It is currently Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:06 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:39 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I have a ex490 and am using it extensively for both windows and mac. I love to use it for time machine backups. Is this still possible in Lion. I thought maybe soem of you guys tried the Lion preview.

Thxxx for the response.


Last edited by molier on Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:49 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Lion has the same architecture as Snow Leopard the only difference is the UI (as fas as i can tell). I dont see any reason why i wouldn't.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:36 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:45 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 2 posts
cubanblood wrote:
Lion has the same architecture as Snow Leopard the only difference is the UI (as fas as i can tell). I dont see any reason why i wouldn't.


I could be wrong, but isn't Lion a 64 bit OS only? I have to run SL on the 32 bit kernel for MSS stuff work right...so that could be an issue.

Anyone running a dev version of Lion tried this out?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:09 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Even though Lion is a 64 bit OS it backs up with no problem. You are still using time machine to back up. TM still sees the mac folder in WHS (i dont use WHS 2001). The only problem i have encountered was that some times Time Machine freezes up but the same thing happened when using an USB external hdd. I already sent a report to Apple about it.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 4:54 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
cubanblood wrote:
Even though Lion is a 64 bit OS it backs up with no problem. You are still using time machine to back up. TM still sees the mac folder in WHS (i dont use WHS 2001). The only problem i have encountered was that some times Time Machine freezes up but the same thing happened when using an USB external hdd. I already sent a report to Apple about it.


Thxx for the response. You don't use WHS 2001. So you are using WHS 2003 ( based on Windows 2003 Server) on a HP Media Smart Server?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:03 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
molier wrote:
cubanblood wrote:
Even though Lion is a 64 bit OS it backs up with no problem. You are still using time machine to back up. TM still sees the mac folder in WHS (i dont use WHS 2001). The only problem i have encountered was that some times Time Machine freezes up but the same thing happened when using an USB external hdd. I already sent a report to Apple about it.


Thxx for the response. You don't use WHS 2001. So you are using WHS 2003 ( based on Windows 2003 Server) on a HP Media Smart Server?



EX495.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank cubanblood for this post
molier, molier
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:05 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
molier wrote:
cubanblood wrote:
Even though Lion is a 64 bit OS it backs up with no problem. You are still using time machine to back up. TM still sees the mac folder in WHS (i dont use WHS 2001). The only problem i have encountered was that some times Time Machine freezes up but the same thing happened when using an USB external hdd. I already sent a report to Apple about it.


Thxx for the response. You don't use WHS 2001. So you are using WHS 2003 ( based on Windows 2003 Server) on a HP Media Smart Server?


I found a similar thread on the Apple discussion forum stating the backup on a Media Smart Servervwold not be possible: https://discussions.apple.com/message/15385952

Is he testing an earlier version of Lion and could it be Apple fixed this with a later Lion build?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:11 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
EX495
-----

Saw your answer a little late. Great to hear it works then.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:37 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:45 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 2 posts
cubanblood wrote:
Even though Lion is a 64 bit OS it backs up with no problem. You are still using time machine to back up. TM still sees the mac folder in WHS (i dont use WHS 2001). The only problem i have encountered was that some times Time Machine freezes up but the same thing happened when using an USB external hdd. I already sent a report to Apple about it.


Thanks...

Just to confirm, you used the regular MSS software on a Lion install and got TM working basically no problem? I was running the 64 bit SL kernel and it wouldn't see the Mac folder on my WHS as a valid TM destination until i booted under the 32 bit kernel. I read the HP kext is 32 bit only and under SL, the kext wouldn't work unless you run the 32 bit kernel.

Perhaps Apple has found a way to bridge that so that not all kexts have to be 64 bit to work under Lion?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2011 6:37 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 36
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
It will be interesting to know the answer to this. But, I went ahead and got one of the new 2TB Time Capsules that just came out. For $299, it's worth it to me to have something that just works with my Macs, and I don't have to mess around with it anymore, or worry about what happens when Lion comes out. Using an Apple supported solution means I don't have to waste any time worrying about my backups working or being easily available during OS upgrades. I just don't want to deal with it anymore, and the Time Capsule works. Plus, my beloved D-link DIR-655 router was starting to have issues, so I was in need of a router anyways. (Time Capsule does not have the level of tweakability and in not uPNP, which is a bit of a pain, but it works.)

Anyways, that's my 2 cents. Giving up on Time Machine on WHS. Just not worth the hassle anymore.

_________________
4.5 TB HP EX490 upgraded with e5200 Core 2 duo = EX495. 2010 15" i5 MacBook Pro, 2011 13" i5 MacBook Pro, home built Win 7 Prof box.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:51 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Ok I have to say that Lion GM did killed the TM backup option. Since i am moving away from WHS and into a Win 7 server it does not affect me much.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:08 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:04 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
To make it more clear - the final release version of Lion has broken the HP TimeMachine implementation. I happen to be using an EX480 with HP v3.0.x software.

The HP MSS software and prefpanel load OK on Lion, but the "drive" isn't mounting.

[edit]
After further research, not only will the HP software not work correctly, we are all completely boned with Lion. Lion makes TimeMachine require an AFP v3.3 server, which WHS is not. Even the old hacks that allowed you to use an SMB share without the HP software don't work. :(


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:22 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 59
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Sadly, we're not alone.

http://www.tuaw.com/2011/07/21/a-few-na ... s-in-lion/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:33 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:38 pm
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I contacted HP about it. No answer yet.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:56 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
As mentioned above Lion now requires AFP 3.3. While I'd love to think MS would update the original version of WHS I don't think that's likely.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group