It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 7:55 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:34 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:18 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
OK, so I origionally bought a Q9550 chip and this did not work. I was running bout 88 degrees Celcius while in the bios and the computer rebooted when I tried to boot into WHS, which means it was reaching the 100 degrees Celcius threshold. However everything seemed to work ... except for the rebooting. I just received my Q9550S (Sspec: SLGAE) in the mail today, and put it in and it fired up ... only its going straight into recovery. I bought a keyboard/mouse/monitor cable from VoV, and it appears as if it is not seeing the drives. Also, the keyboard does not work although I do have output to the monitor. I could probably unwind this if I could just into the bios. I tried pulling the battery and waiting about 10 minutes, I also tried disconnecting the VoV cable and plugging it back in from each connection point (board, box, keyboard, mouse) and still nothing. Does anyone have any idea what might be going on? Thanks!!

_________________
__________________________________________________
HP EX485
Mushkin 991762/4G DDR2 800
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550S 2.83GHz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:37 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
Did you put the jumper on the motherboard J2 ?

Oops, I think this might only apply to the EX49x/x510 I only read about people installing the Q9550s in those models.

When I installed the BE-2300 into my EX470 I had to modify the BIOS code. Is this necessary with the EX48x ?

Also I made my own VGA cable for my EX47x and found that I had to make a change for it to work on my EX49x, not sure again if this applies to yours.

Just some suggestions on things to check.


Attachments:
image_thumb[15].png
image_thumb[15].png [ 435.57 KiB | Viewed 5744 times ]

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Last edited by Diehard on Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:52 am, edited 3 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:38 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:18 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Diehard wrote:
Did you put the jumper on the motherboard ?


Yes ... I was able to get into the bios with the Q9550, but I cannot with the Q9550S

_________________
__________________________________________________
HP EX485
Mushkin 991762/4G DDR2 800
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550S 2.83GHz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:49 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1222
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 154 times in 152 posts
I was contemplating upgrading to the q9550s. In fact I asked about it on a ex490 at this site.
What is this issue with the jumper, no one mentioned it on my post. Or does it not apply to the ex490?

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 2:05 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
Ruben Rocha wrote:
I was contemplating upgrading to the q9550s. In fact I asked about it on a ex490 at this site.
What is this issue with the jumper, no one mentioned it on my post. Or does it not apply to the ex490?


The jumper is used on the EX49x boxes, as mentioned in my previous post, I'm not sure it is necessary with the EX48x boxes. I was assuming the Q9550s was for a EX49x box, but here it is for the EX48x.

The jumper is used if you need or want to make changes to the BIOS it enables the keyboard to be used. From what I understand for the EX49x boxes, you can just replace the CPU and do not need to go into the BIOS, that's probably why it wasn't mentioned, but in this post, he wants to go into the BIOS, again since I thought this was a EX490, you need the jumper. But you will also need to build a VGA cable. at that time you could also wire up the PS2 keyboard and PS2 mouse. Some people had issues with the PS2 connections, I found them different on the E47x and EX49x, not sure about the EX48x.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 4:41 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:18 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Ruben Rocha wrote:
What is this issue with the jumper, no one mentioned it on my post. Or does it not apply to the ex490?


Yes, you do need the jumper on ex485. The keyboard and mouse was working before I did all this and that was required for it to work. Also, I ended up having to pull the battery on the motherboard for 10 minutes after I first rebooted ... not sure why I had to do this, but this fixed my problem. Although the Q9550 heated up a lot, it seemed to work for me.

I have had to disassemble my server serveral times ... maybe 20, so its possible that I damaged something along the way. I just don't want to put the Q9550 back in, to see if my issue goes away with the keyboard not working anymore. I have wasted enough thermal grease on this. But, if I cannot get help in the forums here I may have to bite the bullet and try it. I just don't see why just changing the processor would have broken that.

_________________
__________________________________________________
HP EX485
Mushkin 991762/4G DDR2 800
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550S 2.83GHz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:18 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
OK ... I figured out the problem. It was with the keyboard adapter. I unplugged the adapter I received from VoV and now its working. I sent an email from the VoV guy and hoping for a response back. I closely inspected the pins on the adapter and motherboard and it seems to be fine ... my guess is that when I re-ran the cable I may have tugged it too tightly and pulled one of the wires loose on the cable. I dunno, we'll see if I can't get that sorted out ... but at least I have booted up.

OMG, I'm so very happy! The Q9550S is running like a CHAMP! It is running a bit warmer than I would like but only around 60 degrees Celcius. This is MUCH better than having the system reboot on me with the Q9550 (meaning it was hitting 100 degrees Celcius). The screen loading is much more snappy. I would definately recommend this ... but the take-away here is to be careful with your keyboard/mouse/monitor cables when putting things back together. If anyone has any questions about upgrading the ex485 I wouldn't mind fielding them. Next stop for me ... upgrade to 3.0 :mrgreen:

_________________
__________________________________________________
HP EX485
Mushkin 991762/4G DDR2 800
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550S 2.83GHz


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:37 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:01 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Dizom,

Very interesting upgrade, Is it possible you could do some benchmarks on your platform. (Perhaps Sandra) What I am most interested in is CPU and memory benchmarks as well as temperature checks. Since the EX485 is not capable of dual channel memory access I am curious about the results with the quad core. Also, have your loaded the cores and checked the temp. at full tilt?

Also, probably one of the best heat sync compounds is Artic Silver 5, you can drop 2 degrees C over others. Another trick that works is moving the cable that partially blocks the front fan. I have a friend of mine that is cutting down (lathe) a heatsync with fan for retrofit into my E5200 powered 485. My 485 CPU runs fairly cool but at full tilt (video work) for extended periods of time with 4 drives (WD Black) it still gets warmer than I like. Even though you are using the S version of the Q9550 I suspect you might have the same problem when you really load it up.

Thanks,
Dan :encore:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:33 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:46 am
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
dizom,

I know this is an old post, but I would be most interested in your experience upgrading the EX485 to a quad core CPU. What changes in the BIOS did you have to make? What kind of performance increase are you seeing? Do you think the quad core is worth the extra cost over a dual core? etc....

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:43 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:01 pm
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I thought I would update this thread with some results. The Quad core Q9550S processor is really the fastest processor that you can install in the EX49X series. Along with a 4GB sim you can achieve Passmark benchmarks of 874 for the platform and 4303 for the CPU. This is an improvement of about 2.5 times of the base EX495 E5200 dual processor and almost 4 times faster then the stock Celeron. You will notice a temperature increase of about 4 degrees centigrade at full tilt but if your unit is located where it has good ventilation this is not a problem.

Do not attempt to use a standard Q9550 instead of the Q9550s, you WILL HAVE temperature problems if you do. The Q8200s though not as fast will produce benchmarks of 741 for the platform and 2962 for the CPU and runs a little cooler. The Q8200s also reflect an excellent improvement over the standard cores. Both of the above mention processor are readily available from various sources. You can find the Q8200s for approx 25.00 and the Q9550s at approx. 75.00 (eBay). This is a cheap and effective way to really boost the performance of these platform. I had been running WHS2011 but have recently loaded Windows Essentials 2012. Both of the Operating systems run well on either of the previously mentioned CPU upgrades. These are also plug and play for the EX490 and EX495 platform. They can be used in the EX480/5 platforms with some BIOS changes. I did experiment with some of the higher rated dual core low TDP processors but could not get even close to the high benchmarks provided with the quad cores.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group