It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 6:58 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:59 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
So my girlfriend just got me a new laptop this weekend. I choose the 13" Macbook Pro as I really liked how rock solid hers was compared to my viao. So I set it up installed Bootcamp with win7. As the MSS is a huge part of my home computer life I went to install the Mac MSS client software. I dont think it is installing correctly. It says something about getting a preferences screen and inputting the server info. As I am extremely new to the Mac how do I know if it installed correctly? what am I suppose to be seeing? It came preinstalled with OSX lion.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:02 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I looked at this link: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=10880&start=15

I wasnt able to figure out why the preferences screen didnt pop up, as none of the other users had this issue. I was wireless when I tried, dont know if that makes a diffrence.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:34 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
So I finally got the HP mediasmart to show up in the menu bar. Very cool stuff but because I cant click apply in perferences which I finally found, none of the menu items work. I saw a ton of threads with the exact same issue and a lot with the same title. None seemed to helpful. the one that caught my eye was the one that talked about reenabling AFE? Not sure if I got that right. It talked about protocal used to enable server and computer to talk to one another. I didnt see anyone with a WHS that tried it. Im curious if anyone tried and was successful.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:18 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
I have use bootcamp in the past and as a Mac fan I can tell you that you will have a better experience if you use VMware Fusion. I have it set up to start on log on so i have Mac and windows always on and ready ( most softwares i need for school only work on windows ](*,) ). The installation process is easier and it just works. One thing you will notice is that windows machines will take time to show in the share tab on a Mac.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:41 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Found this on the internet:

OS X LION connection error with AFP and workaround. Apple disabled support for the “DHCAST128″ in OS X 10.7 LION, which is commonly used by NAS boxes, Apple felt the protocal was less secure then DHX2.

A little explanation:
By default, OSX Lion uses the DHX2 authentication protocol instead of its predecessor DHCAST128.
Since our NMT's only support DHCAST128 for now, you'll need to enable the protocol yourself (on Lion):

1. Launch /Applications/Utilities/Terminal and do::

Code:

sudo chmod o+w /Library/Preferences

Code:

defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_host_prefs_version -int 1

2. Restart your Mac.
3. From Finder, select an AFP server, or use “Connect To…”. This will cause the AFP Client to create the full preferences file
4. Launch Terminal again and do:

Code:

sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array “Cleartxt Passwrd” “MS2.0″ “2-Way Randnum exchange”

Code:

sudo chmod o-w /Library/Preferences

5. Now restart your computer

Note: If you want to disable DHCAST128 again sometime, run this command:
Code:
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array-add “DHCAST128″

I found this info in multiple places but I found it here first: http://www.alexanderwilde.com/2011/04/o ... orkaround/

If anyone has tried this let the rest of us know. Im very interested. I dont usually let WHS back up my machines as Ive been lucky enough to change my computer up enough not to need to or enabled me to catch issues befor they got out of control. I would love to have icon in the menu to work. Looks cool and without it seems like Im missing out on something.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:46 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:50 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Arkansas
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
T-Bone wrote:
Found this on the internet:

OS X LION connection error with AFP and workaround. Apple disabled support for the “DHCAST128″ in OS X 10.7 LION, which is commonly used by NAS boxes, Apple felt the protocal was less secure then DHX2.

A little explanation:
By default, OSX Lion uses the DHX2 authentication protocol instead of its predecessor DHCAST128.
Since our NMT's only support DHCAST128 for now, you'll need to enable the protocol yourself (on Lion):

1. Launch /Applications/Utilities/Terminal and do::

Code:

sudo chmod o+w /Library/Preferences


Codeac

defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_host_prefs_version -int 1

2. Restart your Mac.
3. From Finder, select an AFP server, or use “Connect To…”. This will cause the AFP Client to create the full preferences file
4. Launch Terminal again and do:

Code:

sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array “Cleartxt Passwrd” “MS2.0″ “2-Way Randnum exchange”

Code:

sudo chmod o-w /Library/Preferences

5. Now restart your computer

Note: If you want to disable DHCAST128 again sometime, run this command:
Code:
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array-add “DHCAST128″

I found this info in multiple places but I found it here first: http://www.alexanderwilde.com/2011/04/o ... orkaround/

If anyone has tried this let the rest of us know. Im very interested. I dont usually let WHS back up my machines as Ive been lucky enough to change my computer up enough not to need to or enabled me to catch issues befor they got out of control. I would love to have icon in the menu to work. Looks cool and without it seems like Im missing out on something.


Anybody tried this yet? I'm not game on being the first as I'm looking for a tried and true method of accessing the WHS console on my Mac with Lion

_________________
Currently 15 TB and growing on my MSS EX495 with Sans Digital TR5M to handle all of my media library needs!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:57 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Unfortunately, Lion does not connect with WHS.

_________________
MSS: HP EX495 (removed FireFly, Twonky; using full iTunes)
Client1: AppleTV
Client2: Win7 Home Premium (Intel Core2 Duo, 4GB RAM, Azuntech X Meridian, Fusion 5RT Gold, 1TB)
Client3: Win7 Prof 32bit
Client4: MacBook Pro
Client5: Mac Mini


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 3:07 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:50 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Arkansas
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
So us Lion users are left with no way to connect to WHS. Even through Parallels?

_________________
Currently 15 TB and growing on my MSS EX495 with Sans Digital TR5M to handle all of my media library needs!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:42 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I just introduced myself to parallels the other day and VMware fusion also. Very nice very nice indeed. I got super excited when I got my Mac an hit newegg up for memory. Im running 16gb in my Macbook pro right now. should make parallels and vmware more pleasureable. Right this second they are trials but im about to pull the trigger on parallels for some reason it seems faster and nicer then VMware fusion. plus I found it for 29.99.

I will also give the instructions I posted a try this weekend.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:52 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
I've been running Snow Leopard Mini Macs as my media center units. These replaced Apple TV1s which had replaced Windows 7 media center units. I run the mini macs with T7600 processors, crystalHD cards, 4 gig memory, XBMC and AppleTV remotes. Works much better than Windows 7 units and all my media is on HP Mediasmart WHS V1 and WHS 2011 machines. There is no skipping and they play 1080P MKV's with no problems at all. I have not even entertained the thought of moving to Lion. I should say I got all the mini macs on Ebay and upgraded them to decent specs.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:19 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
my instructions I found on internet do not work for me.

Erail - Nice setup, Im currently using the boxee box as my media center units. Im more interested in your ex490 upgrade. I have a few questions if you have time.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:21 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Sure T-bone, There wasn't much to it. Just put in a Q9400S which replaced a Q8300 and 4 Gig memory and it was up and running. Now I did install WHS 2011 before the upgrade as well as stablebit drive pool. The system just runs, it is very quick and the cpu stays in the low 40's. I do have 1 2T WD Black drive as system, 2 2T WD EARS Drives and a Hitachi 3T Drive. I tested with a StorBox 5 drive esata unit and it worked fine, but I haven't had the need to use it yet. The stablebit pool gives me about 8.5T of space to use for movies and music. I have several servers running in the 490 which do some transcoding - Serviio, KalemSoft, Air Video, Mezzmo. All in all, it's a very strong server that uses lights out to shut off at the witching hour and comes back on at 8AM.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:26 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Thats great I really want a Quad core machine. I would love to pick up another EX49x and try this on. Little nervois on my only production machine. After selling me ex475 I totally get why having a back up is a good Idea. I want to try some stuff but I dont want to install on production till i got the kinks worked out.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 8:58 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
There was an update recently, there was mention of SMB fixes or updates.

Does this update fix the MSS and lion issue?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: New to Mac...
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 9:11 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:50 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Arkansas
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
T-Bone wrote:
There was an update recently, there was mention of SMB fixes or updates.

Does this update fix the MSS and lion issue?


Looks like its time to try again but I'll be honest, I'm not hopeful.

_________________
Currently 15 TB and growing on my MSS EX495 with Sans Digital TR5M to handle all of my media library needs!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group