.4 Mhz.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:35 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 38
Location: New Jersey's Scenic Pascack Valley
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 5 times in 4 posts
+1!

"Mixed household" here as well (although I run Vista on my iMac about half the time - lol!).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:06 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 163
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
friendo wrote:
+1!

"Mixed household" here as well (although I run Vista on my iMac about half the time - lol!).



Can you connect through that VISTA setup to your MSS? If so, how?

I have XP on via VMware, and I cannot.

_________________
MSS 485 w 2.5 Terabytes, iMac I7, and Macbook Pro 2.4 Mhz.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:22 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
Thanks guys, this was All4Fun's idea and I think a nice way to encourage discussion and sharing of Mac usage with the home servers. Seeing that the MSS got a Best of Show award at MacWorld this year says a lot (both about the MSS and about Apple this year :lol: ).

Hakr, thanks for the offer, I'm feeling comfortable with the moderator distribution now but would welcome you to take your own leadership role in documenting and troubleshooting the Mac issues here since not many of us are mixed households. If you would like to contribute some of what you learn to the Wiki I can make you an editor account there. :mss:

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 6:15 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 38
Location: New Jersey's Scenic Pascack Valley
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 5 times in 4 posts
hakr wrote:
friendo wrote:
+1!

"Mixed household" here as well (although I run Vista on my iMac about half the time - lol!).
Can you connect through that VISTA setup to your MSS? If so, how?

I have XP on via VMware, and I cannot.

I was running Vista within VMware, but it didn't allow me to run some of the games that I had, due to the limitations of VMware's video drivers.
No, the ONLY way to fly is to install Windows (Vista or XP) via OS-X's Boot Camp. It makes all the difference in the world.

But to answer your question, I connect both through the WHS client and via RDP, depending on what I need to do.

I'm curious as to why you can't connect to your MSS.
Did the client install successfully? What happens when you try to connect?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank friendo for this post
hakr, yakuza
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:01 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 163
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hot damn! (Can we say that here?)

I took a gamble, followed your advice, dumped VMWARE off my Mac, set up Boot Camp, installed my legit copy of VISTA and voila! I can reach my MSS through VISTA!

Not only that, but the Windoze OS runs much better and smoother through Boot Camp than it ever did through VMWARE. Takes about the same time to switch through Boot Camp as it did to start up a Windoze OS through VMWARE.

Thanks, thanks and...did I say thanks?

:mss:

_________________
MSS 485 w 2.5 Terabytes, iMac I7, and Macbook Pro 2.4 Mhz.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:26 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 820
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts
hakr wrote:
Hot damn! (Can we say that here?)

I took a gamble, followed your advice, dumped VMWARE off my Mac, set up Boot Camp, installed my legit copy of VISTA and voila! I can reach my MSS through VISTA!

Not only that, but the Windoze OS runs much better and smoother through Boot Camp than it ever did through VMWARE. Takes about the same time to switch through Boot Camp as it did to start up a Windoze OS through VMWARE.

Thanks, thanks and...did I say thanks?

:mss:


You can really thank him by clicking on the "Thank Post" button within his post. :)

_________________
Richard

My gadget blog: http://www.gadgetinsane.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 9:12 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 5:53 am
Posts: 38
Location: New Jersey's Scenic Pascack Valley
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 5 times in 4 posts
hakr wrote:
Hot damn! (Can we say that here?)

I took a gamble, followed your advice, dumped VMWARE off my Mac, set up Boot Camp, installed my legit copy of VISTA and voila! I can reach my MSS through VISTA!

Not only that, but the Windoze OS runs much better and smoother through Boot Camp than it ever did through VMWARE. Takes about the same time to switch through Boot Camp as it did to start up a Windoze OS through VMWARE.

Thanks, thanks and...did I say thanks?

:mss:

Awesome! :banana:

I'm glad I could help! (It's not often that someone actually learns from MY experience - lol!)

Enjoy!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group